State Materials
Find primary legal materials for the states
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Overview of State Legal Materials
The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF245 .B58Consult Table T1.3 ("States and the District of Columbia"). Copies of the 21st edition are available at the Circulation/Reserve Desk for in-library use.
State Legislative Sourcebook: A Resource Guide to Legislative Information in the Fifty States- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: JK2495 .S689 2022 (Reference Desk, 1st Floor)Guide to State Legislation, Legislative History, and Administrative Materials by
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF1 .G8 2008 (Reference Desk, 1st floor)
- Law Library of Congress: U.S. States & Territories
This link opens in a new window
Links for Constitution, Executive, Judicial, Legislative, Legal Guides, and General Sources for each state and territory. - Online Legal Information Resources (OLIR)
- This link opens in a new window
The OLIR includes links to session laws, statutory codes, registers, administrative codes, and court opinions. To help users easily locate free online primary legal materials, the OLIR contains information about whether the legal materials are official, authentic, preserved, and copyrighted. Includes information for U.S. states and the District of Columbia. - State Bibliographies
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographies of state-specific documents and resources for legal research. Produced by the Government Documents Special Interest Section of the American Association of Law Libraries, in partnership with William S. Hein & Co. Also included in HeinOnline is Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide, which provides brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood. - State Practice Materials: Annotated Bibliographies
- This link opens in a new window
"Intended to provide legal information professionals and legal practitioners timely and relevant state-specific information about the legal sources available to conduct effective legal research in any given state. Legal resources are presented in state-specific annotated bibliographies which have been expertly curated by professional law librarians"
Black's Law Dictionary
-
Black's Law Dictionary, 11th ed. by
Call Number: KF156 .B53 2019This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 55,000 law-related words and phrases and includes definitions of more than 1,000 abbreviations and acronyms.
