Court Dockets, Records, & Rules
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Court Rules
Court rules are "regulations having the force of law and governing practice and procedure in the various courts, such as the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, the U.S. Supreme Court Rules, and the Federal Rules of Evidence, as well as any local rules that a court promulgates."
Source: Black's Law Dictionary, 12th ed. by 
Note: to obtain Bloomberg Law, Lexis, or Westlaw credentials, send an email request to electronicservices@law.gwu.libanswers.com and include your full name, @law email address, GWID, graduation year, and service(s) for which you are requesting an account.
Federal Courts
- Bloomberg Law: Find Court Rules
This link opens in a new window
Search court rules by jurisdiction. Also provides links to the national federal rules of practice and procedure. - Lexis: Federal Rules Annotated
This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: Statutes & Court Rules
This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: Federal Local Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
- U.S. Courts: Current Rules of Practice & Procedure
This link opens in a new window
Provides "links to the national federal rules and forms in effect, as well as local rules (which are required to be consistent with the national rules) prescribed by district courts and courts of appeal." - Supreme Court of the United States: Rules and Guidance
- This link opens in a new window
Provides links to the current Rules of the Supreme Court, Historical Rules, and Guides for Counsel.
State Courts
- Bloomberg Law: Find Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
Search court rules by jurisdiction. - Lexis: Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
Search court rules by jurisdiction. - Westlaw: Statutes & Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
Search court rules by jurisdiction. - National Center for State Courts: State Court sites
- This link opens in a new window
"Provides judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level."