Help Searching JACOB

JACOB is the Law Library's catalog, which includes books and journals. Search JACOB to find books and journals -- not articles -- in the collection of the Jacob Burns Law Library.

JACOB+ includes the GW Law Library's catalog as well as other materials and selected articles to which the Library has access. Please note that JACOB+ does not include all content from every database to which the Library subscribes, nor does it include articles that law students have access through GW's Gelman or Himmelfarb libraries. We recommend that you also search directly in the relevant research databases (for example, HeinOnline, Westlaw, Lexis) and consult our research guides.

Review our Tips for Searching to efficiently locate materials, including how to use the "Advanced Search" feature.

If you cannot find what you're looking for in JACOB, you may borrow items from the WRLC (Washington Research Library Consortium), place an Interlibrary Loan request, or suggest a purchase for the Law Library.

And be sure to Ask Us or visit us at the reference desk. We're here to help you succeed!

From the search box on the Law Library's site, select Course Reserves. You can search by your GW Law professor's last name, the course name, or the course number to locate items for the class that they have placed on reserve at the Circulation Desk in the Library.

WorldCat Discovery is the best database to search for items that must be obtained through our interlibrary loan (ILL) system. Items are searched in thousands of libraries worldwide. When the item is located, click on "request from interlibrary loan" and the ILL request will auto-populate with the item information.

The Washington Research Library Consortium (WRLC) is a consortium of libraries (American, Catholic, Gallaudet, George Mason, George Washington, Georgetown, Howard, Marymount, and University of the District of Columbia) that includes the law and medical libraries at each institution. Find items in the collections of those libraries using a keyword, title, author, call number and/or subject search.

Under the "How to Get It" section, click on "CLS Request" and complete the request form. In the request form, the pickup location should be for the "George Washington University Jacob Burns Law Library."