United Nations Research
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Introduction to the International Court of Justice:
The International Court of Justice (ICJ), the main judicial body of the United Nations, was established in 1945 as a product of the drafting of the Charter of the United Nations. The Court’s constitutive statute was subsequently annexed to the Charter. All members of the U.N. are ipso facto parties to the statute of the Court ( See Art. 93(1), UN Charter). A state which is not a member of the U.N. may become a party to the Statute of the ICJ on conditions determined by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council. (See Art . 93(2), UN Charter).
The Court has both advisory and contentious jurisdiction. Under Article 96 of the U.N. Charter the "General Assembly or the Security Council may request the International Court of Justice to give an advisory opinion on any legal question." In addition, "other organs of the United Nations and specialized agencies, which may at any time be so authorized by the General Assembly, may also request advisory opinions of the Court on legal questions arising within the scope of their activities." (Art. 96(2), UN Charter).
Under its contentious jurisdiction (cases between states’ parties), the Court may hear cases "which the parties refer to it and all matters specially provided for in the Charter of the United Nations or in treaties and conventions in force." (Art. 36(1) of the Statute of the ICJ). While under Article 59 of the Statute of the Court, decisions have no binding force except between the parties, the Court’s rulings are authoritative statements of international law and are widely cited both by the Court itself, and by international law scholars.
The Jacob Burns Law Library receives the opinions of the ICJ as well as the pleadings, oral arguments and other documents issued by the Court during their deliberations in print. Also, databases such as HeinOnline, International Law Reports (via vLexJustis), and Oxford Reports on International Law also include their decisions. Also, many secondary sources are available that describe in detail the procedures of the Court and critically analyze its jurisprudence. Search JACOB to identify them. The ICJ’s website provides information and documentation regarding pending and past cases before the Court. The site includes docket information, court documents, case summaries, and rules of the court.
Guides to ICJ Practice and Procedure
Counterclaims Before the International Court of Justice by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6287 .A58 2011Counterclaims, the right of a State sued by another State to bring its own counter-suit in the course of the same trial, may offer an opportunity to mitigate the effects of the original suit and help to resolve disputes between States that have more than one aspect. In recent years, counterclaims have been frequently presented at the International Court of Justice (ICJ).This book examines the counterclaims presented at the ICJ and at its predecessor, the Permanent Court of International Justice (PCIJ), during its 65 years of existence.
The Elgar Companion to the International Court of Justice by - This link opens in a new window
The first in a series of Companions that offer broad coverage of a range of international courts and tribunals, The Elgar Companion to the International Court of Justice is a one-stop reference for those wishing to understand this highly significant and successful Court. The Companion offers an objective account of how the ICJ came into being, the general principles on which it was founded, and how it functions today. It addresses certain fundamental aspects of the Court, such as its jurisdiction, structure and jurisprudence, as well as its role in the wider world.
Evidence Before the International Court of Justice by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6287 .R53 2009Some recent contentious issues about the use of evidence in cases before the International Court of Justice have highlighted the importance of fact-finding and the use of evidence before this Court. This major study on the issue of evidence before the International Court of Justice has examined all aspects of the Court's relationship with facts - in both contentious and advisory proceedings - from the recently refined procedure for submitting late evidence, to the hearing of live witness testimony in the Peace Palace. This book examines the history and development of the treatment of evidence, and not only provides an academic discussion of the subject, but also acts as a guide to practitioners appearing before the Court.
The International Court of Justice: An Arbitral Tribunal or a Judicial Body? by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .F67 2014The International Court of Justice is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations, and epitomizes the very notion of international judicial institution. Yet, it decides inter-State disputes only with the parties' consent. This makes it more similar to international arbitral tribunals than other international courts. However, the permanent nature of the Court, the predetermination of procedural rules by the Statute and the Rules of Court, the public character of proceedings, the opportunity for third States to intervene in a case under Articles 62 and 63 of the Statute and the Court's role as the principal judicial organ of the United Nations mark a structural difference between the ICJ and non-institutionalized international arbitral tribunals.
The International Court of Justice and the Judicial Function by - This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .H47 2014This book evaluates the concept of the function of law through the prism of the International Court of Justice. It goes beyond a conventional analysis of the Court's case law and applicable law, to consider the compromise between supranational order and state sovereignty that lies at the heart of its institutional design. It argues that this compromise prevents the Court from playing a progressive role in the development of international law. Instead, it influences the international legal order in more subtle ways, in particular, in shaping understanding of the nature or form of the international legal order as a whole. The book concludes that the role of the Court is not to advance some universal conception of international law but rather to decide the cases before it in the best possible way within its institutional limits, while remaining aware of law's deeper theoretical foundations.
The Law and Procedure of the International Court of Justice by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .T44 2013This book provides a complete overview into the work of the International Court of Justice in the last twenty years. Since 1989, the author, a former Principal Legal Secretary to the International Court of Justice, contributed frequent articles on this subject to the British Yearbook of International Law continuing the work begun by Sir Gerald Fitzmaurice in 1950. This work brings together these articles in one place for the first time, with extensive cross-references, and a thorough index and tables, making it more accessible than ever. This collection addresses all of the areas of international law that the International Court of Justice has addressed with depth and nuance. The topics considered include general principles of law, sources of law, treaty interpretation, substantive issues such as the law of the sea, state sovereignty, and state responsibility, questions of jurisdiction and competence, and questions of the Court's procedure.
Modernizing the Role of the International Court of Justice by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .R36 2022This book discusses the future role of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) in a world facing survival challenges. It discusses threats such as climate change, environmental degradation and pandemics, and argues that in the future the ICJ will need to carry out judicial, security and protection functions as it is the only organ of the United Nations (UN) that can discharge such functions in view of its independence and expertise.
The Role of the International Court of Justice as the Principal Judicial Organ of the United Nations by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .A48 2003The Role of the International Court of Justice as the Principal Judicial Organ of the United Nations is a thought-provoking and valuable addition to the existing literature on the ICJ. The book's originality lies in that it provides both the student and practitioner of international law and relations with a comprehensive evaluation of important but hitherto neglected aspects of the work of the World Court: its contribution to the functioning of the UN system; its role in interpreting and developing the institutional law of the UN and in clarifying its purposes and principles, particularly in the settlement of international disputes; the Court's advisory and contentious competencies and their interrelationship as well as the extent of its supervisory powers over decisions emanating from other UN organs such as the Security Council.
Rosenne's Law and Practice of the International Court: 1920-2015 (4 Volume Set) by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .R67 2016 (Reserve, 1st floor)The popularity of his monumental and definitive works established Shabtai Rosenne as the undisputed expert on the International Court of Justice's law and practice of his time. Irrefutably the leading work on the Court, previous editions of Rosenne's Law and Practice of the International Court have influenced generations of legal scholars, practitioners, judges, and students alike. The Fifth Edition, by Malcolm N. Shaw, combines his expertise as both an academic and practitioner to bring this monumental resource up-to-date while retaining Rosenne's distinctive voice, erudition, and rigorous objectives.
Rosenne's the World Court by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6275 .R66 2003 (Reserve, 1st floor)As was true for previous editions of this book, the present edition offers the non-specialist reader: the politician, diplomat, journalist or student of international law and relations a guide and introduction to the International Court of Justice; what it is and how it works.The step by step explanation of how a case is tried is still based on the Military and Paramilitary Activities in and against Nicaragua case, due to the fact that virtually every procedural situation that exists played a role in that case, as well as to the continuing influence of that case on the role of the Court.However, much has happened since the last edition appeared in 1995. The Court has experienced the most active period in its history, and this new edition takes full account of the Court s activities and efforts to adapt itself to the new requirements and challenges of the present century.
The Statute of the International Court of Justice by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ6277.S83 2019 (Reserve, 1st floor)This landmark publication in the field of international law delivers expert assessment of new developments in the important work of the International Court of Justice (ICJ) from a team of renowned editors and commentators. The ICJ is the principal judicial organ of the United Nations and playsa central role in both the peaceful settlement of international disputes and the development of international law. This comprehensive Commentary on the Statute of the International Court of Justice, now in its third edition, analyses in detail not only the Statute of the Court itself but also therelated provisions of the United Nations Charter as well as the relevant provisions of the Court's Rules of Procedure.
The World Court Reference Guide and Case-Law Digest: Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders of the International Court of Justice (2001-2010) and Case-Law Digest (1992-2010) by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ213 .W68 2014 (Also Available Online)This single-volume comprehensive and systematic overview of procedural and organizational aspects of the jurisprudence of the World Court covers the period from 2001 to 2010 and includes case-law digests from 1992 to 2010; it identifies analytical patterns on various procedural judicial and non-judicial matters for the first time. The volume offers: Statements of initial claims as well as counter-claims of the contentious cases; summarized details of all orders as well as the duration of the oral and written proceedings; summaries and headnotes, texts of the operative and final paragraphs of all judicial decisions, the composition of the Court and declarations and opinions of its Members; systematic reference on Sources of Law; coverage of the composition of the Litigation teams, and much more.
The International Criminal Court and the Responsibility to Protect by - This link opens in a new window
This book examines the parallel development and interaction between the International Criminal Court (ICC) and the doctrine of the Responsibility to Protect (RtoP), assessing this relationship over time and through case studies of Darfur, Libya, and Syria. The similarities and connections between the doctrine and the Court have been highlighted by UN bodies, the organs of the Court, and scholars, yet their relationship and common impact on international law have been less explored. This book fills this gap in presenting an overview of how the development of RtoP and the ICC affect various branches of international law. The research shows that while the doctrine and the Court experienced significant implementation problems in their first decades of life, they nonetheless have the potential to contribute to the historical evolution of international law in combining their values of promoting international peace and protecting human rights.
Digests of Decisions of the ICJ
- The Case Law of the International Court: a Repertoire of the Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders of the Permanent Court of International Justice and of the International Court of Justice by
This link opens in a new window
This nine volume set covers the judgments, advisory opinions and orders of the ICJ for the period 1946-1966. - Digest of the Decisions of the International Court of Justice, 1959-1975 / Répertoire des Décisions de la Cour Internationale de Justice, 1959-1975 / Handbuch der Entscheidungen des Internationalen Gerichtshofs 1959-1975 by
- This link opens in a new window
This set provides subject access to ICJ cases for the period 1959-1975. Cases are arranged in broad subject categories and substantial quotations from the opinion’s relevant language are also included. - Digest of the Decisions of the International Court of Justice, 1976-1985 / Répertoire des Décisions de la Cour Internationale de Justice, 1976-1985 / Handbuch der Entscheidungen des Internationalen Gerichtshofs 1976-1985 by
- This link opens in a new window
This set provides subject access to ICJ cases for the period 1976-1985. Cases are arranged in broad subject categories and substantial quotations from the opinion’s relevant language are also included. - International Court of Justice: Digest of Judgments and Advisory Opinions, Canon and Case Law 1946-2012 by
- This link opens in a new window
This work offers ease of access to the ICJ's judgments and advisory opinions given between 25 March 1949 and 3 February 2012. It seeks to help scholars, practitioners and students of international public law quickly to review the Court's jurisprudence for precedents in the Court's "canon" and "case law". It allows the reader to read the judgments and opinions themselves, reduced to the unabbreviated and undistorted essence of the Court's reasoning. The work contains all the timeless elements of the Court's jurisprudence in one volume, and a highly detailed index of the relevant terms and phrases of the judgments and advisory opinions. - Précis de la Jurisprudence de la Cour internationale / a Digest of the Decisions of the International Court by
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 1 of this set covers the decisions of the Permanent Court of Justice. Volume 2 covers ICJ
cases for the period 1947-1974. The volumes include substantial excerpts from each decision
and an index provides subject access to ICJ and PCIJ jurisprudence. - Répertoire de la Jurisprudence de la Cour Internationale de Justice (1947-1992) by
- This link opens in a new window
This source, covering ICJ decisions from 1947-1992, includes a detailed subject outline and case entries provide a lengthy ecxerpt from relevant cases. - Summaries of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders of the International Court of Justice by
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Library holds: 1948-1991, 1992-1996, 1997-2002, 2003-2007, 2012. - World Court Digest by
- This link opens in a new window
The World Court Digest, formerly "Fontes Iuris Gentium," continues the series that has presented the decisions of the Permanent Court of International Justice and its successor, the International Court of Justice. The new volume includes the decisions up to 1990 presented in a slightly changed system to facilitate use by the reader. The pronouncements which are of importance for international law in the judgments and advisory opinions of the Court, including separate and dissenting opinions, have been systematically arranged and reproduced in English. The World Court Digest provides the reader with a reliable means of access to the decisions of the most important international judicial organ. The volume includes a subject index as well as lists of the decisions and judges.
Decisions and Records of the ICJ
- International Court of Justice (ICJ) Pleadings, Oral Arguments, Documents
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This set, which supplements the ICJ's Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders (above) compiles the written pleadings, motions and oral arguments made to the ICJ. Volumes are arranged by case and by year. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.) - International Law Reports
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Z199 .I58This set includes decisions of the International Court of Justice in addition to those from other international and national courts. Each volume includes a digest of cases, a table of treaties, and a subject index. It was previously entitled Annual Digest of Public International Law Cases. - International Court of Justice (ICJ) Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ214 .I58Reports contain the judgments, advisory opinions, and orders decided by the ICJ from its inception in 1946. Volumes are arranged by case and year.
Databases for ICJ Decisions
- International Court of Justice's Website
This link opens in a new window
The ICJ provides access to the decisions and other supplementary documents from its website. Decisions are arranged by contentious and advisory and then by year. (Select "Cases" from the menu on the left side of the screen.) - International Court of Justice Advisory Opinions
This link opens in a new window
LexisAdvance provides access to the advisory options of the ICJ from 1948 - present. - International Court of Justice Decisions
This link opens in a new window
WestlawNext provides access to the decisions of the ICJ from 1947-present. - International Court of Justice Filings
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance provides access to the International Court of Justice Filings (ICJDOC) file which contains various full-text, English-language interim documents filed with the International Court of Justice for pending cases, including the application and written pleadings, as well as various orders of the Court, where available. Holdings begin in 2004 to the present with limited coverage from 1986 through 2003. - International Court of Justice Judgments
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis Advance provides access to ICJ judgments from 1948-present. - International Law Reports (vLexJustis)
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of decisions of international courts, including the International Law Reports, and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts (in English translation) on important international law issues. Coverage is 1920 to date. - Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)
- This link opens in a new window
Decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, as well as domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Contains Oxford Reports on: International Law in Domestic Courts, International Criminal Law, International Human Rights Law, International Courts of General Jurisdiction, and International Investment Claims. (Click here for help using ORIL.)
