GW Law Library: Library Guides: Maryland Legal Research: Secondary Sources

Introduction

There are a host of secondary legal sources specific to Maryland law that provide a general overview of state law or that cover specific areas of law. Other titles can assist with pleading and practice in Maryland courts. Also, be sure to check other general secondary sources such as American Law Reports (ALR) and legal encyclopedias such as American Jurisprudence and Corpus Juris Secundum (CJS) which often cite to state law when explaining a particular legal topic.

General Sources on Maryland Law

West's Maryland Law Encyclopedia : Based on Maryland Statutes; Case Law, State and Federal; Attorney General Opinions and Law Reviews

Maryland Pleading and Practice

Basic Civil Trial Practice Pre-trial Handbook by Neil J. Dilloff
Discovery Under the Maryland Rules by John J. Kenny, Paul M. Vettori
District Court Practice, Civil by Maureen L. Rowland
Maryland Civil Procedure Forms--Maryland Practice Series
Maryland Civil Procedure Forms: With Practice Commentary by Robert D. Klein
Maryland Evidence Handbook by Joseph F. Murphy
Maryland Evidence : State and Federal by Lynn McLain
Maryland Litigation Forms and Analysis by Gary I. Strausberg
Maryland Rules Commentary by Paul V. Niemeyer; Linda M. Schuett; Joyce E. Smithey
Maryland Rules of Procedure by Maryland. Courts
Maryland Summary Judgment and Related Termination Motions
Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer
Trial Handbook for Maryland Lawyers by Jacob A. Stein

Practice Materials on Specific Subjects

Maryland Continuing Legal Education Titles (MDCLE)
Maryland DUI Law--Maryland Practice Series
Maryland Workers' Compensation--Maryland Practice Series
All Maryland Treatises, Practice Guides & Jurisprudence

Professional Responsiblity

Opinions on Ethics and Professional Responsibility by Arthur W. Machen

Maryland Legal Periodicals

Bar Bulletin of the Maryland State Bar Association
Journal of Business & Technology Law
The Journal of Health Care Law & Policy
Maryland Bar Journal
Maryland Journal of International Law
Maryland Law Review
University of Baltimore Journal of International Law
University of Baltimore Journal of Land and Development
University of Baltimore Journal of Media Law and Ethics
University of Baltimore Law Forum
University of Baltimore Law Review
University of Maryland Law Journal of Race, Religion, Gender and Class

All Maryland Law Reviews and Journals

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)