Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 (FISA)
An Act to authorize electronic surveillance to obtain foreign intelligence information.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- National Security Investigations & Prosecutions 2d
This link opens in a new window
Presents the law governing investigations conducted by the United States government to acquire information about foreign threats to national security, e.g., international terrorism. Of all the treatises included here, this provides the most thorough coverage of FISA. - Computer Law
This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 23. U.S. National Security Surveillance - Criminal Procedure
- This link opens in a new window
See Part II, § 4.9. Foreign intelligence surveillance - Federal Procedure, Lawyers' Edition
- This link opens in a new window
See, e.g., § 5:496. Intelligence activities—Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court; § 5:497. Intelligence activities—Order approving physical search, and § 33:617. Exclusionary rule in context of physical searches for foreign intelligence. - Information Security and Privacy: A Guide to Federal and State Law and Compliance
- This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 10. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act, National Security Letters and the Bank Secrecy Act - Information Security Law
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter 9.02[3]. Foreign Intelligence - Law of Electronic Surveillance
- This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 9. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance - Privacy Law
- This link opens in a new window
See § 6.08 Cybersecurity and Government Surveillance - Modern Privacy & Surveillance Law
- This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 4 Federal Government Surveillance Powers - Proskauer on Privacy: A Guide to Privacy and Data Security Law in the Information Age, 2d
This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 7 The Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act - Search & Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
RESERVE (1ST FL) KF9630 .L26 2012 + updates
Professor Wayne LaFave interprets and applies the Fourth Amendment in diverse factual situations for developing more effective arguments of search and seizure issues in plea bargaining, trial, and appeal phases of a criminal case. - Search and Seizure
- This link opens in a new window
See § 45.04 Foreign security searches; Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act - Search Warrant Law Deskbook
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the law as it applies to the federal level, all 50 states, DC and Puerto Rico, providing specific details on the application procedure, execution, and return and records procedure. - Wiretapping and Eavesdropping
- This link opens in a new window
See Chapter 12. Foreign Intelligence and National Security Surveillance of Targets who are within the United States
Selected ALR Reports
- Validity, Construction, and Application of Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 (50 U.S.C.A. ss 1801 et seq.) Authorizing Electronic Surveillance of Foreign Powers and Their Agents
- This link opens in a new window
190 A.L.R. Fed. 385 - Construction and Application of Civil Liability Provision of Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act ("FISA"), 50 U.S.C.A. § 1810
- This link opens in a new window
80 A.L.R. Fed. 2d 179
Articles Databases
Search the following databases for scholarly articles and reports:
(For a list of all databases available to GW Law faculty and students, see http://law.gwu.libguides.com/electronicresources/databases)
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887. - AULIMP
This link opens in a new window
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Covers significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in English-language military and aeronautical periodicals. - U.S. Declassified Documents Online
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries. - Digital Commons (BePress)
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. - Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and links to articles available in various articles databases at GW. - HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains historical and current collections of legal documents including a retrospective Law Journal Library. - International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. - JSTOR: Security Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Search for book chapters and articles on many security studies topics, from arms control to Westphalian sovereignty - Legal Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for law journals. Includes all of the content from Index to Legal Periodicals plus additional titles. - LegalTrac
- This link opens in a new window
Index of articles in law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers (1980 to date). Covers U.S., British Commonwealth, and E.U. law-related topics. - Lexis+: Law Reviews & Journals
- This link opens in a new window
- Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and selected full-text coverage for hundreds of journals and periodicals that offer news and analysis regarding the U.S. military. - National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 24 thematic collections. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus access only for GW Law patrons. - Privacy and Data Security Practice Center
This link opens in a new window
Incorporates all the content contained in Privacy & Security Law Report plus a number of new features, including full text of cases, and state and federal privacy statutes and regulations. - ProQuest Advanced Technologies and Aerospace Database
- This link opens in a new window
includes the renowned Aerospace Database and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. - ProQuest Research Library Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals - SSRN
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) provides abstracts and some full-text working papers or accepted papers. One eLibrary is the National Security & Foreign Relations Law eJournal. - Westlaw: Law Reviews, Texts & Bar Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Journals
Search the specialized journals below, or use a periodicals index or other database to locate articles on a topic. See our Journal Articles Research guide for more information on how to locate an article by citation, author name, or topic.
- International Journal of Intelligence and CounterintelligenceUse the "Search for articles within this journal" box to locate articles.
- RAIL: The Journal of Robotics, Artificial Intelligence & LawFrom Fastcase Premium
JSTOR: Security Studies materials
- List of all Securities Studies Topics
- This link opens in a new window
Locate book chapters and articles on surveillance and related topics provided by JSTOR.
Selected Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
- Surveillance of Foreigners Outside the United States Under Section 702 of the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Apr. 13, 2016 - Amendments to the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act (FISA) Expiring on December 15, 2019
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Apr. 11, 2016 - Disclosure of FISA Opinions—Select Legal Issues
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Feb. 24, 2014