GW Law Library: Library Guides: U.S. Energy Law: An Introduction: Secondary Sources

Titles Recently Acquired

Books

The Library's energy law collection includes print and online titles. Search JACOB to locate titles on energy law topics. For example:

Routledge Handbook of Energy Law by Tina Hunter (Editor); Ignacio Herrera (Editor); Penelope Crossley (Editor); Gloria Alvarez (Editor)
Provides a global survey of the discipline of energy law, capturing the essential and relevant issues in energy today. Each chapter is written by a leading expert, and provides a contemporary overview of a significant area within the field.
Research Handbook on Oil and Gas Law by Tina Soliman Hunter (Editor); Madeline Taylor (Editor)
Examines oil and gas regulation from historical, contemporary and forward-looking perspectives, particularly consider the future challenges and opportunities for oil and gas, and how petroleum-dependent states can both regulate and facilitate the age of energy transition.

Treatises

Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis and commentary on an area of energy law.

American Law of Mining, 2nd edition
Energy Law and Transactions
Federal Taxation of Oil and Gas Transactions
Kuntz, Law of Oil and Gas
Law of Federal Oil and Gas Leases
Law of Independent Power
The Law of Oil and Gas Leases, 2d ed.
The Law of Pooling and Unitization, 3d ed.
Matthew Bender Renewable Energy Law and Policy
Regulation of the Gas Industry
Williams & Meyers, Oil and Gas Law
Wind and Solar Law

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

CRS research attorneys write concise, objective reports on current legislative issues. Some reports are periodically updated.

To locate a CRS report or the most recent version of a CRS report, search:

Bloomberg Law
Congress.gov: CRS Reports
HeinOnline
ProQuest Congressional

Selected reports relating to energy law:

Advanced Lithium-Ion Energy Storage Battery Manufacturing in the United States (2025)
Nuclear Energy: Overview of Congressional Issues (2025)
Seabed Mining in Areas Beyond National Jurisdiction: Issues for Congress (2025)

U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports

GAO investigates how the federal government spends taxpayer dollars and reports on how well government programs and policies are meeting their objectives.

GAO Reports

Selected Reports:

Nuclear Waste Cleanup: DOE Needs to Improve Contractor Oversight at the Waste Isolation Pilot Plant (2025)
Climate Change: State and Local Efforts to Reduce Greenhouse Gas Emissions from Vehicles (2019)

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)