International Law Research Resources
A research guide to selected sources in public international law available at the Burns Law Library.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Introduction
The following resources on this page provide access to current news about specific developments in international law and foreign relations.
General News Sources
- Jurist
This link opens in a new window
Legal news service reporting on the latest developments in both international and domestic legal news. - New York Times
- This link opens in a new window
Leading national newspaper that covers both domestic and international news. - Washington Post
- This link opens in a new window
Leading newspaper that reports on U.S. and international foreign affairs. - UN Dispatch
- This link opens in a new window
UN Dispatch is a site providing commentary and coverage on the UN and UN-related issues.
Blogs Covering International Law
- International Law Prof Blog
- This link opens in a new window
A Member of the Law Professor Blogs Network. - International Law Reporter
- This link opens in a new window
Published by Professor Jacob Katz Cogan (Associate Dean of Faculty and Judge Joseph P. Kinneary Professor of Law, University of Cincinnati College of Law), ILR provides notices of scholarship, conferences, calls for papers, and like subject matter. - Opinio Juris
- This link opens in a new window
Opinio Juris was the world’s first blog dedicated to informed discussion of international law by and among academics, practitioners and legal experts. - United Nations Foundation Blog
- This link opens in a new window
The UN Foundation is the go-to partner for the United Nations, bringing together the ideas, people, and resources it needs to drive global progress and tackle urgent problems.
Other International Law Current Awareness Sources
- ASIL Insights
- This link opens in a new window
ASIL Insights purposes to provide concise, objective, and timely background for recent developments of interest to the international community. - Council on Foreign Relations
- This link opens in a new window
The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members and beyond. - Library of Congress Global Legal Monitor
- This link opens in a new window
An online publication from the Law Library of Congress covering legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources. - International Law in Brief
- This link opens in a new window
A forum that provides updates on current developments in international law from the editors of ASIL's International Legal Materials.
Gelman Library News Sources
Note: Content and coverage information is available through the "Subject Databases" link on the Gelman Library web site.
- Newsbank: Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Find full-text articles from over 700 international sources. (Use: Newsbank FAQ.) - Financial Times
- This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times is one of the world’s leading news organizations, recognized internationally for its authority, integrity and accuracy. Financial Times is a part of a larger news conglomerate that provides a broad range of information, news and services for the global business community. (Click here for help searching the Financial Times.) - Foreign Affairs
This link opens in a new window
Foreign Affairs exposes its readers to expert foreign policy analysis. In addition to in-depth news coverage and highly sought columns not available in print, other content includes essays, book reviews and reading lists. Its publisher describes Foreign Affairs as the best way to understand global affairs. - Wall Street Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to WSJ through a ProQuest search platform, coverage from Jan 2, 1984 - present. (Click here for help navigating the ProQuest search engine.)
