Skip to main content
GW Law Library | Hot Topics

United Nations Research

Access Icon Key

These icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
Print Resource Library Collection
Website Website
Subscription Database  (Law School Only) Subscription Database 
(Law School Only)
Subscription Database  (University-wide) Subscription Database 
(University-wide)
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) Bloomberg Law
(Password Required)
Lexis Advance (Password Required) Lexis Advance
(Password Required)
Westlaw Westlaw
(Password Required)

Related Burns Law Library PDF Research Guides

Consult the research guides above for more detailed research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.

Consult the research guides above for more detailed research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.

Consult the research guides above for more detailed research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.

Consult the research guides above for more detailed research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.

Loading

Other Useful Research Guides

Introduction

The United Nations (U.N.), according to Article 1 of the U.N. Charter is an organization of countries dedicated to “maintaining international peace and security; developing friendly relations among nations; cooperating internationally in solving international economic, social, cultural, and humanitarian problems and promoting respect for human rights and fundamental freedoms; and harmonizing the actions of nations in attaining these common ends.”

The U.N. Charter was signed June 26, 1945 in San Francisco at the conclusion of the United Nations Conference on International Organization. The Charter came into force on October 24, 1945. There are presently 193 members of the United Nations.

The U.N. consists of six principal bodies: General Assembly; Security Council; Economic and Social Council; the Trusteeship Council; the International Court of Justice; and the Secretariat. In addition, there are numerous funds, programmes, and specialized agencies working under the auspices of the Economic and Social Council in such diverse areas as health, finance, agriculture, civil aviation, and telecommunications.

This research guide covers print research materials, subscription databases, and internet resources for the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, (ECOSOC), and the International Court of Justice (ICJ).
 

Using JACOB to Find United Nations Resources

Key Search Terms

Useful search terms to be used when searching by keyword within library catalogs, databases, and search engines for information related to international anti-corruption include:

  • Economic and Social Council
  • General Assembly
  • International Court of Justice
  • International Organization
  • Security Council

Library Catalogs

 

Profile

Herb Somers's picture
Herb Somers
Contact:
Jacob Burns Law Library, SL101B
716 20th Street NW Washington D.C. 20052
Website / Blog Page

Bluebook Rules

  • R21.4: Treaties and Other International Agreements

  • R21.5.1: International Court of Justice

  • R21.7: United Nations Resources

  • T3: Intergovernmental Organizations

  • T4: Treaty Sources

Deciphering Acronyms and Abbreviations

Commonly Used:

  • ECOSOC
    (Economic and Social Council)
  • GAOR
    (General Assembly Official Records)
  • ICJ
    (International Court of Justice)
  • ILC
    (International Law Commission)
  • SCOR
    (Security Council Official Records)
     

Reference Resources for Legal Abbreviations:

Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations: A Reference Guide for Attorneys, Legal Secretaries, Paralegals, and Law Students  

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations