Trademark Law

Official Code of federal laws, organized by subject matter. Revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. (Title 15 - Commerce And Trade.)

West's unofficial version of the United States Code, which includes many research features. (Title 15 - Commerce And Trade.)

Lexis's unofficial version of the United States Code, which includes many research features. (Title 15 - Commerce And Trade.)

"A resource covering federal and state trademark law. Coverage includes the Lanham Trademark Act, U.S. Patent and Trademark Office regulations, the PTO's Trademark Manual of Examining Procedure, the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board Manual of Procedure, and the trademark statutes of all 50 states. The Guide provides the full text of court decisions and selected administrative decisions by the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board from 2003 to present."

Includes the full-text of court opinions and administrative decisions concerning trademark law, including opinions from the Supreme Court of the United States, the United States Courts of Appeals, and the United States District Courts, in which trademark infringement actions are litigated.

Contains the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States.

Contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States, along with headnotes, Key Numbers, and synopses. Unofficial reporter, but current.

Contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States, along with summaries, headnotes, and research references. Unofficial reporter, but current.

Contains opinions of the United States Courts of Appeals, including those from the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit, which has nationwide jurisdiction in trademarks and which reviews administrative agency decisions from the U.S. Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.

Contains opinions of the United States District Courts, in which federal trademark infringement actions are litigated.

TTAB "handles appeals involving applications to register marks, appeals from expungement or reexamination proceedings involving registrations, and trial cases of various types involving applications or registrations." Site includes TTAB decisions, including final and precedential decisions.

Contains both published and unpublished decisions of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board, with coverage from 1958.

Administrative decisions released by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office that have been prepared by the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board. Coverage begins with February 1956.

The U.S.P.Q. contains the full-text of IP decisions from federal and state courts and administrative agencies, including the USPTO’s Trademark Trial and Appeal Board.

Federal and state court dockets. To see what dockets and documents are available in Bloomberg Law, as well as the dates covered, go to the "Litigation" drop-down and select "Docket Coverage."

"Covers U.S. district court cases involving trademark and Lanham Act claims." For a free academic account, send an email to contact@docketnavigator.com and provide your first and last name, GW Law email address, and, for students, anticipated date of graduation (month/year); for faculty and deans, your title.

"Lex Machina’s Trademark data lets you analyze federal Lanham Act case timing, resolutions, damages, remedies, and findings. The Trademark practice area includes cases with one or more claims under § 43 of the Lanham Act (15 U.S.C. § 1125), including trademark infringement, false designation of origin, false advertising, trademark dilution, cybersquatting, or unfair competition." Lex Machina provides free access to "certain university and college faculty staff and students, directly engaged in research, or study of law and policy." Users must view a brief online training demo in order to obtain or renew a user account.

Includes "IP Legislative Tracker" and "Pending Trademark Legislation" pages.

Official site for U.S. federal legislative information.

Includes compiled legislative histories of trademark legislation, including the Lanham Act (Trademark Act of 1946) (Public Law No. 79-489).

Compiled legislative histories of federal statutes, including the Lanham Act (Trademark Act of 1946) (Public Law No. 79-489).

Massive archive of Congressional documents, including reports and hearings.

Codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. Title 37 (Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights) includes codified United States Patent and Trademark Office, Department of Commerce, regulations.

Currently updated unofficial version of the C.F.R. Title 37 (Patents, Trademarks, and Copyrights) includes codified United States Patent and Trademark Office, Department of Commerce, regulations.

Official publication of federal agency rulemaking, including the United States Patent and Trademark Office.