National Security Law Resources

Official publication. Indexes over 500 major multilateral treaties deposited with the United Nations. Citations are given to the official United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.), if available. If no U.N.T.S. citation is available, references are provided to other United Nations documents containing the text of the treaty. Information about the date of entry into force and a list of participants is also included.

Official publication. Indexes U.S. treaties only that are presently in force as of January 1 of each year. Treaties are arranged by bilateral and multilateral treaties. Entries provides citations to the U.S.T. or T.I.A.S. series as appropriate.

Official handbook of the Federal Government. Provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. Begins with reprints of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution.

This edition contains excerpts of treaties, statutes, and executive orders in addition to cases and commentary.

Provides an overview of the Constitution and national security, entering the military, and service members' rights.

Explains the three primary missions of intelligence: information collection and analysis, counterintelligence, and covert action, before moving on to explore the wider dilemmas posed by the existence of secret government organizations in open, democratic societies.

This treatise presents the law governing, and related to, national security investigations (NSIs). An NSI is an investigation conducted by the United States government to acquire information about foreign threats to the national security, e.g., international terrorism.

Contains cases, commentary, and excerpts from significant reports and materials.

Covers the theories and methods of intelligence studies; historical background; the collection and processing of intelligence; the analysis and production of intelligence; the challenges of intelligence dissemination; counterintelligence and counterterrorism; covert action; intelligence and accountability; and strategic intelligence in other nations.

This Hornbook examines the military response, analyzing legal issues related to treating terrorism as an armed conflict.

Revision of: Franck, Thomas M. U.S. foreign relations law. Fourth edition. St. Paul, MN : West, [2012]

An unclassified guide to the many U.S. government agencies, bureau offices, and programs involved in all aspects of countering terrorism domestically and overseas.

The seventh edition has been fully revised to include a new chapter on the major issues confronting the intelligence community, including secrecy and leaks, domestic spying, and congressional oversight, as well as revamped chapters on signals intelligence and cyber collection, geospatial intelligence, and open sources.

Published by the American Bar Association Standing Committee on Law and National Security. Includes statutes, executive orders, reports and proposed legislation.