Criminal Procedure
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
About Criminal Procedure
"The rules governing the mechanisms under which crimes are investigated, prosecuted, adjudicated, and punished. • It includes the protection of accused persons' constitutional rights." (Black's Law Dictionary)
Current Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure
- Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure (U.S. Courts > Current Rules of Practice & Procedure)"The Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure govern criminal proceedings and prosecutions in the U.S. district courts, the courts of appeals, and the Supreme Court. Their purpose is to "provide for the just determination of every criminal proceeding, to secure simplicity in procedure and fairness in administration, and to eliminate unjustifiable expense and delay." Fed. R. Crim. P. 2. The original rules were adopted by order of the Supreme Court on December 26, 1944, transmitted to Congress on January 3, 1945, and effective March 21, 1946."
Study Aids
Online access: The GW Law Library provides access to the Aspen Learning Library, which includes the Examples & Explanations series and CrunchTime study guides; and the LexisNexis Digital Library, which includes the Understanding and Q&A series. When prompted to login, use your GW Law email address and password.
Print study aids may be borrowed from the Reserve Collection at the Law Library's Circulation/Reserve Desk for up to 2 hours. Older editions may be found in the Law Library stacks. For more study aids in the Law Library's collection, please consult our Study Aids guide.
Advanced Criminal Procedure in a Nutshell, 3rd ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
This study aid covers post-investigation processing of a criminal case. It includes a clear, concise, and thorough explanation of the issues involved in the prosecution and adjudication of a criminal case, from the decision to prosecute and pre-trial release through to sentencing, appeal and collateral attack.
Criminal Procedure, 3rd ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This study aid will enhance understanding of criminal procedure and sharpen exam skills. There are three comprehensive sample examinations, containing 40 questions each.
Criminal Procedure, Constitutional Limitations in a Nutshell, 9th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This study aid provides a succinct analysis of the constitutional standards of major current significance.
Criminal Procedure: The Constitution and the Police (Examples and Explanations), 10th ed. by 
This link opens in a new window
Study aid that provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
Examples and Explanations for Criminal Procedure II, 5th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
Study aid that provides hypothetical questions complemented by detailed explanations that allow you to test your knowledge of the topics in your courses and compare your own analysis.
The Law and Policy of Sentencing and Corrections in a Nutshell, 11th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This study aid explores a range of sentencing-related topics, including the principal purposes of criminal sentences, restorative justice, guilty pleas and plea bargaining, different ways to structure sentencing systems, procedural rights during sentencing proceedings, sentencing evidence, community-based sentences, the death penalty, Eighth Amendment constraints on sentences in noncapital cases, parole release, probation and parole revocation, and enmeshed penalties. The latter half of the book contains an overview of the constitutional rights of incarcerated people.
Understanding Criminal Procedure, 8th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This study aid is intended for use in introductory criminal procedure courses focusing primarily or exclusively on police investigative process and constitutional concerns. A chapter on the defendant's right to counsel at trial and appeal and other non-police-practice issues is included in both volumes to allow greater flexibility based on the design of particular courses.
Hornbooks
Hornbooks are concise one-volume legal treatises, written primarily for law students on subjects typically covered by law school courses.
Criminal Procedure, 6th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This Hornbook analyzes the law governing all major steps in the criminal justice process, beginning with investigation and ending with post-appeal collateral attacks.
Principles of Criminal Procedure, 7th ed. by - This link opens in a new window
This study aid provides an overview of basic criminal procedure principles. It includes references to recent, relevant decisions handed down by the United States Supreme Court.
Abramson's Principles of Investigative Criminal Procedure by - This link opens in a new window
This study aid provides an overview of the Fourth, Fifth, and Sixth Amendment issues associated with criminal investigations. The materials discuss and analyze the criminal procedure jurisprudence of the United States Supreme Court, with extensive use of primary source material that affects judges, prosecutors, defense counsel, and criminal defendants.
Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
CALI lessons are interactive tutorials written by law professors at CALI member schools. They can be used for studying specific topics.
Ask a Reference Librarian for the GW Law CALI code.