GW Law School History
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Archives
The GW Law School Archive contains materials pertaining to the history of the law school from the 19th century to the present.
The GW Law School History Archive Finding Aid describes materials housed in the Archives. Materials include historical documents and ephemera, including yearbooks, law school catalogs, directories, programs, announcements, law school publications such as magazines and newsletters, copies of examinations, and photographs.
Collections of professional papers found in the Archives include:
Oral Histories
The project’s interviews record the experiences and impressions of GW Law’s emeriti faculty and deans, the Stockton Guard (GW Law alumni who graduated forty or more years ago), and other key members of the GW Law community.
Scholarly Commons
Scholarly Commons is a service of The George Washington University Law School. It is designed to provide broad public access to the extraordinary body of engaged scholarship and public policy involvement that are the hallmarks of our academic community.
GW Gelman Library, Special Collections Research Center
- GW Pride Records
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1971 - 2005.
The collection includes several banners and posters, meeting minutes and notes, flyers and advertisements for GW Pride events, a number of newspaper articles about events and gay-related issues, revisions of the constitution, documents and memoranda pertaining to the change in the University’s non-discrimination policy, and an assortment of photos, brochures, and other ephemera. Because GW Pride was best known for its social events and atmosphere, other gay and lesbian student groups have occasionally arisen with different focuses: Queers, Dykes, and Femmes (QDF), a group with a more artistic focus, existed for a short time around 2000 to 2002, Lambda Law in the law school has a long history dating back many years. - Jacob Burns Law Library Records
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1904 - 2011.
This collection contains bibliographies, floor plans, organization charts, brochures, reports, correspondence, newsletters, guides, and statistics. They range in date from 1904 to 1999. The materials concern the building fund, donations, annual reports, topical research guides, Maury Memorial Law Library, and the National Law Center. - National Law Center Records
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1865 - 2005
Collection includes the law alumni photographic collection, founder's day celebrations, biographical sketches, articles reports, GW law school yearbooks, 1895 to 1915, bulletins and journals of the Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Research Institute of GW, (1950-1972), copies of the "Advocate," Banners scrapbooks correspondence Alumni reunions, minutes from the Board of Trustees, Research notes, banners, caps and gowns, reports to the Dean Exam questions, and information on Stockton Hall. - National University Records
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1875 - 1988.
Collection of programs, yearbooks, correspondence, student records and grades, agreements, minutes, Senate and House bills, Congressional Records, and published works. - Office of Alumni Relations Records
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1848 - 2010.
Materials in the collection includes photographs and negatives of President Trachtenberg, events, alumni reunion weekends, campus buildings, Distinguished Alumni Awards dinners, homecomings, alumni on the cover of Time, and Alumni Achievement Awards. The collection also includes print materials regarding annual meetings, addresses, events calendars, publications, questionnaires, reunions, Honorary Degrees, special events, Alumni Directories, the General Alumni Association, meeting minutes, Cherry Tree and National University Law School yearbooks, and plaques. - William Addison Paisley Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1919 - 1976.
This collection includes photocopies of correspondence and newspaper clippings bound in book form, related to the career of William Paisley, GW Law School (LL.B 1924) and Department of Justice attorney. - William H. Tanaka Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Undated; William H. Tanaka graduated from The George Washington University Law School (J.D., 1953) and his papers relate to U.S.-Japan trade relations. This collection is not processed to any level and may not be available for research. Please contact University Archives for more information.
