Torts
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Torts
Tort (16c) 1. A civil wrong, other than breach of contract, for which a remedy may be obtained, usu. in the form of damages; a breach of a duty that the law imposes on persons who stand in a particular relation to one another • Tortious conduct is typically one of four types: (1) a culpable or intentional act resulting in harm; (2) an act involving culpable and unlawful conduct causing unintentional harm; (3) a culpable act of inadvertence involving an unreasonable risk of harm; and (4) a nonculpable act resulting in accidental harm for which, because of the hazards involved, the law imposes strict or absolute liability despite the absence of fault. 2. (pl.)The branch of law dealing with such wrongs.
Source: Black's Law Dictionary, 11th ed., 2019 
Study Aids
Additional study aids in the Law Library's collection can be found through the Library's Study Aids guide.
Online:
Note: When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
- Aspen Learning Library includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides.
- LexisNexis Digital Library includes the Understanding and Q&A series.
Print:
- Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours.
- Older print editions may be found in the Law Library stacks.
The Law of Torts: Examples and Explanations, 6th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Provides an introduction to concepts followed by realistic examples that mirror those presented in the classroom, corresponding hypothetical fact patterns, and analysis.
Understanding Torts, 6th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Covers intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation, and invasion of privacy.
Emanuel CrunchTime for Torts, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides flow charts, capsule summary, exam tips, short-answer questions and answers, multi-state questions and answers, and essay exam questions & answers.
Emanuel Law Outlines: Torts, 10th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Features a quiz yourself and essay Q & A, exam tips, and the capsule summary providing a quick review of the key concepts.
The Forms and Functions of Tort Law, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Analyzes cases and their implications, presenting the law of torts within a curricular context and covering the materials that law students are likely to encounter in a variety of courses.
Torts in a Nutshell, 7th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Discusses tort liability, physical harm, tort and contract, immunities, and injuries to other interests.
Toxic Torts in a Nutshell, 6th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Introduces the study of toxic torts and identifies the theories of liability related to both toxic products and environmental pollution.
Glannon Guide to Torts: Learning Torts Through Multiple-Choice Questions and Analysis, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
The purpose of this book is to assist first year law students in mastering the subject of torts through the tool of multiple-choice questions.
Advanced Torts in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Discusses major areas of tort law typically included in advanced torts courses and casebooks, such as defamation, invasion of privacy torts, malicious prosecution, wrongful death, actions for injuries to family relationships, and economic torts.
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses.
A Concise Restatement of Torts, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
An abridgement of the American Law Institute's Restatement of Torts (2nd and 3rd).
The Law of Torts by - This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive overview of tort and injury law, including liability for physical injuries, as well as emotional, dignitary, and economic harms.
Principles of Tort Law, 4th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Discusses theories of liability and defenses, problems in causation and limitation of liability, the tort liability of publishers, valuing the interests, and tort law and its neighbors.- Understanding Torts, 6th ed. by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include intentional torts, privileges, negligence, cause-in-fact, proximate cause, defenses, joint and several liability, damages, strict liability, products liability, economic torts, malicious prosecution, abuse of process, defamation, and invasion of privacy
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying specific property topics like adverse possession, basic future interests, easements, covenants, etc.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.
Black's Law Dictionary
Black's Law Dictionary 11th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms.
