Securities Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Practice Centers
- PLIPlus: Securities and Other Financial Products(Practising Law Institute (PLI))
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- Federal Securities Act of 1933
- Federal Securities Exchange Act of 1934
- Law of Securities Regulation
- Securities & Federal Corporate Law
- Securities Law Handbook
- Securities Practice: Federal & State Enforcement
- Securities Practice Guide
- Securities Regulation: Liabilities and Remedies
Indexes to the Legal Literature
- Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)(HeinOnline)
Provides citations to current law journal articles. - Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)(HeinOnline)
Provides citations to journal articles with selected full text. - Legal SourceProvides citations to journal articles with selected full text.
- LegalTracProvides citations to journal articles with selected full text.
Full Text Law Journal Databases
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields.
Tip: To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links, add "george washington," and "Save."
- HeinOnline: Law Journal Library: Advanced Search
- Lexis: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
- vLexJustisFull-text access to selected journals from 140 countries. Updated daily.
- Westlaw: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
- Digital Commons Network: Law CommonsFree, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
- SSRN: Social Science Research NetworkComposed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, making available scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.
Current News
- Law360: Securities
- Press Releases(SEC.gov)
Official announcements highlighting recent actions taken by the SEC and other newsworthy information. To view press releases prior to 2012, view the Press Release Archive. - Westlaw Securities Enforcement & Litigation Daily Briefing
- What's New(SEC.gov)
Daily list of new items posted on the SEC website.
Selected Newspapers:
Note: All GW students, faculty, and staff have free, full online access to The Washington Post, The Wall Street Journal and The New York Times. For additional information, see "Digital News Subscriptions."
- Financial Times
Contains articles from this leading British business newspaper going back eight years. NOTE: FT.com will require you to set up an account with your gwu.edu email address. Must use GWU VPN for off-campus access.
- National Law Journal
- New York Times
- Wall Street Journal
- Washington Post
Blogs
Locate additional blogs using the Harvard Law School Forum on Corporate Governance Blogroll and Justia's BlawgSearch website.
Business & Finance Databases
Additional business and finance databases are available through the GW Gelman Library's Business Administration and Finance subject databases lists.
- ABI/Inform Complete PlusCovers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Business Source UltimateProvides both bibliographic and full text content covering all fields of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
- FactivaSource for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6
