Professional Responsibility & Ethics
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Ethics Resources
- ABA/Bloomberg Law Lawyers’ Manual on Professional Conduct
This link opens in a new window
- ABA Center for Professional Responsibility
This link opens in a new window
Some materials restricted to American Bar Association (ABA) members. - Legal Ethics Materials
This link opens in a new window
- Lexis Practice Area: Legal Ethics
- This link opens in a new window
- Secondary Sources: ABA Ethics & Professional Responsibility
This link opens in a new window
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- ABA/BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains all Bloomberg BNA Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct materials, including ABA ethics opinions, current reports index, ethics opinion index, model rules and standards, practice guide index, practice guides, and state ethics opinions. 
Law of Lawyering- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Shows how to approach concrete problems that arise in everyday practice while staying within the letter and spirit of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct.- Judicial Conduct and Ethics
- This link opens in a new window
Analyzes every type of accountable action, including judicial demeanor and conduct, ex parte communications, case management and administrative imperatives, financial activities and disclosure, civic and charitable activities, and election and political activities. - The Law of Law Firms
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analyzes the legal and ethical issues affecting the management and operation of law firms and their lawyers. - Legal Malpractice
- This link opens in a new window
Discusses malpractice, prevention, and insurance issues.
Restatements
Produced by the prestigious American Law Institute, Restatements of the Law address uncertainty in the law and attempt to clarify, modernize, and otherwise improve the law.
- Restatement of the Law, third : The Law Governing Lawyers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers the common law applicable to the legal profession: regulation of the profession; the client-lawyer relationship, including the financial and property relationship; lawyer civil liability; confidential client information; representing clients, especially in litigation; and conflict of interest.
Case Law
- Attorneys & Legal Services Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Ethics Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Legal Ethics & Professional Responsibility Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Legal Ethics Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Case Law guide
- This link opens in a new window
The Library's Case Law guide provides links to federal and state court reporters.
Practice Materials
Additional practice materials can be located using JACOB, the Library's catalog.
Legal Ethics - The Lawyer's Deskbook on Professional Responsibility- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A Civility-Based Model for New Lawyers by - This link opens in a new window
Stresses the critical behavioral qualities that will help or hinder their ability to credibly undertake the client's issues.
Mediation Ethics by - This link opens in a new window
Each chapter provides a careful examination of a topic related to the practice of mediation and suggests ethical guidelines grounded in ethical theory, codes of conduct for mediators, and mediator ethics advisory committees' (MEAC) opinions.
Professional Responsibility in Litigation, 3d ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Addressing the numerous and significant professional responsibility challenges in litigation, this compendium traces the ethical issues in the life of a lawsuit from start to finish.
Blogs
Many legal scholars post articles on blogs and law blogs, sometimes referred to as "blawgs."
- Bloomberg Law: News
- This link opens in a new window
Next to the "Sources/Source Directory" box, click on "Browse."
Select: Web Sources > Alternative Web Content > Blog Web Content - Justia BlawgSearch
- This link opens in a new window
- LawProfessorBlogs.com
- This link opens in a new window
- Lexis: News: Blogs
- This link opens in a new window
- Westlaw: News: Blogs
- This link opens in a new window