Professional Responsibility & Ethics
ABA Ethics Opinions
A Formal Opinion concerns a subject of general interest to the bar. An Informal Opinion contains a response to a specific inquiry relating to a particular set of facts.
- ABA Ethics Opinions
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: January 1924 for formal opinions and July 1961 for informal opinions. - ABA Formal Ethics Opinions
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: January 1924 through current. - ABA Informal Ethics Opinions
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: December 31, 1959 through current. - Formal and Informal Ethics Opinions
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1967/1982 - 1983/1998. - ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1980 - current. - Informal Ethics Opinions (ABA)
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: July 24, 196l - November 28, 1973. - Opinions of the Committee on Professional Ethics by American Bar Association
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of ABA formal opinions from 1924 - 1966 (nos. 1-315). Also includes Canons of professional ethics, annotated, and Canons of judicial ethics, annotated.
State Ethics Opinions
- Legal & Judicial Ethics & Disciplinary Opinions
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage varies by state. - National Reporter on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Not currently updated on Lexis). Provides selected state bar formal and informal opinions on legal ethics and professional responsibility. - ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct (1980 - )
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes summaries of state and local bar associations' ethics opinions. - Digest of Bar Association Ethics Opinions
- This link opens in a new window
This digest and its supplements (1970, 1975 & 1980) include brief summaries of ethics opinions from the ABA and state and local bar associations.
Judical Conduct Ethics Opinions
- U.S. Judicial Conference Committee on Judicial Conduct Ethics Opinions
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage begins with June 2009.