Federal Grant Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Books
Use JACOB, the Law Library's catalog, to locate additional titles.
- Assistance ListingsFormerly the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA).
- Principles of Federal Appropriations Law (Red Book) byA multi-volume treatise concerning federal fiscal law. See chapter 10: "Federal Assistance: Grants & Cooperative Agreements."
Theses
GW Law LLM theses may be a source for analysis and commentary on grant law topics.
- JACOBThe law library's catalog provides records of GW Law LLM theses, some of which are available electronically.
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses GlobalDatabase providing full text, online versions of selected theses.
Databases
- Foundation Directory OnlineFoundation Directory Online contains information on over 120,000 grant makers plus 20,000 grantmaking public charities and 4000+ companies.
Briefing Papers
Briefing Papers, a monthly journal of in-depth articles on government contracting, includes articles on federal grants.
- Federal Grantee Contracting: Domestic Preferences And Other Supply Chain IssuesBriefing Papers, Volume 2022, Issue 22-9 (Aug. 2022)
- Federal Grants: A Comprehensive Overview and Comparison to Federal ContractingBriefing Papers, Volume 2016, Issue 16-6 (May 2016)
- Federally Funded Research And Development: Intellectual Property RightsBriefing Papers, Volume 2022, Issue 22-1 (Jan. 2022)
- Grantee Contracting - What Grantees and their Lawyers Need to KnowBriefing Papers, Volume 2018, Issue 18-10 (Sept. 2018)
- Threading the Needle: Navigating Jurisdictional Challenges to Resolve Disputes with the Government Under Federal Assistance AgreementsBriefing Papers, Volume 2020, Issue 20-12 (Nov. 2020)
Other Publications
- Considerations for Creating a New Federal Grant Program: In Brief (2024)(Congressional Research Service (CRS) report)
Discusses considerations for navigating the process for authorizing new grant programs through legislation, including potential policy and programmatic outcomes based on certain structural decisions. - Federal Grants to State and Local Governments: A Historical Perspective on Contemporary Issues (2019)(Congressional Research Service (CRS) report)
Provides a historical synopsis of the federal grant-in-aid system, focusing on the role Congress has played in defining the system's scope and nature. - Grants Management: Approaches and Insights from Other Countries' Reform Efforts (2024)(U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO))
Discusses how 4 other countries reformed their grants management processes to address challenges. - Playbook for Strengthening Cybersecurity in Federal Grant Programs for Critical Infrastructure (2024)(Executive Office of the President, Office of the National Cyber Director (ONCD))
- Recouping Federal Grant Awards: How and Why Grant Funds Are Clawed Back (2024)(Congressional Research Service (CRS) report)
Discusses the process by which the terms and conditions of federal grant awards are established, the definitions of recoupment and clawbacks, how noncompliance and improper payments are evaluated by federal grantor agencies, and considerations for Congress in evaluating federal grant recoupment. - Resources for Grantseekers (2023)(Congressional Research Service (CRS) report)
Provides an overview of the grant process.
