International Law Research Resources
A research guide to selected sources in public international law available at the Burns Law Library.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Introduction
Article 38(d) of the statute of the International Court of Justice lists “...the teachings of the most highly qualified publicists of the various nations” as a subsidiary means of determining international law on a particular subject. There are a number of reference tools available at the Jacob Burns Library to assist you with locating relevant scholarship on the international law relevant to your area of interest.
Burns Library Databases
- Current Index to Legal PeriodicalsTimely article index (produced 4-6 weeks before commercial legal periodical indexes such as Index to Legal Periodicals and LegalTrac) to over 500 legal publications, organized by legal topics. Complete tables of contents of all journals indexed are included.
- HeinOnlineA research platform comprised of historical and current collections of legal documents. Collections include a retrospective Law Journal Library; U.S. Supreme Court Library (U.S. Reports, preliminary reports, and slip opinions); United States Code (1925 to date); Statutes at Large (1789 to date); Federal Register Library (vol. 1, 1936 to date); Code of Federal Regulations (1938 to date); U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Congressional Documents; classic legal treatises; and a Treaties and Agreements Library. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (HeinOnline)Multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide. Coverage 1960-present. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
- Legal SourceFull-text database for law journals. Includes all of the content from Index to Legal Periodicals plus additional titles. (Click here for help using EBSCOHost.)
- Legal TracProvides full-text coverage of select legal newspapers.
- Westlaw
This link opens in a new window
Annotated case law, statutes, regulations, legislative history and more. Contains over 1100 full text law reviews and journals.
HeinOnline Collections of International Law Secondary Sources
- Harvard Research in International LawThe database includes access to the reprint of The Harvard Research in International Law and Contemporary Analysis and Appraisal. It also includes links to law review articles written by the contributors to the Harvard Research in International Law. (Use: Hein's Advanced Search Syntax
User’s Guide.) - HeinOnline Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, "an encyclopaedic publication on private and international law." (Use: Hein's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - History Of International LawThis database includes information dating back to 1690 on the history of international law subjects such as War & Peace, the Nuremberg Trials, Law of the Sea, International Arbitration, Hague Conferences and Conventions and much more! (Use: Hein's Advanced Search Syntax
User’s Guide.) - International Commission of Jurists Library (ICJ)The International Commission of Jurists promotes and protects human rights through the rule of law. Created in 1952, the ICJ aims to ensure the progressive development and effective implementation of international human rights and international humanitarian law. It also works to secure the realization of civil, cultural, economic, political, and social rights, as well as strives to safeguard the separation of powers and guarantee the independence of the judiciary and legal profession. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
- International Law Association ReportsThe International Law Association's objectives are the study, clarification and development of international law, both public and private, and the furtherance of international understanding and respect for international law. The International Law Association Reports of Conferences contain the International Committees' reports and a record of the discussions at the Conference working sessions, together with the adopted Resolutions. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
- Kluwer Law International Journal LibraryContains 23 Kluwer Law International Journals including: Air and Space Law, Arbitration International, World Trade and Arbitration Materials, International Journal of Comparative Labour Law & Industrial Relations, European Public Law, European Review of Private Law, and Legal Issues of Economic Integration. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
- Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law PublicationsThis database includes more than 60 publications from the prestigious Parker School of Foreign & Comparative Law at Columbia Law School. It also contains Szladit's Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law, a 22-volume set including more than 200 years of coverage. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
- Philip C. Jessup LibraryThis database provides access to all of the top moot court competitions since 1960. The compilation brings together the problems, judges' briefs, rules, and leading written memorials drawn from each years Competition and enhances the law student's ability to grasp the practical side of the law field by presenting award-winning responses to globally relevant cases or problems. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.)
Select Gelman Library Databases
Note: Gelman Library subscribes to numerous databases that can be used to locate articles on a particular subject. For information concerning such databases, please see the Gelman Library's Research Guides by Subject or Gelman Library's How Do I? tutorials.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources. (Use: CIAO Search Tips.)
- CQ ResearcherFor international law research, CQ Researcher provides background and context on current international developments, offering in-depth coverage of newsworthy global events from a multitude of viewpoints. (Using CQR.)
- FactivaFactiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, combines over 32,000 sources to give access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages. (Use: Dow Jones Learning.)
- JSTORBack issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. (Use: JSTOR Support.)
- MidEast WireMideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newsbank: Access World News
This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Find full-text articles from over 700 international sources. (Use: Newsbank FAQ.) - PAIS IndexCovers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations. (Use: Proquest Help Search Tips.)
- World News ConnectionOffers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
