Presidential Documents
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Finding Documents by Type
Note: "The HeinOnline database is much more complete than the government-run databases of executive agreements."
Source: Curtis A. Bradley, Jack L. Goldsmith & Oona A. Hathaway, The Failed Transparency Regime for Executive Agreements: An Empirical and Normative Analysis, 134 Harv. L. Rev. 629, 669 (2020).
- Executive Agreement Series
This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline. (1929-1946) EAS 1-506. - Kavass's Guide to the United States Treaties in Force
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline. (Guide to the United States Treaties in Force). Part 1 is a numerical list of bilateral and multilateral treaties and agreements listed in TIF; Part 2 provides expanded subject lists of the treaties and agreements; and Part 3 provides a chronological index to U.S. multilateral treaties and agreements in force. - Statutes at Large (Stat.)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
(Until 1950). Executive Agreements, designated by EAS, are found in the section "International Agreements Other Than Treaties." - Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline. (1945- ). Since 1945, TIAS has been the official print publication format for treaties and agreements that have entered into force for U.S. TIAS is the successor to two separate series, Treaty Series (1908-1946) and Executive Agreement Series (1929-1946). - Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America 1776-1949 (Bevans)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
(1950-1984). Vols. 1-35.
Note: Check the current status of an Executive Order (E.O.) by using the Executive Order Disposition Tables Historical Index. Published by the National Archives and Record Administration (NARA), the Disposition Tables list the status of executive orders from 1933 to date.
Find an E.O. using one of the following sources:
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current editions. Past editions of the C.F.R., Title 3, are located on LL1. - Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current edition - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Code (USC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
See Table IV for the status of executive orders and their locations in the USC. Print location: BURNS (2ND FL) KF62 2018 - United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: BURNS (2ND FL) KF48 .W45 - Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current editions. Past editions of the C.F.R., Title 3, are located on LL1. - Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current edition - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online
- This link opens in a new window
- Federation of American Scientists (FAS)
- This link opens in a new window
- Homeland Security Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
- National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current editions. Past editions of the C.F.R., Title 3, are located on LL1. - Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current edition - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current editions. Past editions of the C.F.R., Title 3, are located on LL1. - Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current edition - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Congressional Record
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: BURNS (2ND FL) KF48 .W45 - Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current editions. Past editions of the C.F.R., Title 3, are located on LL1. - Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Register
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current edition - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Code (USC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Table V lists the Proclamations that are set out in the United States Code. - United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: BURNS (2ND FL) KF48 .W45 - United States Statutes at Large (Stat.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Code of Federal Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current editions. Past editions of the C.F.R., Title 3, are located on LL1. - Federal Register
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: RESERVE (1ST FL) Current edition - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Statutes at Large (Stat.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Code (USC)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Table VI provides a chronological list of the reorganization plans which at any time have been classified to the United States Code. - United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: BURNS (2ND FL) KF48 .W45
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (USCCAN)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: BURNS (2ND FL) KF48 .W45 - Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw's Daily Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins with January 1993. - White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- White House (Archived)
- This link opens in a new window
(Links to archived pages.) - White House
- This link opens in a new window
- American Presidency Project
- This link opens in a new window
- Congressional Record
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- White House
- This link opens in a new window
- Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Print location: Reference (1st floor) KF5125.A1 B66 2017
Common Sources Containing Presidential Documents
- Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.), Title 3, The President
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes determinations, executive orders, memoranda, notices, proclamations, and reorganization plans. - Congressional Record (Cong. Rec.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes messages to Congress, State of the Union addresses and other presidential addresses to Congress, and veto messages. - Daily Compilation of Presidential Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes determinations, executive orders, memoranda, notices, messages to Congress, proclamations, reorganization plans, signing statements, speeches, State of the Union addresses, veto messages, and other documents. - Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes determinations, executive orders, memoranda, notices, proclamations, and reorganization plans. - Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The series, which is produced by the State Department's Office of the Historian, began in 1861 and now comprises more than 450 individual volumes. - Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States (Pub. Papers)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes determinations, executive orders, memoranda, notices, messages to Congress, proclamations, reorganization plans, signing statements, speeches, State of the Union addresses, veto messages, and other documents. - United States Code Congressional and Administration News (U.S.C.C.A.N.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Unofficial publication. Includes executive orders, proclamations, reorganization plans, and signing statements. - United States Congressional Serial Set
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes State of the Union addresses and other presidential addresses to Congress, documents the President submits to Congress, and veto messages. - United States Statutes at Large (Stat.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes public and private laws of Congress, proclamations, and reorganization plans. - Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents (Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Includes determinations, executive orders, memoranda, notices, messages to Congress, proclamations, reorganization plans, signing statements, speeches, State of the Union addresses, veto messages, and other documents.
Reference Sources [Aids for Finding the Law]
- CIS Index to Presidential Executive Orders and Proclamations
- This link opens in a new window
Lists numbered and unnumbered executive orders, and proclamations by subject. - Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
- This link opens in a new window
Lists executive orders and proclamations by subject. - Index to the Code of Federal Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
Lists determinations, executive orders, memoranda, notices, proclamations, and reorganization plans in the C.F.R. by subject. - List and Index of Presidential Executive Orders: Unnumbered Series
- This link opens in a new window
Lists unnumbered executive orders.