Animal Law
A basic guide to researching animal law issues.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Energy & Environmental Law Librarian
Germaine Leahy
Contact:
SL101I (Library, Stockton Cellar)
gleahy@law.gwu.edu
202.994.8551
Work Schedule*:
Tuesday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:30pm
Sat.: 10am - 5pm
Website
gleahy@law.gwu.edu
202.994.8551
Work Schedule*:
Tuesday - Friday: 7:30am - 4:30pm
Sat.: 10am - 5pm
Subjects: Environmental Law
About Animal Law
animal law n. (1902) The field of law dealing with vertebrates other than humans. The field cuts across many traditional doctrinal areas (e.g., contracts, torts, administrative law) as well as jurisprudence. Topics include wildlife-management law, laws concerning treatment of laboratory animals, and laws relating to companion animals.
Source: Black's Law Dictionary, 12th ed. by 
Study Aids
Additional study aids in the Law Library's collection can be found through the Library's Study Aids guide.
Online:
Note: When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
- Aspen Learning Library includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides.
- LexisNexis Digital Library includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Print:
- Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours.
- Older print editions may be found in the Law Library stacks.
Animal Law-New Perspectives on Teaching Traditional Law: A Context and Practice Casebook by 
This link opens in a new window
Provides a fresh perspective on teaching such courses as Property, Contracts, Torts, Constitutional Law, Criminal Law, Remedies, Environmental Law and Wills & Trusts as they relate to animal law.
Animal Law in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Topics include animal anti-cruelty laws, industrial and agricultural uses of animals, torts and other claims for harm done to animals, as well as federal, state and local regulation of animal ownership and use, animal rights activism, hunting, fishing and other recreational uses of animals, and animals in entertainment.
An Introduction to Animals and the Law by - This link opens in a new window
Presents a basic survey of the laws designed to protect animals, analyzing and critiquing them, and proposing a future where the legal regime properly recognizes and protects the inherent worth of all animals.
Understanding Animal Law by 
This link opens in a new window
Covers obvious topics such as dangerous dog litigation, veterinary malpractice, wildlife law, service animals, valuation of animals, humans harmed by animals, end-of-life/euthanasia, and custody issues, as well as provides analysis of other areas of law where they intersect with animal law issues.
GW Law School Resources
- Animal Law
This link opens in a new window
Provides information about the Animal Law Program at GW Law School, including faculty, news, courses, projects, and scholarship. - The Animal Legal Education Initiative (ALEI)
- This link opens in a new window
Works to develop animal legal education; hosts and sponsors events and conferences; supports scholarship; creates courses and programming for students; provides opportunities for local, regional, national, and international faculty and students to collaborate on the development and integration of a comprehensive body of Animal Law; and increases the capacity for, and rigor of, Animal Law teaching. - GW Animal Law Program Videos
- This link opens in a new window
Recordings of GW's Animal Law Programs available on YouTube.
Related Guides
- Animal Studies: Law, Welfare and Rights
- This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline)
This collection aims to establish the foundational laws pertaining to animals and follow the evolution of these rights. Includes publications from the Animal Legal Defense Fund and Animal Welfare Institute.