Administrative LawAnimal LawAntitrust Law and Trade RegulationBanking & FinanceBankruptcyBusiness & ManagementComputer & Internet LawCorporate LawEnergyEnvironmental LawFamily LawForeign & International LawGovernment ContractsHealth LawIntellectual PropertyLabor & EmploymentLegal HistoryLegislative HistoryLitigationNational SecurityPrivacy LawSecuritiesState & Local LawTax & Accounting
Proxy Server Instructions
Bloomberg BNA Law Reports
This is the "Home" page of the "Guide to Using Online Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Guide to Using Online Resources   Tags: databases, electronic resources, proxy, remote access  

Last Updated: Oct 6, 2014 URL: http://law.gwu.libguides.com/electronicresources Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection Highlights

The Library recently acquired the following resources:

UK Primary Case Law [Justis.com]

  • Full text of authoritative case reports for the United Kingdom, including: The Weekly Law Reports (1953-); The Law Reports (1865-); The Times Law Reports (1990-); Daily Cases (1999-); and State Trials (1163 to 1858).
 

Using This LibGuide

The "JBLL Database List" tab provides a descriptive list of the Law Library's subscription resources, useful for quick reference.  The tab's pull-down list of topics group subscription resources by subject area, and may include useful resources available from GW Gelman or Himmelfarb libraries.

The "E-Journals" and E-Books" tabs provide information on locating and using these types of electronic resources.

The "News & Current Awareness" tab provides information on newspaper and current awareness resources available from GW libraries.

The "Off-Campus Access" tab provides information for accessing resources from off-campus locations.

 

Notice

Off-campus users with proxy privileges should refer to our instructions on configuring your web browser settings to be able to use Law Library resources while away from the Law School.  Also note that the proxy is not necessary for on-campus access and should be disabled when you use Law Library resources when connected to the Law School's wireless network.  Tip:  use different web browsers for on-campus and off-campus access to Law Library resources, in which case you could leave the proxy enabled in a lesser-preferred web browser that you reserve for off-campus use of Law Library resources.

 

Electronic Resources at Jacob Burns Law Library

The Jacob Burns Law Library subscribes to many law-related electronic resources, in addition to LexisNexis and Westlaw. These resources -- including subscription databases, e-journals, e-books, and content freely available on the Internet -- complement and extend the Law Library's print collection.

Subscription-based electronic resources are accessible using computers connected to the Law School network.  This includes research terminals located in the Library's Reference area, computers connected to the student WiFi network, computers in lab locations (Burns 203, Stuart 203, and Lower Level 1 of the Library), and computers in Law School faculty and staff offices.

Whenever possible, the Law Library makes these resources available for use by law faculty and students from off-campus locations.  Law faculty and students also may have off-campus access to resources available from other GW libraries.  Resource descriptions in this guide indicate whether a resource is available off-campus.  The "Off-Campus Access" tab above provides more information.

JACOB, the Law Library's catalog, links to titles available through the Library's database and e-journal subscriptions. Jacob Burns Law Library librarians also select relevant titles from GW's Gelman & Himmelfarb Libraries' electronic resources collections and freely available law-related electronic resources for inclusion in JACOB. 

Reference librarians regularly evaluate electronic resources and free web sites and address their usefulness in research sessions, guides, LibGuides, and other documentation as made available on the Library's Research web page.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip