Career Research
Researching potential employers is the focus of this guide.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Access to Library Resources
Current GW law students have access to all resources listed in this guide.
All GW Law alumni may access law library databases, except Lexis and Bloomberg Law, by checking out a visitor's "key" from the Library's 1st floor circulation/reserve desk. Recent graduates of GW Law have access to Westlaw, Lexis, and Bloomberg Law for limited periods after their date of graduation.
Directories
- Leadership Connect
This link opens in a new window
Biographical and contact information for members of Congress, the Federal Government, state & local governments, courts, law and lobbying firms, companies, associations, non-profits, foreign governments, and more. - Martindale
This link opens in a new window
Biographical information on practicing attorneys and brief profiles of U.S. and international law firms. - NALP Directory of Legal Employers
- This link opens in a new window
Provides specific information on law firms, government agencies, public interest organizations, and corporations, including lawyer demographics, practice areas, compensation and benefits, diversity and inclusion practices, and other valuable information about legal employers. - Profiler - Profiles of Attorney & Judges
This link opens in a new window
Profiles of more than 1,000,000 profiles of law firms, courts, judges, and lawyers from all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the District of Columbia, Canada, England, and Europe. - West Legal Directory
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than one million profiles of law firms and branch offices, in addition to biographical records of attorneys in any of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Canada, and Europe.
Career Resources
- Bloomberg Law: Career Resources
This link opens in a new window
- Lexis: Job Search Preparation Checklist
This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: Career Resources
- This link opens in a new window
Related Guides
- Job Searching Research Guide
- This link opens in a new window
(Georgetown Law School Library)