International Business Transactions
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Traci Emerson Spackey
Introduction
This guide provides a concise overview of the sources available for understanding and researching international business transactions which is a catch-all term that encompasses the various legal regimes and lex mercatoria involving commercial transactions crossing international borders. It includes such topics as international trade law, international sales of goods, commercial terms, bills of lading, and documentary letters of credit.
Using JACOB to Find Various Topics Relating to International Business Transactions
One of the first places to consider starting is with the library's catalog, JACOB. The catalog search engine provides all kinds of filters and search features to find exactly what you're looking for. Start with the Advanced Search feature:
And then choose applicable terms and words to search by. You can also filter by subject, title, author, etc. If you need to filter by time frame, language, or format, look to the right-hand corner. It's important to know where you're searching too:
-
JACOB means print materials (mostly books) held in the library's collection.
-
JACOB+ means print materials AND articles held in the library's collection.
-
Course Reserves are simply books held on reserve a professors' request for their courses.
-
WRLC is the Washington Research Library Consortium that consists of about 13 local libraries (we have a speedy lending agreement among this group of institutions). Search here for your broadest reach.
Search by Library of Congress Call Number Range:
JACOB has a filter for searching for items this way.
This is the Call Number range for the topic of International Business Transactions:
- K2400 -2405
Search by Library of Congress Subject Headings:
You can also search by the following subject headings. Just type any of these into the search bar and filter to "Subject."
Treatises and Textbooks on International Business Transactions
International Business Transactions: Contracting Across Borders by This special break-out edition is adapted from the authors' widely used International Business Transactions: A Problem-Oriented Coursebook, 11th. The purpose of this volume is to facilitate a focused study of the contractual issues arising out of international sales transactions.
International Business Transactions: Foreign Investment by This special break-out edition is adapted from the authors' widely used International Business Transactions: A Problem-Oriented Coursebook, now in its 11th edition (2012). The purpose of this volume is to facilitate a focused study of issues arising out of planning, operating, and terminating foreign investments.
International Business Transactions in a Nutshell by This work examines the law and practices relevant to the principal forms of international business and commercial transactions. It includes chapters on negotiating business transactions; the law governing international sales of goods; structuring international sales transactions; financing such transactions, especially through letters of credit; technology transfers; the initiation, operation, and termination of, as well as the limitations imposed on, foreign investments; property takings, including the options for protecting against and remedies for such actions; the extraterritorial regulation of international business; anti-corruption law; and the resolution of international disputes, whether through litigation in domestic court or through international arbitration.
International Business Transactions by The book provides current in-depth examination of issues clients are likely to face, such as contracting for sales across borders, financing international transactions, defending against import competition, expanding exports and overseas markets, investing abroad and dealing with NAFTA, the WTO, and other trade agreements. The coursebook is designed to survey a wide range of laws involving trade, licensing and investment, and explore how issues and problems are addressed by lawyers as problem solvers.
International Business Transactions by Focusing on private international business transactions, International Business Transactions: Problems, Cases, and Materials, Fifth Edition, covers the planning, structure, and implementation of these transactions in today's global economy. New to the Fifth Edition: Extensive treatment of the United States-Mexico-Canada Trade Agreement (USMCA), which replaced the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), reflecting the fact that --- globally --- regional trade and investment agreements are becoming more important, especially in view of the crisis facing the World Trade Organization.
International Business Transactions by This is a special break-out edition adapted from the authors' widely used International Business Transactions: A Problem-Oriented Coursebook , 11th. The purpose of this volume is to facilitate a focused study of the law of international trade and economic relations. After a brief introduction to the conduct of business in the world community, the book uses hypothetical problems to present some of the most typical and important issues regarding imports, exports, technology transfers, and dispute settlement in conjunction with related readings and materials. The primary focus is on lawyers, public and private, as problem solvers.
Principles of International Business Transactions by The Fifth Edition of Principles of International Business Transactions provides a more comprehensive examination of the law relevant to the subject matter and detailed citations to caselaw and other supporting authorities. It can be used by courts and legal practitioners as a resource for research and analysis, as well as by students and professors as a supplement for any international business law course. It tracks the authors' popular problem-oriented coursebook, International Business Transactions. Coverage moves sequentially from structuring international sales transactions to international sales law and letters of credit to regulation of international trade to transfers of technology to foreign investment to international business dispute settlement.
Principles of International Economic Law by Principles of International Economic Law provides a comprehensive overview of the central topics in international economic law, with an emphasis on the interplay between the different economic and political interests on both the international and domestic levels. Following recent tendencies,the book sets the classic topics of international economic law, like WTO law, investment protection, commercial law and monetary law in context with aspects of human rights, environmental protection and the legitimate claims of developing countries.
Related Burns Library Online Research Guides
Related Research Guides
