Federal Courts
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- Federal Practice & Procedure (Wright & Miller)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Moore's Federal Practice - Civil
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- Moore's Federal Practice - Criminal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Practice Materials
- Moore's Manual: Federal Practice and Procedure
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed for practitioners, an abridged version of the complete Moore's Federal Practice treatise. - Supreme Court Practice: for practice in the Supreme Court of the United States
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Federal Courts: Rules
Subscription/Account required:
- Bloomberg Law: Find Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
Search court rules by jurisdiction. Also provides links to the national federal rules of practice and procedure. - Lexis: Federal Rules Annotated
- This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: Statutes & Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: Federal Local Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
Free sources:
- U.S. Courts: Current Rules of Practice & Procedure
This link opens in a new window
Provides "links to the national federal rules and forms in effect, as well as local rules (which are required to be consistent with the national rules) prescribed by district courts and courts of appeal." - Supreme Court of the United States: Rules and Guidance
- This link opens in a new window
Provides links to the current Rules of the Supreme Court, Historical Rules, and Guides for Counsel.
Directory
- Directory of State and Federal Courts, Judges, and Clerks by
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
West Key Number System
A West Key Number comprises a topic and a number that together refer to a specific subtopic within the broader legal topic. It is a very helpful classification system for researching case law using either Westlaw or one of their print digests. The same Key Number can be used in any West source.
Use the Federal Courts Key Numbers to find case law in Westlaw concerning the federal courts. Some related topics are covered by other topics and Key Numbers, including Federal Civil Procedure. Click the "i" icon next to the legal topic to see what subjects are covered and excluded in that legal topic.
Lexis Topics
Once in Lexis, click the "Topics" and then "Civil Procedure." Lexis also has a Civil Procedure practice area.