Administrative Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Administrative Law
Administrative law. "The law governing the organization and operation of administrative agencies (including executive and independent agencies) and the relations of administrative agencies with the legislature, the executive, the judiciary, and the public. • Administrative law is divided into three parts: (1) the statutes endowing agencies with powers and establishing rules of substantive law relating to those powers; (2) the body of agency-made law, consisting of administrative rules, regulations, reports, or opinions containing findings of fact, and orders; and (3) the legal principles governing the acts of public agents when those acts conflict with private rights."
Source: Black's Law Dictionary, 11th ed., 2019 
Study Aids
Additional study aids in the Law Library's collection can be found through the Library's Study Aids guide.
Online:
Note: When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
- Aspen Learning Library includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides.
- LexisNexis Digital Library includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Print:
- Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours.
- Older print editions may be found in the Law Library stacks.
Examples and Explanations for Administrative Law, 6th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Discusses agency adjudication, due process, rulemaking, the availability and scope of judicial review, government acquisition of private information, and public access to government information.
Administrative Law and Process in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Summarize important statutes and case law and discusses informal administrative processes and the background realities of the regulatory state.
Understanding Administrative Law, 7th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Addresses the role of administrative agencies in the U.S. system of government, the processes of administrative decisionmaking by agencies, and judicial review of agency action.
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses.
Administrative Law by - This link opens in a new window
Topics discussed include: the nondelegation doctrine, rulemaking and the rule of law, the allocation of judicial power, formal agency adjudication, informal agency processes and actions, executive and judicial control of agency discretion, and citizens' access to government information.
Principles of Administrative Law, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Provides an introduction to the study of administrative law, discussing administrative agencies, due process in the administrative state, the Administrative Procedure Act and the procedural forms of agency action, formal adjudication under the Administrative Procedure Act, informal rulemaking under the Administrative Procedure Act, and the nature and scope of substantive judicial review.
Casebooks
Some editions may be on Course Reserve or Reserve at the Law Library's Circulation Desk and may be borrowed for up to 2 hours. Older editions are found in the Law Library stacks.
Administrative Law: Agency Action in Legal Context by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF5407 .G58 2020ISBN: 9781684671014Publication Date: 2020 (3rd ed.)Focuses on five representative federal agencies (the EPA, NLRB, SSA, IRS, and FCC) and includes one chapter for each agency that reviews its use of agency actions (rulemaking, policymaking adjudication, mass adjudication, informal action, and enforcement).
Administrative Law: Cases and Materials by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF5402 .C38 2020ISBN: 9781543804423Publication Date: 2020 (8th ed.)Discusses the nature and functions of administrative agencies, judicial review of administrative decisions, availability of judicial review, choice of policymaking instruments, rulemaking, adjudication, enforcement and liability, licensing, and public access.
Administrative Procedure and Practice: A Contemporary Approach by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF5407 .F86 2019ISBN: 9781642428087Publication Date: 2019 (6th ed.)Covers the following topics: administrative law practice, rulemaking, adjudication, choice of procedures and nonlegislative rules, reviewability, agency structure, inspections, reports, & subpoenas, public access to agency processes, and attorneys fees.
Federal Administrative Law by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF5402 .L39 2022ISBN: 9781647086398Publication Date: 2022 (9th ed.)Covers the following topics: constitution and the administrative state, statutory constraints on agency procedure, scope of review of agency action, constitutional constraints on agency procedure, and timing and availability of judicial review.
Federal Administrative Law: Cases and Materials by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF5402 .H53 2023ISBN: 9781636599557Publication Date: 2023 (4th ed.)Discusses Congress and agencies, presidential control of agencies, adjudication, rules and rulemaking, statutory interpretation in administrative law, and prerequisites to judicial review.
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying specific topics.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
Dictionaries
Black's Law Dictionary,11th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Defines more than 55,000 law-related words and phrases, recording their historical and present-day nuances.
