Treaties and International Agreements
Guide to print and electronic resources for finding bilateral and multilateral treaties.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Burns Law Library Databases
- Cambridge Core - Law
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected Cambridge University Press books and journals, including over 500 titles dealing with human rights subject matter. (Click here for help using Cambridge Core.) - HeinOnline's Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, "an encyclopaedic publication on private and international law." (Use: Hein's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - HeinOnline U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text PDF access to official U.S. treaty sources such as Treaties in Force, U.S.T., and T.I.A.S. (Use: HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax
User’s Guide.) - HeinOnline World Treaty Library
- This link opens in a new window
One of the the richest collection of world treaties ever available, spanning from 1648 to the present. Also included are hundreds of related treaty publications, scholarly articles chosen by our editors, and a bibliography of related publications. (Use: HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - Kluwer Arbitration
- This link opens in a new window
The premier database of arbitration materials which includes legislation, case law, institutional rules, treatises, and commentary. Published by Kluwer Law International in conjunction with the Institute for Transnational Arbitration (ITA), the Permanent Court of Arbitration (PCA), and the International Council for Commercial Arbitration (ICCA). - Max Planck's Encyclopedia of International Law
- This link opens in a new window
Current, online version of the print Encyclopedia of Public International Law. Written by over 650 scholars and practitioners from around the world and edited by a team from the Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Law and International Law. Includes more than 700 new topics, not covered in print edition, as well as access to the Oxford Law Citator. Updated quarterly. (Click here for help using Max Planck’s.) - Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO): Law
- This link opens in a new window
Law collection titles are primarily from the following series: Oxford studies in European law, Oxford monographs in international law, Oxford monographs in criminal law and justice, Clarendon studies in criminology, Oxford monographs in labour law, Oxford studies in modern legal history, Oxford studies in international economic law, and international courts and tribunals. GWU has access to most OSO books, with abstracts available for all others. - ProQuest Congressional
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Legislative Histories (1969-present); Congressional Reports (1819-present); Congressional Hearings (published and unpublished) (1824-present); Congressional Committee Prints (1830-present); U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers from 1789-1969; and CRS Reports (1916-present). Also contains member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data. (Click here for help using ProQuest Congressional.) - Thomson Reuters Checkpoint
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law library, including international tax treaties. Also includes International Tax Alert, International Taxes Weekly, and This Week with Cym Lowell. (Click here for help using Checkpoint.)
Select Gelman Library Databases
Note: Gelman Library subscribes to numerous databases that can be used to locate articles on a particular subject. For information concerning such databases, please see the Gelman Library's Research Guides by Subject or Gelman Library's How Do I? tutorials.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources. (Use: CIAO Search Tips.)
- CQ ResearcherFor international law research, CQ Researcher provides background and context on current international developments, offering in-depth coverage of newsworthy global events from a multitude of viewpoints. (Using CQR.)
- FactivaFactiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, combines over 32,000 sources to give access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages. (Use: Dow Jones Learning.)
- JSTORBack issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. (Use: JSTOR Support.)
- MidEast WireMideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newsbank: Access World News
This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Find full-text articles from over 700 international sources. (Use: Newsbank FAQ.) - PAIS IndexCovers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations. (Use: Proquest Help Search Tips.)
- World News ConnectionOffers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
LexisNexis
- International Legal Materials
This link opens in a new window
Published since 1962, International Legal Materials (ILM) provides the basic, primary documents necessary for research and analysis of international law. Materials are selected by ASIL for their usefulness to scholars, practitioners, business and government officials, both in the United States and abroad. These materials include the full texts of important treaties and agreements, judicial and arbitral decisions, national legislation, international organizations resolutions and other documents. (Click here for help using Lexis.) - U.S. Treaties in Force
- This link opens in a new window
Treaties in Force is published annually by the Department of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and international agreements to which the United States has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Department of State as being in force as of January 1 of each year. It includes those documents that have not expired by their own terms, been denounced by the parties or replaced or superseded by other agreements, or otherwise definitely terminated. (Click here for help using Lexis.) - U.S. Treaties on Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
An electronic compilation of full-text ratified and unratified treaties and international agreements, where the United States is a party or signatory. This includes not only treaties signed by the President with the advice and consent of the US Senate, but also international agreements from the U.S. Government. Documents are obtained directly from the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Senate, as well as other authoritative U.S. government publications. (Click here for help using Lexis.)
Westlaw
- European Union Legislation: Treaties
This link opens in a new window
Text of treaties between member states of the European Union, including the founding treaties establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (1951), the European Economic Community (1957), and the European Atomic Energy Community (1957); accession documents that enlarged the European communities; treaties of amendment such as the Single European Act (1986); and the Treaty of European Union (Maastricht Treaty, 1992). - Global Competition and Antitrust: Treaties
- This link opens in a new window
European coverage begins with 1952. GATT coverage begins with 1994. NAFTA coverage begins with 1992. All other coverage varies by source. - International Commercial Arbitraton: Treaties
- This link opens in a new window
Text of commercial arbitration treaties and related documents from the following databases: American Society of International Law (ASIL), North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA), General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade, Uruguay Round (GATT), and (European Union Legislation (EU-LEG). - Tax Treaties and Conventions (U.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
Tax agreements between the United States and foreign governments that are published in the Internal Revenue Bulletin (IRB). Coverage from the IRB begins with 1955. The tax treaties from U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements (USTREATIES) database are included, which begins coverage in 1844. - United States Treaties and Other International Agreements
- This link opens in a new window
U.S. Treaties and Other International Agreements includes American Indian treaties to which the U.S.A. is a party. Coverage begins with 1778. - United States Treaties in Force
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of the 2019 edition of United States Treaties in Force, published by the U.S. Department of State, which lists the treaties in force in the United States as of January 1, 2019. Also included is the most recent list of Treaty Actions published on the Department of State's Web site, which lists agreements that have come into force as of January 1, 2019.
Access Information
Access to Burns Law Library Database Subscriptions:
Researchers with privileges to access the Law Library can access these resources from the research terminals located in the reference room. Current law students, faculty, and staff can access these resources from any computer connected to the Law School networks.
Off-campus access to Burns Law Library Database Subscriptions:
Law faculty and law students with up-to-date borrowing privileges at the Jacob Burns Law Library may access certain subscription databases from off-campus via the library proxy server. Detailed instructions are available on the Library's website.
Lexis and Westlaw Access:
Access to Lexis and Westlaw is restricted to current law students and law faculty.