International Anti-Corruption Resources
Guide to digital and print resources relating to international anti-corruption law.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
International Treaties Dealing with Corruption
- African Union Convention on Preventing and Combating Corruption, July 11, 2003, 43 I.L.M. 5.
Treaty concluded by the African Union which creates "mechanisms required to prevent, detect, punish and eradicate corruption and related offences in the public and private sectors."
- Agreement Establishing the Group of States against Corruption (GRECO), May 1, 1999 <no citation available>.
- Civil Law Convention on Corruption, Nov. 4, 1999, Eur. T.S. No. 174.
Concluded by the Council of Europe, the convention attempts to define common international rules in the field of civil law and corruption.
- Criminal Law Convention on Corruption, January, 27, 1999, Eur. T.S. No. 173.
Concluded by the Council of Europe, this treaty aims to coordinate criminalisation of a large number of corrupt practices among members. It also provides for complementary criminal law measures and for improved international co-operation in the prosecution of corruption offences.
-
Additional Protocol to the Criminal Law Convention on Corruption, May 15, 2003, Eur. T.S. No. 191.
This Protocol extends the scope of the Convention to arbitrators in commercial, civil and other matters, as well as to jurors, thus complementing the Convention’s provisions aimed at protecting judicial authorities from corruption. - Inter-American Convention Against Corruption, March 29, 1996, S. Treaty Doc. No. 105-39, 35 I.L.M 724.
This OAS treaty commits member states to criminalize certain acts of corruption, establishes a set of measures designed to prevent foreign bribery, and strengthens cooperation between OAS member states against bribery.
- OECD Convention on Combating Bribery of Foreign Public Officials in International Business Transactions, Dec. 17, 1997, S. Treaty Doc. No. 105-43.
- United Nations Convention against Corruption, December 9, 2003, UN Doc. A/58/422 (2003), S. Treaty Doc. No. 109-6, 43 I.L.M. 37 (2004).
- United Nations Convention against Transnational Organized Crime and its Protocols, December 13, 2000, S. Exec. Rep. No. 109-4, 40 ILM 335 (2001); UN Doc. A/55/383 at 25 (2000).
- United Nations Declaration Against Corruption and Bribery in International Commercial Transactions, December 16, 1996, UN Doc. A/RES/ 51/191.
Databases & Web Sites
- Council of Europe Treaty OfficeOffers links to full-text of treaty, status information and other documentation on Council of Europe treaties.
- HeinOnline: Treaties and Agreements LibraryOffice full-text access to official U.S. Treaty sources.
- HeinOnline: United Nations Law CollectionProvides access to the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.).
- Organization of African Unity/African Union Treaties, Conventions, Protocols & ChartersOffers full-text and status information for African Union treaties.
- Organization of American States (OAS): International AgreementsA collection of OAS agreements by year and subject. Also includes information about signatories, ratification, and central authorities.
- United Nations Treaty CollectionProvides online access to Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General as well as a database of the United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.).
Bluebook Rules
- Rule 21.4: Treaties and Other International Agreements
- Table T4: Treaty Sources
Interpreting Citations
Typical cite to a multilateral treaty as per Bluebook Rule 21.4.5(ii):
Civil Law Convention on Corruption, Nov. 4, 1999, Eur. T.S. No. 174.