GW Law Library: Library Guides: Case Law: ALR & Encyclopedias

American Law Reports

American Law Reports (A.L.R.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains articles, called annotations, which analyze specific legal issues and summarize court decisions from a variety of jurisdictions.
American Law Reports, Federal (A.L.R. Fed., A.L.R. Fed. 2d., A.L.R. Fed. 3d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analyzes pertinent federal case law on particular federal issues. Each annotation reviews the federal cases discussing the relevant legal topic.

Finding Aids:

American Law Reports Index
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to annotations covering a particular point of law.
American Law Reports Digest
- This link opens in a new window
Locate relevant ALR annotations by using the West Key Number System.

General:

American Jurisprudence 2d (Am. Jur. 2d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Examines and summarizes broad principles from all fields of American law. Also provides citations to the leading cases.
Corpus Juris Secundum (C.J.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers state and federal legal topics. Also provides citations to the leading cases on a topic. Includes a multi-volume general index and individual topic indexes.

States & District of Columbia:

District of Columbia Code Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
(Discontinued in 1980)
West's Maryland Law Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Scholarly Articles:

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)