Military Justice Research
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Specialized Journals & Collections
- Military Law Secondary Sources
This link opens in a new window
Law reviews, texts, CLE course materials, bar journals, and legal practice-oriented periodicals that relate to veterans and the armed forces and militia. - All Military & Veterans Law Reviews and Journals
This link opens in a new window
Military law reviews and national security law-related law reviews. - Air Force Law Review
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- The Army Lawyer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Military Law Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Naval Law Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Naval War College Review
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- The Reporter
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles Databases
Search the following databases for scholarly articles and reports, or see our A to Z list of databases available to GW Law faculty and students.
- Academic Search Complete
This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887. - AULIMP
- This link opens in a new window
Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals. Covers significant articles, news items, and editorials appearing in English-language military and aeronautical periodicals. - Declassified Documents Reference System
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries. - Digital Commons (BePress)
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Commons Network brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. - Google Scholar
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and links to articles available in various articles databases at GW. - International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. - Law Reviews & Journals
- This link opens in a new window
- Law Reviews, Texts & Bar Journals
- This link opens in a new window
- Legal Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text database for law journals. Includes all of the content from Index to Legal Periodicals plus additional titles. - LegalTrac
- This link opens in a new window
Index of articles in law reviews, law journals, and legal newspapers (1980 to date). Covers U.S., British Commonwealth, and E.U. law-related topics. - Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and selected full-text coverage for hundreds of journals and periodicals that offer news and analysis regarding the U.S. military. - National Security Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 24 thematic collections. - Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus access only for GW Law patrons. Has briefs from the US Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces (from 2012-) and opinions from military and veterans claims courts as well as statutes, regulations, manuals for court-martials, and law review articles. - ProQuest Research Library Plus
- This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals - SSRN
- This link opens in a new window
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) provides abstracts and some full-text working papers or accepted papers. One eLibrary is the National Security & Foreign Relations Law eJournal. - SSRN: Veterans & Military Law & Policy eJournal
- This link opens in a new window
Legal Scholarship Network (LSN) Subject Matter eJournal - Veterans & Military Law & Policy eJournal
Case Law Sources
- West's Military Justice Reporter
This link opens in a new window
Location: SL3 KF7605.A2 W4 - Military Court Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Military Justice Cases has cases from the military appellate courts, with coverage beginning in 1951. - United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Army Court of Criminal Appeals
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Coast Guard Court of Criminal Appeals
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Navy-Marine Court of Criminal Appeals
- This link opens in a new window
- United States Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
- This link opens in a new window
- Office of Military Commissions
- This link opens in a new window
- Court-Martial Reports (1951-1976)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Holdings and Decisions of the Judge Advocates General Boards of Review and United States Court of Military Appeals - Court-Martial Reports of the Judge Advocate General of the Air Force (1949-1951)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Note: Off-campus access only for GW Law patrons. Has briefs from the US Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces (2012- ) and opinions from military and veterans claims courts. Earliest coverage from 1951.
Deciphering Acronyms and Abbreviations
United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces (C.A.A.F.), previously United States Court of Military Appeals (C.M.A.)
Military Service Courts of Criminal Appeals, previously Courts of Military Review (e.g., A.C.M.R.), previously Boards of Review (e.g., A.B.R.)
- Army Ct. Crim. App.
- A.F. Ct. Crim. App.
- C.G. Ct. Crim. App.
- N-M. Ct. Crim. App.
Reference Sources:
- Military Citation Guide (10th ed., 2005)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Department of the Army Pamphlet 27-50-388, published in 2005 Army Lawyer 7. - Office of Military Commissions Glossary
- This link opens in a new window
- Department of Defense (DOD) Dictionary of Military and Associated Terms
- This link opens in a new window
Updated: June 2020 - Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations
- This link opens in a new window
Locations: Ready Reference & Reserve (1st floor) KF246 .B46 2017 - Prince's Dictionary of Legal Citations
- This link opens in a new window
Location: Ready Reference (1st floor) KF246 .B45 2017 - Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
- This link opens in a new window
- World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations
- This link opens in a new window
Location: Ready Reference (1st floor) K89 .K38