Torts
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- Dobbs' Law of Torts, 2d ed.
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative, comprehensive, and up-to-date discussion and analysis of the legal principles and rules governing tort law. The authors address changes in tort law and provide citations to cases decided or writings. - Harper, James, & Gray on Torts, 3d ed.
- This link opens in a new window
Analyzes the latest developments in the field of tort law, including a complete analysis of the Restatement (Third) of the Law of Torts. 
The American Law of Torts- This link opens in a new window
Discusses specific tort theories and practice areas, including: negligence/per se, premises liability, products liability, business and commercial torts, intentional torts, defamation, invasion of privacy, unlawful prosecution, medical malpractice, nuisance, and interference with civil rights.- American Law of Products Liability, 3d
- This link opens in a new window
Examines legal principles on a product-by-product basis for products that have been the subject of litigation. Coverage includes negligence, breach of warranty, strict liability in tort, the duty of a manufacturer or seller to warn, fraud, misrepresentation, nuisance, privity of contract, liability of lessors and bailors, and defenses to liability. - Modern Tort Law: Liability & Litigation 2d
- This link opens in a new window
Explores the emerging areas within liability and litigation and explains both traditional tort concepts such as nuisance, master-servant relationships, and negligence, and current law, including medical malpractice, professional malpractice, and products liability.
Restatements
Produced by the prestigious American Law Institute (ALI), Restatements of the Law address uncertainty in the law and attempt to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law.
- A Concise Restatement of Torts, 3d
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Restatement of the Law: Torts
- This link opens in a new window
Restatement of the Law -- Torts is a treatise containing the complete text of the 1st, 2nd, and 3rd Restatements of Torts and covers all major areas of tort law. - Restatement of the Law (Third) of Torts: Apportionment of Liability
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Restatement of the Law (Third) of Torts: Liability for Physical and Emotional Harm
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Restatement of the Law (Third) of Torts: Products Liability
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Restatement (Third) of Torts: Intentional Torts to Persons
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Restatement (Third) of Torts: Liability for Economic Harm
- This link opens in a new window
- Restatement (Third) of Economic Torts and Related Wrongs
- This link opens in a new window
Case Law
Topical Reporters and Databases:
- Case Law guide
This link opens in a new window
The Library's Case Law guide provides links to U.S. Supreme Court and other federal court reporters. - Product Safety & Liability Reporter (Bloomberg BNA)
- This link opens in a new window
- Products Liability Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Torts Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Torts Cases
- This link opens in a new window
Statutes
To locate state statutory code sections on your topic, consult the index to your state’s annotated code and look for relevant terms such as damages, negligence, personal injuries, strict liability, torts, etc. The Library's State Materials guide provides links to primary legal materials for the states.
- State Laws and Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- Statutes & Legislation
- This link opens in a new window
- Statutes & Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
50-state surveys provide all states' statutes, if any, on a given topic.
- 50 State Statutory Surveys: Civil Laws: Torts: Products Liability
- This link opens in a new window
- 50 State Statutory Surveys: Civil Laws: Torts: Tort Reform
- This link opens in a new window
- 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations: Torts – Intentional Torts: Defamation
- This link opens in a new window
- 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations: Torts – Negligence: Responsible Alcohol Service
- This link opens in a new window
- 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations: Torts – Premises & Property Liability: Limitations to Premises Liability
- This link opens in a new window
- 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations: Torts – Premises & Property Liability: Transient Lodging
- This link opens in a new window