Criminal Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Treatises
Written by legal scholars and practitioners, treatises provide current, in-depth analysis of an area of law and include citations to relevant sources, including case law, statutes, regulations, and law journal articles.
- Wharton's Criminal Law
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Search & Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Substantive Criminal Law
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Search & Seizure
This link opens in a new window
Federal Statutes
Federal criminal laws are codified in Title 18 of the United States Code.
- United States Code (U.S.C.)
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Official Code of federal laws, organized by subject matter. Revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. - United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
West's unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version and includes many research features. - United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis's unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version and includes many research features.
Federal Regulations
Title 28 (Judicial Administration) of the Code of Federal Regulations includes most regulations relating to criminal law.
- Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. - eCFR (Electronic Code of Federal Regulations)
- This link opens in a new window
Currently updated unofficial version of the C.F.R. - Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication of federal agency rulemaking.
Case Law
Topical Reporters and Databases:
- Criminal Law Cases
- This link opens in a new window
- Criminal Law & Procedure Cases
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Case Law Reporters:
- United States Reports (U.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. - West's Supreme Court Reporter (S. Ct.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States, along with headnotes, Key Numbers, and synopses. Unofficial reporter, but current. - United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition (L. Ed., L. Ed. 2d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States, along with summaries, headnotes, and research references. Unofficial reporter, but current. - Federal Reporter (F., F.2d, F.3d, F.4th)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains opinions of the United States Courts of Appeals. - Federal Supplement (F. Supp., F. Supp. 2d, F. Supp. 3d)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains opinions of the United States District Courts.
State Statutes
State laws governing crimes and punishments are found in an individual state's statutory code. To locate state criminal code sections, consult the index to your state's annotated code and look for relevant terms such as crime, crimes, crimes and offenses, criminal, felony, misdemeanor, punishment, etc. and/or words that describe the subject of the crime, such as homicide, burglary, assault, etc.
50-state surveys can provide all states' statutes on a given topic.
- State Laws and Regulations
- This link opens in a new window
- Statutes and Legislation
- This link opens in a new window
- Statutes and Court Rules
- This link opens in a new window
- 50 State Statutory Surveys: Criminal Laws
- This link opens in a new window
- 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations-Criminal Law
- This link opens in a new window
Identity Theft (June 2019) - 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations-Criminal Law
- This link opens in a new window
Commercial Bribery & Corporate Criminal Liability (May 2021) - 50-State Surveys, Statutes & Regulations-Criminal Law
- This link opens in a new window
Human Trafficking (August 2021)
Jury Instructions
- Criminal Jury Instructions
- This link opens in a new window
- Federal Jury Practice & Instructions
- This link opens in a new window
- Jury Instructions
- This link opens in a new window