International Business Transactions

Official publication. This is the only WTO-authorized paginated version. Includes WTO panel and Appellate Body reports. Also includes arbitration awards in disputes arising under the Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization.

Unofficial publication. Includes WTO panel and Appellate Body reports. Case annotations identify important legal determinations made in the rulings, and include a paragraph reference, principle, and a WTO treaty reference. Also includes editorials discussing possible market implications of selected disputes.

Official publication. Includes GATT agreements, procedures, decisions, resolutions, panel reports, and other documents.

Official publication. Includes WTO protocols, decisions, and reports. Does not include WTO panel reports, Appellate Body reports, and arbitration awards.

Official publication. Provides U.S. legislative history of Uruguay Round Agreements Act (Pub. L. No. 103-465, 108 Stat. 4809) that implemented the WTO Agreements. Includes the text of the WTO agreements and ministerial decisions and declarations, the text of U.S. legislation to implement the WTO agreements, the text of supporting statements, and other related documents.

This publication contains the text of the WTO's founding agreement, the 1994 Marrakesh Agreement Establishing the World Trade Organization, and its Annexes, including all amendments and additions since its entry into force until September 2017.

Be guided to the legal interpretation and application of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, as well as a repertoire of GATT practice and history, decisions, panel reports, and discussions. This analytical examination of the entire General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, developed by the WTO's own legal affairs staff of attorneys, remains the preeminent research tool for GATT/WTO analysis.

The WTO Analytical Index is a comprehensive guide to the interpretation and application of the WTO Agreements by the Appellate Body, dispute settlement panels and other WTO bodies. It contains extracts of key pronouncements and findings from tens of thousands of pages of WTO jurisprudence, including panel reports, Appellate Body reports, Article 21.3(c) awards and Article 22.6 decisions. This unique work will be of assistance to anyone working in the field of WTO law, including lawyers, economists, academics and students. It is produced by the Legal Affairs Division of the WTO Secretariat with contributions from other divisions of the Secretariat and the Appellate Body Secretariat. The third edition of the WTO Analytical Index covers developments in WTO law and practice over the period January 1995 to September 2011.

The fourth edition of the Repertory of Reports and Awards (the 'Repertory') serves first and foremost as a source of information for those interested in the field of international trade law. Initially developed as an internal research tool to assist the Appellate Body Secretariat in carrying out its duty to provide legal support to Appellate Body Members, the Repertory has become a practical tool for officials from WTO Member States, and in particular for Members (including developing-country Members) that may not have the resources to prepare a similar compendium in-house. The Repertory is also of assistance to academics, students, private practitioners and other followers of international trade law and dispute settlement.

Lists legal instruments governing the WTO with participants, signatures, ratifications, notifications, communications, declarations, and reservations.

This commentary provides a clear explanation and analysis of the legal provisions of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT). Even since the formation of the WTO, the GATT remains a central document in international trade law, and many of its provisions are referred to in the various WTO agreements. Mavroidis examines relevant case law, both to elaborate and to reduce (and sometimes remove) the ambiguities inherent in the primary law. The commentary is divided in four parts which discuss the core disciplines, the rules, the exceptions, and the remaining provisions of the GATT. The analysis explains the amount of sovereignty that nations lose by joining the World Trade Organization and the gains that ensure from the resulting cooperation. The policy aspects of the interface between national regulatory interventions and international disciplines are explored. The text of the 1947 and 1994 GATT agreements are included as appendices.

This Nutshell examines the legal rules governing international trade and economic relations. After initial chapters on the legal and practical environment for trade enterprises, it analyzes the principal institutions and rules governing international trade. Special attention is paid to the World Trade Organization (WTO), the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT), the WTO Dispute Settlement Body, regulation of imports (including tariff rates, customs classification and valuation, and rules of origin), and trade remedy responses to import competition. Export controls, foreign corrupt practices, preferential trade agreements, and the trade law of the European Union and the North American Free Trade Agreement are also examined. U.S. law coverage is emphasized.

This multi-volume loose-leaf provides the full-text of of WTO agreements and decisions, the full-text of selected Panel and Appellate Body reports, and the full-text of reports and commentaries on WTO law, policies, and practices. Commentaries address such topics as financial services, dispute settlement, trade in services, intellectual property, government procurement, accession to the WTO, and dumping. Reports include U.S. congressional testimony, Congressional Research Service reports, and U.S. trade representative reports.

A seven volume series covering the law of the World Trade Organization. The first volume provides an overview of the WTO. The remaining volumes focus on specific aspects of WTO law, including dispute settlement, sanitary and phytosanitary measures, trade remedies, trade in goods, intellectual property rates, and trade in services.

The Fourth Edition of Principles of International Business Transactions provides a more comprehensive examination of the law relevant to the subject matter and detailed citations to caselaw and other supporting authorities. It can be used by courts and legal practitioners as a resource for research and analysis, as well as by students and professors as a supplement for any international business law course. It tracks the authors' popular problem-oriented coursebook, International Business Transactions, and their three spin-offs Contracting Across Borders, Trade and Economic Relations and Foreign Investment Law. Coverage moves sequentially from structuring international sales transactions to international sales law and letters of credit to regulation of international trade to transfers of technology to foreign investment to international business dispute settlement.

Principles of International Trade Law commences with coverage of the World Trade Organization and its many agreements, followed by Customs and Import/Export Law, and ends with coverage of Technology Transfers across Borders. Principles is intended to provide considerably more depth, analysis, citations and related documents than found in a Nutshell. Principles of International Trade Law can be used in connection with any international trade or international business transactions coursebook, or on its own. Key trade law documents are included.

This third edition of one of the leading textbooks on world trade law offers what is, in a number of ways, a unique perspective on this important subject. Combining the best aspects of both casebook and treatise, this comprehensive textbook provides detailed explanations and analysis of the law to help understand the issues as well as case extracts to offer a flavour of the judicial reasoning of trade adjudicators. Moreover, the book is truly global in outlook, being equally useful for students of international trade law in the UK, Europe, the US, Asia and elsewhere around the world. This updated edition includes in-depth discussions of the most recent developments in international trade jurisprudence, setting out important precedents that help establish the boundaries between global trade rules and domestic national autonomy. In this era, when political developments place even more importance on international trade, it will be essential reading for all students, scholars and practitioners in the field.

The WTO is one of the most important intergovernmental organizations in the world, yet the way in which it functions as an organization and the scope of its authority and power are still poorly understood. This comprehensively revised new edition of the acclaimed work by an outstanding team of WTO law specialists provides a complete overview of the law and practice of the WTO.The authors begin with the institutional law of the WTO (such as the sources of law and remedies of the dispute settlement system), then tackle the principal substantive obligations of the WTO regime (including tariffs, quotas, and MFN). They then move on to consider unfair trade, regional trading arrangements, and developing countries. In its final section the book deals with the consequences of globalization: firstly, where free trade is seen to be incompatible with environmental protection and, secondly, where WTO law confronts legal regimes governing issues of competition and intellectual property.

After the conclusion of the Uruguay Round a complete overview of this important phase in GATT history is now available. This extensive work covering the six years leading to the conclusion of the Uruguay Round comes in three separate volumes in which the talks and the positions taken are described in detail. The GATT Uruguay Round: A Negotiating History (1986-1992) is certainly the most complete work on the developments preceding the final conclusion of the Uruguay Round. As such it is an ideal reference work for historians and specialists in international or commercial law. Specific topics that played an important role during the Uruguay Round, such as agriculture, services, subsidies and antidumping, are treated in separate chapters, making it an ideal reference work for everyone interested in certain GATT issues. The following parts are separately available: Offprints volume 1: 90-6544-748-2: Introduction and Overview 90-6544-749-0: Agriculture 90-6544-750-4: Textiles 90-6544-754-7: Subsidies and Countervailing Measures Offprints volume 2: 90-6544-753-9: Antidumping 90-6544-752-0: Dispute Settlement 90-6544-760-1: Services 90-6544-759-8: Trade-Related Investment Measures 90-6544-762-8: Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property 90-6544-764-4: Functioning of the GATT System

Contains complete history of Senate and House documents related to the Uruguay Round of the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) accords. Includes Document Indexes volume.