Skip to main content
GW Law Library
Research Guides

Business & Corporate Law Resources

Primary Sources [Sources of Law]

Session Laws:

  1. United States Statutes at Large (Stat.)
    Official version of bound volumes containing public and private laws of Congress. These bound volumes contain the official statement of the law.

  2. United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (U.S.C.C.A.N.)
    Unofficial version of the United States Statutes at Large.  Laws are published chronologically.  U.S.C.C.A.N. has two parts--volumes containing the text of the public laws and volumes containing selected legislative history information and documents.  Monthly pamphlets contain federal statutes, arranged by public law number, which have been enacted within the previous two months.  U.S.C.C.A.N. also contains cumulative subject indexes and popular name tables.

Codified Laws:

  1. United States Code (U.S.C.)
    Official Code of federal laws.  Completely revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. Most relevant titles: 7 (Agriculture), 9 (Arbitration), 11 (Bankruptcy), 12 (Banks & Banking), 15 (Commerce & Trade), 26 (Internal Revenue), and 31 (Money & Finance).

  2. United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)
    Unofficial version of the United States Code.  More current than the official version.  Updated with annual supplements called "pocket parts" and periodic supplemental pamphlets.  Extensive annotations following the code section provide citations to court cases, federal regulations, law review articles, and legislative history documents.

  3. United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)
    Unofficial version of the United States Code.  More current than the official version.  Updated with annual supplements called "pocket parts" and periodic supplemental pamphlets.  Extensive annotations following the code section provide citations to court cases, federal regulations, law review articles, and legislative history documents.

  4. Delaware Code Annotated
    Relevant titles: 5 (Banking), 6 (Commerce and Trade), 8 (Corporations), 10 (Courts and Judicial Procedures (Chapter 3, Chancery Court). Unannotated version provided by the State of Delaware Division of Corporations.

Regulatory Resources:

  1. The Federal Register
    The Federal Register is the official publication for notifying the public of federal agency rulemaking. Both proposed and final rules are published in the Federal Register. In addition to agency rules, the Federal Register also contains executive orders, official notices, proclamations and other presidential documents, and other documents required to be published by law. The Federal Register is printed daily except for federal holidays.

  2. Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
    The Code of Federal Regulations is the codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. The C.F.R. is divided into 50 titles (which do not correspond to the 50 titles of the U.S. Code). Each title is further subdivided into chapters, parts, and sections. Individual parts contain an "Authority" note providing the statutory or executive authority under which the regulations were issued and a "Source" note providing a Federal Register citation where the part was originally published. Most relevant titles: 12 (Banks & Banking), 13 (Business Credit & Assistance), 15 (Commerce & Foreign Trade), 16 (Commercial Practices), 17 (Commodity & Securities Exchanges), and 26 (Internal Revenue Service).

Secondary Sources [Commentary on the Law]

  1. Antitrust Laws and Trade Regulation
    This ten-volume treatise on antitrust law includes analysis of antitrust violation, discussion of antitrust issues affecting specific industries, citations to cases, regulatory analysis, and analysis of antitrust laws of U.S. states and several foreign countries. Includes a table of cases and index volume. The most current version is available on Lexis.

  2. Corporation Law  ‚ÄčThis Hornbook, intended as a basic guide to corporation law for law students, covers formation, financial structure, governance, duties of directors and officers, securities fraud and regulation, and mergers and acquisitions. The appendix offers tips for researching corporation law on Westlaw.

  3. Corporation Law and Economics
    This treatise covers the economic implications of financing the corporation, director primacy, duty of care, shareholder voting, insider trading and other topics.

  4. Fletcher Cyclopedia of the Law of Private Corporations
    This authoritative multi-volume resource provides coverage of all relevant topics. Also available on Westlaw.

  5. Folk on the Delaware General Corporation Law

  6. Lawrence's Anderson on the Uniform Commercial Code
    This multi-volume treatise provides complete article-by-article analysis and expert commentary on the UCC. It includes the complete code text with official comments and examines cases and statutory developments from all jurisdictions. Updated periodically. Also available on Westlaw.

  7. Model Business Corporation Act Annotated: model business corporation act with official comment and reporter's annotations.

  8. Securities and Federal Corporate Law
    Also available on Westlaw.

  9. Williston on Sales
    This multi-volume treatise provides comprehensive coverage and in-depth analysis of sales law and focuses on the sections under the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) governing sales transactions. Topics addressed include the contract of sale, rules of construction, statute of frauds and warranties. Updated with pocket parts.