International Law Research Resources

This is the ninth edition of Sir Ian Brownlie's classic distillation of public international law. Serving as a single volume introduction to the field as a whole, the book seeks to present international law as a system that is based on (and helps structure) relations among states and other entities at the international level. It aims to identify the constituent elements of that system in a clear and accessible fashion.This edition, fully updated by James Crawford, Whewell Professor of International Law at the University of Cambridge, continues to provide the balance, clarity and expertise expected from this classic text. Completely updated to take account of the many areas of expansion and development in international law which have occurred since earlier editions, all chapters have been reviewed and brought up to date. The ninth edition features ICJ decisions, recent decisions on the law of the sea as well as senior national courts, recent International Law Commission work, and much more.

International Law: Examples & Explanations begins with an introduction to the main principles of international law and its sources, explains the status of the various actors operative in international law, analyzes international dispute mechanisms, and broadly covers more specific areas of international law, including International Human Rights, International Criminal Law, Law of the Sea, International Environmental Law, and more.

A leading figure in the field, Antonio Cassese's International Law provides a stimulating and authoritative account of international law. It has been fully revised and updated to include all recent developments in the subject, and contains a new chapter on terrorism as well as extensive revision of the section on state responsibility. Providing a comprehensive commentary on international law as a whole, it compares the traditional legal position with the developing and evolving law in a way that is sensitive to political and economic considerations, as well as including detailed yet accessible examinations of state responsibility and international criminal law. This new edition takes full advantage of his extensive experience to provide a more personal approach to the subject than is typically found in the standard textbook.

International Law is the definitive and authoritative text on the subject. It has long been established as a leading authority in the field, offering an unbeatable combination of clarity of expression and academic rigour, ensuring understanding and analysis in an engaging and authoritative style. Explaining the leading rules, practice and case law, this treatise retains and develops the detailed referencing which encourages and assists the reader in further study.

This fully-updated third edition provides a comprehensive survey of public international law, with useful references throughout to current events, classic and contemporary cases and scholarship. It is designed as a stand-alone text or as a complement to all the major casebooks on the topic. The first part of the book addresses how international law is created, interpreted and enforced; the second part focuses on the interface of international law and national law; and the final part covers key subject matter areas: human rights, injury to aliens, the law of the sea, international environmental law, international criminal law, and the use of force.

This Sixth Edition of Public International Law in a Nutshell is a concise yet accurate summary of the field of public international law, covering its basic sources, actors, and procedures, and key subject matter areas, such as human rights, the law of the sea, international environmental law, the law of war, and U.S. foreign relations law. This edition is fully updated to include recent treaties, institutions, and Supreme Court decisions.

The Routledge Handbook of International Law provides a definitive global survey of the interaction of international politics and international law. Each chapter is written by a leading expert and provides a state of the art overview of the most significant areas within the field. This highly topical collection of specially commissioned papers from both established authorities and rising stars is split into four key sections: The Nature of International Law including the interaction between the disciplines of International Law and International Relations The Evolution of International Law progressing from the ancient world to present day. Law and Power in International Society discussing topical issues such as the war in Iraq and the international criminal court Key Issues in International Law including international refugee law, indigenous rights, intellectual property, trade and the challenges presented by "new terrorism". A comprehensive survey of the state of the discipline, The Routledge Handbook of International Law is an essential work of reference for scholars and practitioners of international Law.

This new edition of Hugh Thirlway's authoritative text provides an introduction to one of the fundamental questions of the discipline: what is, and what is not, a source of international law. Traditionally, treaties between states and state practice were seen as the primary means with which tocreate international law. However, more recent developments have recognized customary international law, alongside international treaties and instruments, as a key foundation upon which international law is built. This book provides an insightful inquiry into all the recognized, or asserted, sourcesof international law.It investigates the impact of ethical principles on the creation of international law; whether "soft law" norms come into being through the same sources as binding international law; and whether jus cogens norms, and those involving rights and obligations erga omnes have a unique place in thecreation of international legal norms. It studies the notion of "general principles of international law" within international law's sub-disciplines, and the evolving relationship between treaty-based law and customary international law. Re-examining the traditional model, it investigates theincreasing role of international jurisprudence, and looks at the nature of international organisations and non-state actors as potential new sources of international law. This revised and updated book provides a perfect introduction to the law of sources, as well as innovative perspectives on newdevelopments, making it essential reading for anyone studying or working in international law.

Professor David J. Bederman's new text offers a concise and analytic guide to the intricacies of international law, as understood and appreciated by a leading authority. Incisive and irreverent, International Law Frameworks provides a broad overview of all important aspects of the subject, as well as in-depth consideration of the key cases, crucial treaties and essential documents. In addition to considering traditional topics (including sources of international law, the role of States, and the management of international conflict), the book focuses particularly on newly-emerging issue areas (such as human rights, the international environment and economy), as well as the application of international law rules in the U.S. Well-written and accessible to all readers, this volume should be indispensable to students, practitioners and researchers. Book jacket.

This Second Edition presents extensive excerpts from the treaties of more than 420 international agreements in an elegantly accessible format. Divided into chronological chapters ranging from ancient Mesopotamia to the present, each chapter begins with a summary of the important trends and events in international relations of the era. Entries on specific agreements follow, with each containing the date of the document's signing, a list of signatory nations, the leading negotiators, and key terms. A narrative discussion outlines the historical context, identifies the essential positions of the signatories, and summarizes the document's significance. In addition to treaties that concluded wars, the book includes treaties on the environment, armaments, trade, human rights, scientific exploration, and many other concerns. The new edition of Encyclopedia of Historical Treaties and Alliances includes 20 new multilateral treaties and conventions, taking into account the transition in the orientation of U.S. foreign policy that was ushered in with the administration of George W. Bush. A new chapter called ""International Threats, Global Opportunities"" begins with a thematic and historical overview followed by nine new treaties. In addition, sources for all treaty documents have been added, making it easy to cite information.

The five volumes of this encyclopaedia contain approximately 1300 articles on all important international legal problems and institutions, as well as the major decisions of international courts and tribunals. The articles are presented with supplementary notes and bibliographical references.

Thoroughly rewritten and revised, this new edition provides nearly 6,000 A-Z entries that shed light on this complex institution. In addition to articles explaining essential concepts and philosophies, readers will find an all-new set of entries on peace-keeping activities, along with full coverage of every international treaty since the founding of the League of Nations, with generous quotations or full text for all key treaties, conventions, pacts, protocols, and declarations. Extensive cross-referencing and a thorough analytical index help users to navigate the many acronyms and multiple names of documents and organizations. Endorsed with a foreword by current U.N. Secretary-General Kofi Annan, this is the most comprehensive, detailed reference to the U.N. ever published.

An outstanding desktop tool, the Dictionary of International and Comparative Law is ideal for anyone seeking clear, concise definitions of terminology found in the practice of international and comparative law. This expanded and indispensable guide includes many entries which cannot be found in any other source. Indisputably the largest dictionary on this subject in print, with over 5,000 entries, 20% of the definitions are revised and enhanced and 500 new entries appear in this edition for the first time. Recognizing the influence of world events, terminology arising from acts of terrorism, such as the attack on the World Trade Center, and the subsequent escalating focus on the war on terrorism comprise many of the new entries.

The system of public international law has reached a major turning point in its history and is confronting serious challenges generated by a variety of developments unfolding in the structure of the international society. This Dictionary acquaints legal and other professionals, students, and interested general readers with the basic tenets of public international law, combining the features of both a brief encyclopedic dictionary and a textbook in clear, understandable language. A list of acronyms and abbreviations; a glossary of Latin phrases; a chronology that offers a historical perspective by listing major developments relating to international law throughout the centuries; a table of cases with references to entries; and a list of the 373 entries precede the main text.

entries For nearly thirty-five years, the international legal community has relied on one ambitious yet humble volume as a starting point for legal questions. This classic red volume is a one-of-a-kind reference tool that brings together both terminology and pertinent descriptive informationon international law. This book will also be available online as an e-reference on the Oxford University Press Digital Reference Shelf.Now in its third edition, The Parry and Grant Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law is completely updated and expanded to include increased coverage in growing areas of international law including diplomatic law, criminal law, human rights, and more. Over 2,500 entries (an over 20% increasein content over the previous edition) provides the reader with copious references for further research including cases, treaties, journal articles, and websites.Its alphabetically arranged entries allow the reader to form a deeper understanding than a mere definition could supply and offer concise but substantial information on such essentials of international law as: Legal terms as used in international law, significant doctrines, prominent cases, decisions and arbitration, important incidents, judicial and literary figures, treaties and conventions, organizations and institutions, and acronyms.

Significant use has been made of the jurisprudence of the International Court of Justice because it is the principle judicial organ of the world's most universal international organization, the United Nations. Moreover, article 103 of the Charter of the United Nations makes the obligations in this treaty superior any other treaty obligations into which States may enter. The Dictionary of Public International Law contains a chronology, an introduction, glossary of Foreign Terms, tables of Treaties and Cases, an extensive bibliography, and an index. The dictionary section has over 400 cross-referenced entries on significant persons, important treaties and conventions, organizations and tribunals, and important cases and issues they have dealt with. This book is an excellent resource for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about international law.