National Security Law Resources
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Primary Sources
Session Laws:
-
United States Statutes at Large (Stat.). HeinOnline
Official version of bound volumes containing public and private laws of Congress. These bound volumes contain the official statement of the law. Print Location: Burns (2nd floor) KF50 .U5 -
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (U.S.C.C.A.N.) Westlaw
Unofficial version of the United States Statutes at Large. Laws are published chronologically. U.S.C.C.A.N. has two parts--volumes containing the text of the public laws and volumes containing selected legislative history information and documents. Monthly pamphlets contain federal statutes, arranged by public law number, which have been enacted within the previous two months. U.S.C.C.A.N. also contains cumulative subject indexes and popular name tables. Print Location: Burns (2nd floor) KF48 .W45
Codified Laws:
-
United States Code (U.S.C.) HeinOnline
Official Code of federal laws. Completely revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. NOTE: Title 50 underwent an editorial reclassification effective May 20, 2013. See Office of Law Revision Counsel summary. Print Location: Burns (2nd floor), KF62 2018. -
United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.) Westlaw
Unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version. Updated with annual supplements called "pocket parts" and periodic supplemental pamphlets. Extensive annotations following the code section provide citations to court cases, federal regulations, law review articles, and legislative history documents. Print Location: Burns (2nd floor), KF62.5 .W45 -
United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.) LexisAdvance
Unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version. Updated with annual supplements called "pocket parts" and periodic supplemental pamphlets. Extensive annotations following the code section provide citations to court cases, federal regulations, law review articles, and legislative history documents. Print Location: Burns (2nd Floor), KF62.5 .L38
Regulatory Resources
- Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The Federal Register is the official publication for notifying the public of federal agency rulemaking. Both proposed and final rules are published in the Federal Register. In addition to agency rules, the Federal Register also contains executive orders, official notices, proclamations and other presidential documents, and other documents required to be published by law. The Federal Register is printed daily except for federal holidays. - Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The CFR is the codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. The C.F.R. is divided into 50 titles (which do not correspond to the 50 titles of the U.S. Code). Each title is further subdivided into chapters, parts, and sections. Individual parts contain an "Authority" note providing the statutory or executive authority under which the regulations were issued and a "Source" note providing a Federal Register citation where the part was originally published.
Treaties
- League of Nations Treaty Series (L.N.T.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Compilation of treaties concluded by member states during the League of Nations' 27 year existence. (U.S. may or may not be a party). - Treaties and Other International Acts Series (T.I.A.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Pamphlet or "slip" publication of treaties published by the State Department. These consecutively numbered treaties are later compiled into the official bound compilation, United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.). - United Nations Treaty Series (U.N.T.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. The most comprehensive collection of international agreements available in print. Compiled by the Secretariat of the United Nations, this set now numbers over 2400 volumes. (U.S. may or may not be a party). - United States Statutes at Large (Stat.)
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication. Before the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements series began publication in 1950, Statutes at Large was the source for official texts of U.S. treaties. - United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (U.S.T.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official Publication. Official bound compilation of U.S. treaties published by the State Department.
Legislative History
The following are sources of a law's legislative history:
- ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Legislative Histories (1969-present); Congressional Reports (1819-present); Congressional Hearings (published and unpublished) (1824-present); Congressional Committee Prints (1830-present); U.S. Congressional Serial Set and American State Papers from 1789-1969; and CRS Reports (1916-present). Also contains member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data. - ProQuest Legislative Insight
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Federal legislative history service providing full-text digital access to Congressional publications created during the legislative process leading up to the enactment of a U.S. Public Law. - U.S. Federal Legislative History Library (HeinOnline)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. - Legislative History resources
This link opens in a new window
USCCAN (U.S. Code Congressional & Administrative News) and some compiled U.S. GAO Federal Legislative Histories are available. - Legislative Histories
This link opens in a new window
Limited federal legislative materials available. Searchable by topic area.
