U.S. Defense Procurement
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Mary Kate Hunter
Study Aids
The following study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
Principles of Government Contracts by 
This link opens in a new window
This title is a continuation of the Government Contracts in a Nutshell titles. It provides a basic, general overview of the law of government contracts.
Government Contract Law: The Deskbook for Procurement Professionals by 
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Easy to follow outline of the issues involved in contract formation and contract administration.
(Note: the print version includes additional chapters that are not included in the online version.)
The Government Contracts Reference Book by - This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An A-Z quick-reference guide that provides definitions for more than 1500 terms, phrases, and acronyms used in government procurement. Also includes citations to relevant articles following each definition.
Legal Research Databases
- Westlaw
This link opens in a new window
Major legal database that contains both primary and secondary sources related to government contracts. Includes unique newsletters including The Nash & Cibinic Report, The Government Contractor, and Briefing Papers. Contains applicable regulations, statutes, administrative and court decisions. - VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A Wolters Kluwer database that includes a Government Contracts content area. Primary sources include statutes, regulations, administrative and court decisions. Secondary sources include the Nash & Cibinic e-Series books. Also contains a FAR Matrix Smart Chart tool that operates by either provision/clause or contract type. - Lexis
This link opens in a new window
Major legal database that contains both primary and secondary sources related to government contracts. Contains applicable regulations, statutes, administrative and court decisions.
Deciphering Acronyms and Abbreviations
Commonly Used:
- AFARS
(Army FAR Supplement)
- AFFARS
(Air Force FAR Supplement)
- ASBCA
(Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals)
- ASPR
(Armed Services Procurement Regulation - superseded by DAR in 1978 and DFARS in 1984)
- DAR
(Defense Acquisition Regulation)
- DFARS
(Department of Defense FAR Supplement)
- NMCARS
(Navy & Marine Corps Acquisition Regulation Supplement)
Reference Resource:
- Acronyms and Abbreviations in Government Contracting
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Prince's Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations: A Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students
- This link opens in a new window
- Glossary of Defense Acquisition Acronyms and Terms
- This link opens in a new window
Interpreting Citations
Bluebook Rules:
- R14.2: Rules, Regulations, and Other Publications
- T1.2: Federal Administrative and Executive Materials
Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals:
An example of an Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals decision is:
Grumman Aerospace Corp., ASBCA No. 48282, 98-2 BCA ¶ 29,943.
- Grumman Aerospace Corp. = Case name
- ASBCA = Bluebook abbreviation for Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals
- No. = Bluebook abbreviation for number
- 48282 = Decision number
- 98-2 = Reporter number (first two numbers indicate year of decision)
- BCA = Bluebook abbreviation for Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
- 29,943 = Paragraph number of decision
Decisions of the Comptroller General:
Decisions may be published in either the Comptroller General's Procurement Decisions (CPD) or the Decisions of the Comptroller General of the United States (Comp. Gen.). An example of a Comptroller General's Procurement Decisions citation is:
Gemini Industries, Inc., B-281323, 99-1 CPD ¶ 22 (Comp. Gen. Jan. 25, 1999).
- Gemini Industries, Inc. = Protesting party
- B-281424 = Comptroller General file "B" number
- 99-1 = Reporter number (first two numbers indicate year of decision)
- CPD = Comptroller General's Procurement Decisions
- 22 = Paragraph number of decision
- Comp. Gen. = Bluebook abbreviation for Comptroller General
- Jan. 25, 1999 = Date of decision
An example of a Decisions of the Comptroller General of the United States citation is:
Kiewit Western Co., 65 Comp. Gen. 54 (1985).
- Kiewit Wester Co. = Protesting party
- 65 = Reporter volume number
- Comp. Gen. = Bluebook abbreviation for Decisions of the Comptroller General of the United States
- 54 = Page number where decision starts
- 1985 = Year of decision
Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement (DFARS)
An example of a Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement citation is:
DFARS 216.405-2(3).
- DFARS = Defense Federal Acquisition Regulation Supplement
- 216 = Part
- 216.4 = Subpart
- 216.405 = Section
- 216.405-2 = Subsection
- 216.405-2(3) = Paragraph
Federal Claims Reporter:
An example of a cite to a decision in the Federal Claims Reporter is:
Beres v. United States, 92 Fed. Cl. 737 (2010).
- Beres & United States = Parties to the case
- 92 = Reporter volume number
- Fed. Cl. = Bluebook abbreviation for Federal Claims Reporter
- 737 = Page number where decision starts
- 2010 = Year of decision
