Government Contracts
Guide to U.S. government contracts law.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Books
- Government Contract Guidebook by
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides a good, basic introduction to the principles and processes of federal government procurement. - Government Contracts: Law, Administration and Procedure by
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This work comprehensively covers all topics relating to government contracts. Citations to cases, statutes, and regulations are provided. 
The Government Contracts Reference Book by - This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Glossary of procurement terms that includes citations to primary and secondary sources.- Government Contract Law: The Deskbook for Procurement Professionals by
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Easy to follow outline of the issues involved in contract formation and contract administration.
(Note: the print version includes additional chapters that are not included in the online version.) 
Principles of Government Contracts by - This link opens in a new window
This title is a continuation of the Government Contracts in a Nutshell titles. It provides a basic, general overview of the law of government contracts.- Administration of Government Contracts by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Foundational treatise on the laws, rules, and procedures relating to all dealings between the government and the contractor from contract award until completion. - Formation of Government Contracts by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Foundational treatise on the laws, rules, and procedures relating to types of contracts, contract planning, negotiations, and cost and accounting rules. - Government Contract Bid Protests: A Practical and Procedural Guide by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Government Contract Costs & Pricing by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Treatise covering the economic aspects of the rules governing contracting with the federal government. - IP and Technology in Government Contracts: Procurement and Partnering at the Federal and State Level by
- This link opens in a new window
- Intellectual Property in Government Contracts by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Court of Federal Claims: Jurisdiction, Practice, and Procedure by
This link opens in a new window
Covers in detail practice before the United States Court of Federal Claims, including procurement related claims.
Journals & Newsletters
- Briefing Papers
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Monthly journal of in-depth articles on topics in government contracting. Includes an annual procurement bibliography listing various articles published during the year. - The Government Contractor
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly newsletter focusing on the legal developments in federal procurement including legislation, cases/decisions, and rules/regulations. - Journal of Contract Management
- This link opens in a new window
Publication by the National Contract Management Association with articles covering a variety of government contracts related topics. - Journal of Public Procurement
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal that covers topics such as procurement policy, contract management, procurement methods and techniques, and performance evaluation. - The Nash & Cibinic Report
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Monthly periodical that provides analysis of government contracts topics by Professor Ralph Nash and Vernon J. Edwards. - The Procurement Lawyer
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ABA quarterly newsletter on current developments in federal, state, and local government procurement. - Public Contract Law Journal
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal published quarterly by the ABA, in cooperation with The George Washington University Law School. - Westlaw Journal Government Contract
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biweekly publication that reports on ongoing procurement litigation and reproduces associated documents.
Finding Legal Scholarly Articles
Legal Periodical Indexes:
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to multilingual articles and book reviews published worldwide. - Legal Source
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles with links to selected full text articles from 1887 through current. Includes access to scholarly articles, yearbooks, bar association publications, book reviews, and case studies. International coverage includes periodicals from the U.S., Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia, and New Zealand. - LegalTrac
- This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles, with links to selected full text. Indexes more than 1,200 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals, and international legal journals.
Full Text Sources:
- Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text law reviews and journals. - HeinOnline's Law Journal Library
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Retrospective and current full text law journals, including bar journals. Contains more than 3,000 law and law-related periodicals. - Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Contains full text law reviews and journals.
Finding Multi-Disciplinary Scholarly Articles
The Gelman Library subscribes to numerous databases that can be used to locate articles relating to government contracts. For information concerning such databases, please see the listing of Database by Subject Area or Gelman Library tutorials on finding journal articles.
- ABI/Inform Collection
- This link opens in a new window
A good source for business research including articles from various magazines and scholarly journals. Contains older issues of the Journal of Contract Management. - Academic Search Complete
- This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides access to thousands of full-text periodicals. - Business Source Ultimate
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text coverage for a range of scholarly business publications, including government contracts related content. - Military & Government Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a variety of different journals, magazines, and reports. Includes many focused on government contracts including Defense Acquisition Magazine, Defense Acquisition Research Journal, and GAO Reports. - ProQuest Central
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to various journals and periodicals pertaining to government contracts.
Form Books
- Government Contracts: Cyclopedic Guide to Law, Administration, Procedure by
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter F contains forms.
Other Publications
- Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS)
- This link opens in a new window
- IBM Center for the Business of Government
- This link opens in a new window
- Project on Government Oversight
- This link opens in a new window
- RAND Corporation
- This link opens in a new window