GW Law Library: Library Guides: International Environmental Law: Commentary & Analysis

Titles Recently Acquired

Books

Additional titles on international environmental law can be found using JACOB, the GW Law Library's catalog.

Environmental Human Rights in the Anthropocene by Walter F. Baber (Editor); James R. May (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Discusses the complexities of uniting human rights advocacy and environmental protection.
International Environmental Law in a Nutshell by Reed Benson; Burke Griggs; A. Tarlock
- This link opens in a new window
Offers a synoptic overview, and analysis of the relevant treaties, customary law, and soft law instruments governing all areas of international environmental law.
Islands and International Law by Donald R. Rothwell
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an authoritative overview of how public international law operates in relation to islands. Artificial islands, archipelagos, sovereignty, territorial rights, maritime entitlements, and governance are explored in depth.
Litigating the Environment: Process and Procedure Before International Courts and Tribunals by Justine Bendel
- This link opens in a new window
Functions of international litigation, access to international courts and tribunals, scientific evidence, prevention and provisional measures of protection, remedies, and the relationships between judicial dispute settlement and non-compliance procedures are among the topics discussed.
Principles of International Environmental Law by Philippe Sands; Jacqueline Peel; Adriana Fabra; Ruth MacKenzie
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an Introduction to the foundational principles, governance structures, and regulatory techniques of international environmental law.
Research Handbook on International Environmental Law by Malgosia Fitzmaurice (Editor); David M. Ong (Editor); Panos Merkouris (Editor)
- This link opens in a new window
Examines recent developments in international environmental law (IEL) and the crossover effects of this expansion on other areas of international law, such as trade law and the law of the sea.
Research Handbook on International Marine Environmental Law by Rosemary Gail Rayfuse, editor.; Aline Jaeckel, editor.; Natalie Klein, editor
- This link opens in a new window
Topics discussed include marine pollution, seabed protection, marine biodiversity and climate change, environmental impact assessments, and compliance and dispute settlement mechanisms.

Other Publications

Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law
- This link opens in a new window
v. 1. Climate Change Law
v. 2. Decision Making in Environmental Law
v. 3. Biodiversity and Nature Protection Law
v. 4. Compliance and Enforcement of Environmental Law
v. 5. Multilateral Environmental Treaties
v. 6. Principles of Environmental Law
v. 7. Human Rights and the Environment
v. 8. Policy Instruments in Environmental Law
v. 9. Energy Law, Climate Change and the Environment
v. 10 Water Law
V. 11: Trade and Environmental Law
V. 12: Chemical Risk Governance
Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An important encyclopedic publication derived from lectures on private and public international law of The Hague Academy of International Law, a center for research and teaching in public and private international law.
International Environmental Law: A Guide for Judges (2015)
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Federal Judicial Center)
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law: International Environmental Law
- This link opens in a new window
Updated quarterly.
Contains articles written by over 650 scholars and practitioners from around the world.
more...less...
Includes more than 700 topics, as well as access to the Oxford Law Citator.
Tip: Click on "Subject" link at top of page and select "International Environmental Law."
ProQuest Congressional: Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CRS Reports provide analysis and background information on international environmental law issues being discussed in Congress.
Yearbook of Human Rights & Environment
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on research done regarding the correlation between human rights and the environment.

Current Newsletters & Journals

Environment & Energy Report
- This link opens in a new window
Reports on international environmental and energy issues.
EcoAmericas
- This link opens in a new window
Monthly articles, in English and Spanish, on development and the environment in Latin America.
more...less...
Articles include contact and resource information. Coverage: November 1998 to date. Off-campus access not available.
ELR: The Environmental Law Reporter: News & Analysis
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Environmental Law Institute (ELI))
Provides concise analysis and reporting on new developments in environmental law, including international environmental law.
Environment & Energy (E&E) Online Publications
- This link opens in a new window
E&E online newsletters (ClimateWire, EnergyWire, Environment & Energy Daily, Greenwire) report on international environmental law and policy.
The Environmental Forum
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Environmental Law Institute (ELI)).
Presents diverse points of view and debate on current environmental law, policy and management issues in all sectors.
Environmental Justice
- This link opens in a new window
Explores the equitable treatment of all people, especially minority and low-income populations, with respect to the development, implementation, and enforcement of environmental laws, regulations, and policies.
George Washington Journal of Energy & Environmental Law (JEEL)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Focuses on scholarship at the intersection of energy and environmental law and is published by the George Washington University Law School as a supplement to the Environmental Law Institute's monthly Environmental Law Reporter News & Analysis journal.

Indexes to Legal Literature

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP)
- This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline)
Weekly subject index to law review & journal articles; citations only.
Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline)
Coverage: 1960-present.
Multilingual index to articles and book reviews published worldwide.
Legal Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1908 to date.
Indexes more than 1,100 full-text legal journals, law reviews, yearbooks, institutes, statutes, bar association publications and university publications including book reviews and case studies.
more...less...
International coverage includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand.
LegalTrac
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage: 1980 to date.
Index of articles in law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers.
more...less...
Covers U.S., British Commonwealth, and E.U. law-related topics.

Full Text Journal Databases

Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields.

Tip: To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add "George Washington University."

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library: Advanced Search
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
- This link opens in a new window
vLexJustis
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to selected journals from 140 countries. Updated daily.
Westlaw: Advanced Search: Law Reviews & Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Digital Commons Network: Law Commons
- This link opens in a new window
Free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide.
more...less...
Curated by university librarians and their supporting institutions, the Network includes a growing collection of peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work.
SSRN: Social Science Research Network
- This link opens in a new window
Composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, making available scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers.

Blogs

Additional blogs discussing international environmental law issues can be found using Justia BlawgSearch or searching blogs through Bloomberg Law, Lexis, and Westlaw.

Bloomberg Law: News
- This link opens in a new window
Next to the "Sources/Source Directory" box, click on "Browse."
Select: Web Sources > Alternative Web Content > Blog Web Content
C2ES Blog
- This link opens in a new window
(Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES))
Climate Law Blog
- This link opens in a new window
(Columbia Law School, Sabin Center for Climate Change Law)
Legal Planet
- This link opens in a new window
(UC Berkeley School of Law and UCLA School of Law)
Lexis: News: Blogs
- This link opens in a new window
Westlaw: News: Blogs
- This link opens in a new window

Law-Related Resources

Use GW Gelman Library subject databases to search for law-related articles, reports, etc. on international environmental law topics:

Business Administration
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental Studies
- This link opens in a new window
International Relations
- This link opens in a new window
Law and Government
- This link opens in a new window

These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide.
	Library Collection
	Website
	Subscription Database (Law School Only)
	Subscription Database (University-wide)
	Bloomberg Law (Password Required)
	Lexis (Password Required)
	Westlaw (Password Required)