FCLJ Scholarly Writing Resources

Provides access to over 528 million current and archived articles from thousands of global and U.S. news sources. Each source includes coverage of local and regional news, including companies,

Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications.

News articles report on major litigation developments in 20 specialized practice areas as well as developments from state, federal, and international legislatures. Articles link to court dockets and key documents; company and firm links direct the user to pages containing major developments involving the organization. "Track Law Firms and Companies" allows the user to search or browse by law firm or company.

Contains articles from this leading British business newspaper going back eight years. NOTE: FT.com will require you to set up an account with your gwu.edu email address. Must use GWU VPN for off-campus access.

Not all articles are available in full text. Copy the citation and locate the article in HeinOnline, Westlaw or Lexis.

Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields. To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add GW libraries.

Use the Keyword Search Builder and Venn Diagram Search

Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.

(No longer updated). A free, open-access online platform for publishing and preserving pre- and post-print legal scholarship; owned and maintained by Legal Information Preservation Alliance (LIPA), Mid-American Law Library Consortium (MALLCO), NELLCO Law Library Consortium, Inc. (NELLCO) and Cornell Law Library.

Composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, making available scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.

Provides cases, statutes, regulations, forms, news and secondary sources.

This Wolters Kluwer VitalLaw (f/n/a Cheetah) practice center provides primary and secondary materials, comparison charts, practice tools and news.

Provides cases, statutes & regulations, secondary sources, forms and checklists.

Provides practice notes, standard documents, standard clauses, checklists, & more.

Search for cases, pleadings, news, policy and legal analysis on the following: Data Security & Breach Notification, Government Action, Global Data Protection, and more.

Has four separate practice areas: Communications Law, Data Privacy & Security Law, Tech & Internet Law, and Media Law

Search by topic or by agency

Some reports are also available in HeinOnline: Databases > U.S. Congressional Documents > Congressional Research Service Reports

Prepared by the Gelman Library's Data Librarian, this guide offers search strategies and links to multiple data and statistic resources.

Provides market research reports and industry analysis, including on Telecommunications & Wireless, e.g., "Smart Machines in Enterprise and Industrial IoT Market Outlook and Forecasts 2021 – 2028"

ProQuest Statistical Insight provides access to statistics on a wide variety of topics produced by Federal agencies, states, and intergovernmental and international organizations.

Statistics and Studies from more than 18,000 Sources. Aggregates statistics and data sets from a variety of international free and proprietary sources, including industry and marketing. Data sets can be displayed in multiple graphical formats. Bluebook citations are generated.

Technology & Telecommunications topics:
-Consumer Electronics
-Hardware
-Household Appliances
-IT Services
-Software
-Telecommunications

Create a 50-state survey on topics in the following areas: banking & consumer finance, healthcare, blue sky/securities, labor & employment, corporate & tax, patents, data security & privacy.

State Health Law Topical Surveys.

"Provides an overall view of some of the most sought-after and controversial legal topics in the United States. Users are able to make basic state-by-state comparisons of current state laws."

Identifies "thousands of articles, books, government documents, looseleaf services, court opinions and Internet sites that compare state laws on hundreds of subjects."

"Comparison of states' treatment of topical issues, linked to governing provisions on Lexis and prefaced by an examination of federal context and state themes."

Select practice area, topic, jurisdiction and question.

"Provides access to state and federal regulations, covering topics such as records retention, rules for sweepstakes, and privacy and protection of personal finance information, and numerous others."

"Provides access to state and federal statutes, covering topics of law such as garnishment, attachment and judgment execution requirements, durable powers of attorney, cancellation and nonrenewal of insurance policies and premiums, and numerous others."

Identify laws across jurisdictions on a specific legal topic with a custom search optimized by Westlaw's legal index taxonomy.

Jurisdictional comparison tool. "Build and customize your own charts from scratch. Quickly discover, review and compare information across multiple jurisdictions."

Smart charts are located in the Practice Tools section of a particular practice area.