Case Law
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Dockets Overview
Court dockets contain documents relating to a particular case. When a case is filed, it is assigned a docket number. For example:
2:04-CV-09049-SGL
The docket number generally includes the location of the filing, year that the case was filed, a designation as to the type of case (e.g., civil, criminal), a case number, and the judge's initials. A docket report, maintained for each case, is a chronological list of all documents (briefs, orders, pleadings, etc.) filed with the court. The name of the judge, attorneys, and a list of the parties can also be found in the docket report. Not all dockets are available online. However, some databases do provide varying levels of coverage.
Locating Dockets
Supreme Court Dockets:
- Supreme Court
This link opens in a new window
As of November 13, 2017, all new filings with the court are available for free. - U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs Digital Archive (1832-1978)
This link opens in a new window
Digital collection of more than 240,000 historical U.S. Supreme Court documents. Approximately 150,000 Supreme Court cases are featured, the majority consisting of those for which the Court did not give a full opinion. Transcripts are listed by case name and the date of oral argument. - ProQuest Supreme Court Insight
- This link opens in a new window
An online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including dockets, oral arguments, and amicus briefs.
Federal Court Dockets:
- Bloomberg Law
This link opens in a new window
Provides full coverage of federal court dockets. Documents currently available through the database are pulled from PACER. Any document that requires a court runner is not accessible for students or faculty through the database. - Westlaw
This link opens in a new window
Contains dockets filed in United States District Courts from 2000, United States Courts of Appeal from 1997, United States Bankruptcy Courts, and United States Supreme Court from 2000. - CourtLink
This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of federal court dockets. Search for full text documents and set up alerts. - Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
Select coverage of federal court dockets. - PACER (Public Access to Court Electronic Records)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to dockets from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. Check the 'Billing' page to determine associated costs with using PACER.
State Court Dockets:
Coverage of state dockets in subscription databases is limited. Some court websites provide free access to their dockets.
- Bloomberg Law
- This link opens in a new window
Selective coverage from 38 states and the District of Columbia. - Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Selective coverage from 38 states and the District of Columbia. - CourtLink
- This link opens in a new window
Selective state court coverage. - Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
Selective state court coverage.
Bluebook Rules
Scholarly Articles:
- Rule 10.8.3 - Briefs, Court Filings, and Transcripts
Court Documents & Legal Memoranda:
- B17 - Court and Litigation Documents