United Nations Research
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Access Information
Access to Burns Law Library Database Subscriptions:
Researchers with privileges to access the Law Library can access these resources from the research terminals located in the reference room. Current law students, faculty, and staff can access these resources from any computer connected to the Law School networks.
Off-campus access to Burns Law Library Database Subscriptions:
Law faculty and law students with up-to-date borrowing privileges at the Jacob Burns Law Library may access certain subscription databases from off-campus via the library proxy server. Detailed instructions are available on the Library's website.
Access to Gelman Library Database Subscriptions:
Access to Gelman databases is governed by Gelman Library policies. Instructions for Off-campus access to the databases are available on the Gelman website.
Access to LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law:
Access to LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law is restricted to current law students and law faculty. To obtain Bloomberg Law credentials, send an email request to electronicservices@law.gwu.libanswers.com and include your name, year, and GWID number.
Burns Law Library Databases
- Cambridge Core - Law
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected Cambridge University Press books and journals, including over 500 titles dealing with human rights subject matter. (Click here for help using Cambridge Core.) - HeinOnline's Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, "an encyclopaedic publication on private and international law." (Use: Hein's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the decisions of multiple historical international tribunals. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.) - HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains major United Nations legal publications including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and other important UN documents. This collection also includes the International Court of Justice Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, and selected WTO documents. (Use: HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - International Law Reports (vLexJustis)
This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of decisions of international courts, including the International Law Reports, and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts (in English translation) on important international law issues. Coverage is 1920 to date. - Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)
- This link opens in a new window
Decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, as well as domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Contains Oxford Reports on: International Law in Domestic Courts, International Criminal Law, International Human Rights Law, International Courts of General Jurisdiction, and International Investment Claims. (Click here for help using ORIL.) - Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO): Law
- This link opens in a new window
Law collection titles are primarily from the following series: Oxford studies in European law, Oxford monographs in international law, Oxford monographs in criminal law and justice, Clarendon studies in criminology, Oxford monographs in labour law, Oxford studies in modern legal history, Oxford studies in international economic law, and international courts and tribunals. GWU has access to most OSO books, with abstracts available for all others.
Treaty Databases & Web Sites
- Audiovisual Library of International Law
This link opens in a new window
The most useful section of the Audiovisual Library is the historical archives which provides access to the working documents of various international agreements concluded under the auspices of the U.N. - The Core International Human Rights Instruments
- This link opens in a new window
There are 9 core international human rights instruments. Each of these instruments has established a committee of experts to monitor implementation of the treaty provisions by its States parties. - HeinOnline U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text PDF access to official U.S. treaty sources such as Treaties in Force, U.S.T., and T.I.A.S. (Use: HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax
User’s Guide.) - HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains major United Nations legal publications including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and other important UN documents. This collection also includes the International Court of Justice Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, and selected WTO documents. (Use: HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - United Nations Treaty CollectionProvides online access to Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General as well as a database of the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.).
Select Gelman Library Databases
Note: Gelman Library subscribes to numerous databases that can be used to locate articles on a particular subject. For information concerning such databases, please see the Gelman Library's Research Guides by Subject or Gelman Library's How Do I? tutorials.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources. (Use: CIAO Search Tips.)
- CQ ResearcherFor international law research, CQ Researcher provides background and context on current international developments, offering in-depth coverage of newsworthy global events from a multitude of viewpoints. (Using CQR.)
- FactivaFactiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, combines over 32,000 sources to give access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages. (Use: Dow Jones Learning.)
- JSTORBack issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. (Use: JSTOR Support.)
- MidEast WireMideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newsbank: Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Find full-text articles from over 700 international sources. (Use: Newsbank FAQ.) - PAIS IndexCovers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations. (Use: Proquest Help Search Tips.)
- World News ConnectionOffers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.