WTO/GATT Resources

The Foreign Agricultural Service (FAS) links U.S. agriculture to the world to enhance export opportunities and global food security. In addition to its Washington, D.C. staff, FAS has a global network of 93 offices covering 171 countries. These offices are staffed by agricultural attachés and locally hired agricultural experts who are the eyes, ears, and voice for U.S. agriculture around the world. FAS staff identify problems, provide practical solutions, and work to advance opportunities for U.S. agriculture and support U.S. foreign policy around the globe.

The Bureau of Industry and Security (BIS)'s mission is to advance U.S. national security, foreign policy, and economic objectives by ensuring an effective export control and treaty compliance system and promoting continued U.S. strategic technology leadership.

The U.S. Commercial Service (CS), part of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s International Trade Administration, offers companies a full range of expertise in international trade. Companies can find assistance locally in more than 100 U.S. Commercial Service offices nationwide and in more than 70 international offices.

The U.S. Customs and Border Protection secures America's borders to protect the public from terrorists and terrorist weapons, while enabling legitimate trade and travel to enhance the Nation’s global economic competitiveness.

The Office of Bilateral Trade Affairs (BTA) promotes free, fair, and reciprocal trade on behalf of American exporters and their workers. We engage directly with foreign governments to ensure that American businesses can compete and succeed in overseas markets. BTA plays a key role in developing, negotiating, implementing, and enforcing U.S. trade policy in every region of the world, including through free trade agreements, trade and investment framework agreements, and trade preference programs. We regularly meet with the private sector, civil society, academia, other U.S. government agencies, and Congress to ensure that U.S. foreign policy reflects the vital importance of trade to American prosperity.

The United States Trade Representative (USTR) chiefly responsible for U.S. activities relating to the World Trade Organization. The USTR website provides access to reports, press releases, speeches, trade agreements, information on trade topics, tariffs, industry initiatives, national export initiatives, other related information.

The United States International Trade Commission (USITC) is an independent, quasi-judicial Federal agency with broad investigative responsibilities on matters of trade. The agency investigates the effects of dumped and subsidized imports on domestic industries and conducts global safeguard investigations. The Commission also adjudicates cases involving imports that allegedly infringe intellectual property rights.

The U.S. Trade and Development Agency helps companies create U.S. jobs through the export of U.S. goods and services for priority development projects in emerging economies. USTDA links U.S. businesses to export opportunities by funding project preparation and partnership building activities that develop sustainable infrastructure and foster economic growth in partner countries.

This research guide provides describes and links to web sites and electronic databases relating to trade in goods and services, financial law, economic integration, development law, business regulation, and intellectual property.

The research guide describes and lists resources for finding information relating to WTO/GATT background information, text of agreements and other documents, dispute resolution, periodicals, U.S. legislation, regulations, judicial decisions, and internet resources.

This research guide describes and list resources for finding information relating to NAFTA, WTO/GATT, and other trade-related agreements. The guide provides guidance on finding basic information, text of agreements, documentation, research databases, dispute resolution, current awareness, bibliographies and other research guides.

This research guide describes and lists resources for finding information relating to WTO/GATT background information, books and articles, the agreements, negotiating history, WTO structure and membership, schedules and tariffs, dispute settlement, official documents, trade policy reviews, research guides, statistics, and terminology.

The official website of the World Trade Organization (WTO). The WTO is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. At its heart are the WTO agreements, negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments. The goal is to ensure that trade flows as smoothly, predictably and freely as possible.

Resources on the WTO's dispute settlement portal include background on dispute settlement in the WTO, searchable databases of disputes, and information about the WTO's Dispute Settlement Body.

Provides one page summaries of facts and findings contained in adopted panel and Appellate Body reports. Includes indexes organized by WTO article and agreement, and by WTO members.

A searchable database of WTO documentation including legal texts, panel and Appellate Body reports, selected Uruguay Round documents, and some GATT documents. Documents are searchable by full text, title, subject date, country, WTO agreement article, organization, and WTO bodies.

Catalogs and provides full text access to selected documents issued under the General Agreements on Tariffs and Trade (1947). Available documents include committee reports, panel reports, committee reports, surveillance reports, and country communications.

Lists and provides authoritative PDF copies of most WTO agreements.

Searchable database of nearly 60,000 documents and publications issued under the General Agreements on Tariffs and Trade (1947). Documents include reports, studies, and meeting records. Documents are searchable by document symbol, date, keyword, and organization. Provided by Stanford University Libraries & Academic Information Resources and the WTO.