International Human Rights Law Resources
Guide to print and digital resources concerning human rights law.
Traci Emerson Spackey
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Home
Introduction
The purpose of this research guide is to identify relevant print and digital resources for locating international, regional, and domestic legal materials concerning international human rights law. International human rights law is a vast body of law stemming from many different places. The majority of it, however, originates from the United Nations, its charter, and its subsidiary bodies. This guide attempts to help navigate the field of law, and point toward both primary and secondary sources of applicable international human rights law.
Using the Library Catalog to Find International Human Rights Law Resources
One of the first places to consider starting is with the library's catalog, JACOB. The catalog search engine provides all kinds of filters and search features to find exactly what you're looking for. Start with the Advanced Search feature:
And then choose applicable terms and words to search by. You can also filter by subject, title, author, etc. If you need to filter by time frame, language, or format, look to the right-hand corner. It's important to know where you're searching too:
-
JACOB means print materials (mostly books) held in the library's collection.
-
JACOB+ means print materials AND articles held in the library's collection.
-
Course Reserves are simply books held on reserve a professors' request for their courses.
-
WRLC is the Washington Research Library Consortium that consists of about 13 local libraries (we have a speedy lending agreement among this group of institutions). Search here for your broadest reach.
Search by Library of Congress Call Number Range:
JACOB has a filter for searching for items this way.
These are the Call Number ranges for the topic of International Human Rights Law:
-
JC599
-
K3224 - 3278
Search by Library of Congress Subject Headings:
You can also search by the following subject headings. Just type any of these into the search bar and filter to "Subject."
-
Human Rights -- [Country or Region]
-
Human Rights -- [Subject]
Related Burns Law Library Research Guides
Other Research Guides Helpful for Human Rights Law Research
Consult the research guides above for more research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.
Consult the research guides above for more research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.
Consult the research guides above for more research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.
Consult the research guides above for more detailed research strategies and information about locating relevant resources concerning human rights law. Click on the guide image to link to the guide.
Secondary Sources
Using Print Resources for Human Rights Law Research
- Use the resources on this page to find commentary on international human rights law.
- To find the texts of international human rights instruments, use the list of compilations on this page, or use some of the treaty websites and databases found in the "Primary Sources" tab, or under "Databases.
Selected Human Rights Treatises
The Contentious History of the International Bill of Human Rights by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3238.31948 .R63 2015Today, the idea of human rights enjoys near-universal support; yet, there is deep disagreement about what human rights actually are - their true source of origin, how to study them, and how best to address their deficits. In this sweeping historical exploration, Christopher N. J. Roberts traces these contemporary conflicts back to their moments of inception and shows how more than a half century ago a series of contradictions worked their way into the International Bill of Human Rights, the foundation of the modern system of human rights. By viewing human rights as representations of human relations that emerge from struggle, this book charts a new path into the subject of human rights and offers a novel theory and methodology for rigorous empirical study.
The Fundamentals of International Human Rights Treaty Law by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3240 .R3556 2011This book has a simple objective: to present the fundamentals of international human rights treaty law in a way that can be helpful to the national leader, official, or legal adviser whose duty it is to help put a human rights treaty regime into the law and practice in his or her country. It is a book of international law, as provided for in the principal international and regional human rights treaties and draws upon the jurisprudence and practice of their monitoring organs. Chapter I discusses the nature and characteristics of international human rights law. Chapter II discusses the concept of a national protection system which must be in place if a human rights treaty is to be adequately implemented. Chapter III discusses the jurisprudence and practice of treaty bodies on the foundation issues of democracy and the rule of law. Chapter IV discusses human rights in times of crises and emergencies. Chapter V discusses preventive strategies. Chapter VI discusses the duty of Governments to respect, to protect and to ensure human rights. Chapter VII discusses the duty of Governments to provide redress for violations that might take place. Chapter VIII discusses the essence of supervision in reporting systems. Chapter IX discusses the essence of petitions and fact-finding procedures. Chapter X concludes with a discussion of the bedrock principles of universality, equality and justice as they emerge from the jurisprudence and practice of human rights treaty bodies.
Guide to International Human Rights Practice by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3240.4 .G94 2004The standard work in its field, this updated and expanded edition presents an eminently practical "nuts-and-bolts" guide to international human rights law and practice. The contributors, all specialists in their areas of expertise, offer a panoramic yet meticulously detailed survey of the many techniques now available to protect human rights at global, regional, and national levels. Appendices include a bibliographic essay that serves as a mini-guide to contemporary human rights literature, in both print and on-line sources. Published under the auspices of the Procedural Aspects of International Law Institute (PAIL).
International Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3240 .A4418 2013International Human Rights is the definitive work on the subject area providing its reader with a comprehensive analysis of this wide and diverse subject area.A successor to the widely acclaimed International Human Rights in Context, this book is written by Philip Alston and Ryan Goodman who are both world-leading human rights scholars. They have chosen a wide selection of materials from primary and secondary materials to demonstrate and illuminate keythemes and carefully guide the reader through each extract with thoughtful and lucid commentary.
International Human Rights in a Nutshell by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KZ1266 .B84 2017This guide offers a reliable source on international human rights law for students, practitioners, and professors. It provides an overview of the international, regional, and domestic human rights systems. It reviews recent developments in the field of international humanitarian law, including decisions of the ad hoc tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and Rwanda and the establishment of the International Criminal Court. It discusses the history behind international human rights, including the institutional context from which they evolved. It also features expert review of human rights norms and identifies new developments in this area.
The Law of Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KD4080 .L39 2009Since it was first published in 2000, The Law of Human Rights has become the leading practitioner text in this rapidly developing area of law. Written by two leading silks, it provides comprehensive and systematic treatment of human rights law and practice in the UK, including an examinationof the wider impact of the Human Rights Act 1998 upon the civil and criminal law. The second edition has been fully updated to provide detailed coverage of developments as the human rights legislation continues to be tested out in the courts. The authors have tracked the growing body of case law andthe book includes comprehensive case references for the UK and other jurisdictions.The Law of Human Rights is divided into two volumes. The Main Work includes a detailed analysis of the rights granted by the Human Rights Act 1998. Each chapter in this section focuses upon a particular rights and offers a thorough examination of European and domestic case law. This impact isconsidered in relation to a number of subject areas, including business and commerce, cirminal law and justice, education, employment, immigration, media , mental health, police and prisoners.The Law of Human Rights will be kept up to date by way of regular paperback supplements which provide full updates of relevant case law and legislation.
State-Owned Entities and Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2022The monograph focuses on the human rights challenges that are associated with the involvement of States in economic activities and on the role that international law has to play in addressing and understanding some of those challenges. State-owned entities are looked at through the lens of several topics of international law that have been found to hold particular relevance in this context, such as the concept of legal personality in international law, the process of normativity in international law, State immunity and State responsibility. The monograph shows how SOEs have had a significant role in shaping the evolution of international law and how, in turn, international law is currently shaping the evolution of State-owned entities. By focusing on State-owned or State-controlled business entities, rather than private corporations, the monograph aims to offer an alternative perspective on the challenges associated with corporations and human rights.
Universal Human Rights in Theory and Practice by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: JC571 .D75 2013In the third edition of his classic work, revised extensively and updated to include recent developments on the international scene, Jack Donnelly explains and defends a richly interdisciplinary account of human rights as universal rights. He shows that any conception of human rights?and the idea of human rights itself?is historically specific and contingent. Since publication of the first edition in 1989, Universal Human Rights in Theory and Practice has justified Donnelly?s claim that "conceptual clarity, the fruit of sound theory, can facilitate action. At the very least it can help to unmask the arguments of dictators and their allies."
Commentaries on International Human Rights Instruments
Collected Edition of the "Travaux Preparatoires" of the European Convention on Human Rights by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KJC5132 .A25 1975The European Convention on Human Rights is undoubtedly the most concrete expression by the Member States of the Council of Europe of their profound belief in the values of democracy, peace & justice and, through them, respect for the rights & fundamental freedoms of persons living in our society. Although this instrument is over forty years old, it has evolved & continues to do so, not only through the case law of the European Commission & Court of Human Rights, but also through the addition of Protocols strengthening the rights & improving the protection mechanism. This revised edition of the 1987 Collected Texts gives lawyers & any other interested persons clear & up-to-date information on all these instruments & on the texts relating to the working of the bodies set up by the Convention. The basic instruments & texts contained in the 1994 Collected Texts (English & French) provide a vital tool for all those working for human rights in Europe.
The UN Convention on the Rights of the Child by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K639.A41989 U553 2019The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child is the most extensive and widely ratified international human rights treaty. This Commentary offers a comprehensive analysis of each of the substantive provisions in the Convention and its Optional Protocols on Children and Armed Conflict and the Sale of Children, Chilf Prostitution and Pornography. It offers a detailed insight into the drafting history of these instruments, the scope and nature of the rights accorded to children and the obligations imposed on states to secure the implementation of these rights. In doing so, it draws on the work of the Committee on the Rights of the Child, international, regional and domestic courts, academic and interdisciplinary scholarly analyses. It is of relevance to anyone working on matters affecting children including government officials, policy makers, judicial officers, lawyers, educators, social workers, health professionals, academics, aid and humanitarian workers, and members of civil society.
The European Convention on Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KJC5132.A4195 S328 2015The European Convention on Human Rights: A Commentary is the first complete article-by-article commentary on the ECHR and its Protocols in English. This book provides an entry point for every part of the Convention: the substance of the rights, the workings of the Court, and the enforcement ofits judgments. A separate chapter is devoted to each distinct provision or article of the Convention as well as to Protocols 1, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, and 16, which have not been incorporated in the Convention itself and remain applicable to present law. Each chapter contains: a short introduction placing the provision within the context of international human rights law more generally; a review of the drafting history or preparatory work of the provision; a discussion of the interpretation of the text and the legal issues, with references to the case law of the European Court of Human Rights and the European Commission on Human Rights; and a selective bibliography on the provision.
Guide to the "Travaux Preparatoires" of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3238.31966 .B67 1987This work is a compilation of the documentation arising from the consultations which led to the conclusion of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (and the Optional Protocol to the Covenant).
The Inter-American Court of Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KDZ579.I58 B874 2011This work offers the first systematic analysis of the case law of the Inter-American Court of Human Rights to be published in the English language. The book provides a comprehensive collation and commentary on the jurisprudence of the Court, situating it in the broader context of international human rights law, drawing comparisons in particular with the case law of the European Court of Human Rights. It features coverage of both procedural and substantive human rights law. Comprehensively indexed and cross-referenced, the book offers, for the first time in English, ready access to the jurisprudence of one of the major regional human rights courts.
The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3242 .T478 2016The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination is the centrepiece of international efforts to address racial discrimination, defined in broad terms to include discrimination based on skin colour, descent, ethnic, and national origin. Victims of discrimination withinthe scope of the Convention include minorities, indigenous peoples, non-citizens, and caste or descent groups. Virtually all national societies are diverse in terms of ethnicity or 'race' and none is free from discrimination, making it one of the great issues of our time. Against the background of international human rights standards and mechanisms to counter racial and ethnic discrimination, this book provides the first comprehensive legal analysis of the provisions of the Convention on an article-by article basis. The book addresses the place of the Convention within the broader framework of United Nation's action against discrimination.
The International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights and Its (First) Optional Protocol by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3240 .B35 2005The Human Rights Committee has, in its many years of existence, developed an extensive jurisprudence made up of concluding observations prepared in response to state reports, general comments on the interpretation of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (ICCPR) and views expressed in individual cases submitted under the First Optional Protocol. The ICCPR as a human rights treaty confers rights on individuals. Individuals are not only the bearers of these rights but also the ones who, filing their complaints to the Human Rights Committee, enable the committee to clarify the meaning of these rights. This book unites all elements of the jurisprudence of the Human Rights Committee. The views concerning individuals in concrete situations form the core of this book.- Legislative History of the Convention on the Rights of the Child by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K639.A41989 L45 2007Produced in collaboration by Save the Children and United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights, this text sets out a record of the legislative history of the Convention on the Rights of the Child. It contains records of various meetings during a ten-year period, up to and including the date when Convention was approved in 1989. 
The United Nations Convention Against Torture by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K5304.A41984 N69 2008The prohibition of torture--the right to physical and mental integrity--is guaranteed in the strongest terms under international law. It is protected as an absolute right, non-derogable even in times of war or public emergency under many human rights treaties and is also generally accepted asa part of customary international law and even ius cogens. The problem of torture resurfaced in the second half of the 20th Century, and more recently in the contexts of the war in Iraq, the situation of detainees in Guantanamo Bay, and of attempts to extradite persons considered to be 'threats to national security' to States where they may be at risk of torture.The main instrument to combat torture within the framework of the United Nations is the Convention against Torture and other Cruel, Inhuman, or Degrading Treatment or Punishment (CAT).
The UN Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women: A Commentary by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3243.A41979 U5 2012This volume is the first comprehensive commentary on the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and its Optional Protocol. The Convention is a key international human rights instrument and the only one exclusively addressed to women. It has been described as the United Nations' 'landmark treaty in the struggle for women's rights'. The Commentary describes the application of the Convention through the work of its monitoring body, the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. It comprises detailed analyses of the Preamble and each article of the Convention and of the Optional Protocol. It also includes a separate chapter on the cross-cutting substantive issue of violence against women.
The United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K637.A42007 U558 2017This Commentary provides the first comprehensive legal article-by-article analysis of the provisions of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD). The Convention is the key international human rights instrument exclusively devoted to persons with disabilities and the centerpiece of international efforts to address inequalities and barriers they encounter to the full enjoyment of human rights. The book discusses the Convention's position within existing international human rights law and within the framework of the United Nations measures to protect the rights of people with disabilities. Starting with the background of all the Convention's articles, including the travaux préparatoires, this Commentary examines each provision's substance and interpretation, and explores the significance of each right, its legal scope and relationship with other international legal norms and principles. A unique contribution also analyzes the Optional Protocol to the Convention.
The United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child: A Guide to the "Travaux Préparatoires" by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K639.A41989 A38 1992This book provides an overview of the drafting process of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child, which was unanimously adopted by the General Assembly of the UN on 20 November 1989.- U.N. Covenant on Civil and Political Rights: CCPR commentary by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3238.31966.A3 N6813 2019This second edition covers the practice and jurisprudence of the Human Rights Committee between 1977 and the end of 2003. During these 27 years, this expert body has examined 330 State reports, adopted 31 General Comments and rendered decisions on more than 1,200 individual cases, of which almost half have been decided on the merits. All relevant texts, tables and decisions have been updated to 1 May 2004.
The United Nations and Human Rights
The Advent of Universal Protection of Human Rights: Theo van Boven and the Transformation of the UN Role by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3241 .R355 2018This biography tells the story of Theo van Boven's dynamic and courageous leadership to develop UN protection. Van Boven has been a life-long scholar and practitioner of human rights. He served in the Dutch Ministry of Foreign Affairs, represented The Netherlands in the UN Commission on Human Rights, served as an expert in its Sub-Commission on Human Rights, and also on the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination. He was the Director of the UN Human Rights secretariat from 1977 to 1982, and later served as Registrar of the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda, and as UN Special Rapporteur against Torture. As Director of the UN Human Rights secretariat, Professor van Boven built up the protection capacity of the United Nations piece by piece and thereby transformed the UN's role. He initiated every protection mechanism in use at the United Nations today. He was thus the father of the contemporary system of United Nations protection.
Failing to Protect: The UN and the Politicisation of Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3240 .F746 2014Every year tens of millions of individuals suffer grave abuses of their human rights. These violations occur worldwide, in war-torn countries and in the wealthiest states. Despite many of the abuses being well-documented, little seems to be done to stop them from happening. The UN was established to safeguard world peace and security, development, and human rights yet it is undeniable that currently is it failing to protect the rights of a great many people from the victims of ethnic cleansing, to migrants, those displaced by war and women who suffer horrendous abuse. This book looks at the reasons for that failure. Using concrete examples intertwined with explanations of the law and politics of the UN, Rosa Freedman offers clear explanations of how and why the organization is unable, at best, or unwilling, at worst, to protect human rights.
The UN Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K1322 .U5 2012The issue of corporate responsibilities has had a tumultuous history at the United Nations. When the Human Rights Council unanimously endorsed John Ruggie's Guiding Principles in June 2011, it was the first time that the UN stated authoritatively its expectations in the area of business and human rights. This volume captures this special moment in time: a moment of taking stock of a successfully concluded UN Special Representative mandate (2005-2011) and of preparing for the massive task of following up with more operational guidance, effective governance mechanisms and sound theoretical treatments.
The United Nations Human Rights Council: A Critique and Early Assessment by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3241 .F74 2013The United Nations Human Rights Council was created in 2006 to replace the UN Commission on Human Rights. The Council's mandate and founding principles demonstrate that one of the main aims, at its creation, was for the Council to overcome the Commission's flaws. Despite the need to avoid repeating its predecessor's failings, the Council's form, nature and many of its roles and functions are strikingly similar to those of the Commission. This book examines the creation and formative years of the United Nations Human Rights Council and assesses the extent to which the Council has fulfilled its mandate. International law and theories of international relations are used to examine the Council and its functions. Council sessions, procedures and mechanisms are analysed in-depth, with particular consideration given to whether the Council has become politicised to the same extent as the Commission. Whilst remaining aware of the key differences in their functions, Rosa Freedman compares the work of the Council to that of treaty-based human rights bodies.
UN Human Rights Treaty Bodies: Law and Legitimacy by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3240 .U5 2012The effective implementation of human rights treaty obligations in national law is subject to increasing attention. The main responsibility for the international monitoring of national implementation at the global level is entrusted to the UN human rights treaty bodies. These bodies are established by the respective human rights conventions and are composed of independent experts. This book examines three aspects of these bodies: the legal aspects of their structure, functions and decisions; their effectiveness in ensuring respect for human rights obligations; and the legitimacy of these bodies and their decisions. Containing contributions from a variety of eminent legal experts, including present and former members of the treaty bodies, the analysis should be read in light of the ongoing effort to strengthen treaty bodies under the auspices of the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights and with the involvement of relevant stakeholders.
The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights: Conscience for the World by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K3241 .U547 2014In this first systematic examination of the role of the top United Nations human rights official, editors Felice Gaer and Christen Broecker analyze the achievements, leadership styles of, and obstacles encountered by the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, and propose recommendations for the future. The editors are joined by 18 expert contributors including present and former UN policymakers, human rights practitioners, legal scholars, and current High Commissioner Navi Pillay. The United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights: Conscience for the World examines how the six individuals who have served in this post have worked to end atrocities, hold perpetrators of abuses to account, promote equality and justice, and provide protection and redress to victims.
The United Nations and the Politics of Selective Humanitarian Intervention by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: JZ6369 .B56 2017This book offers the first book-length explanation of the UN's politics of selective humanitarian intervention. Over the past 20 years the United Nations has imposed economic sanctions, deployed peacekeeping operations, and even conducted or authorized military intervention in Somalia, Bosnia, or Libya. Yet no such measures were taken in other similar cases such as Colombia, Myanmar, Darfur--or more recently--Syria. What factors account for the UN's selective response to humanitarian crises and what are the mechanism that drive--or block--UN intervention decisions? By combining fuzzy-set analysis of the UN's response to more than 30 humanitarian crises with in depth-case study analysis of UN (in)action in Bosnia and Darfur, as well as in the most recent crises in Côte d'Ivoire, Libya and Syria, this volume seeks to answer these questions.
The UN Human Rights Council by - This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2020Since its establishment the work of the Human Rights Council (UNHRC) has been subject to many interpretations, with differing theories proffered and conclusions drawn. This comprehensive guide, from an author with an intimate knowledge of the organisation, dissects every aspect of the UNHRCs work examines the efficiency of, and interactions between, its mechanisms. The book also offers a meticulous overview of the structure and functions of the Council and its processes, providing readers not only with a clear and practical guide, but a platform from which to formulate their own opinions and conclusions. Key Features: Authored by the first Secretary of the UNHRC Unique practical insights from a UN insider Explanation of the complex decision-making processes of the Council UNHRC procedures described within the overall context in which they operate Highlights vital, but hard to access, UN and UNHRC documents and references Clear and accessible, this informative book will be a key resource for NGO's, diplomats, UN officials and other participants in UNHRC proceedings, whilst also being valuable to human rights students and academics seeking to broaden their understanding of UNHRC operations.
Primary Sources
Locating Primary Sources
For the court decisions of various international human rights tribunals, see the list of reports on this page, or utilize the websites of the respective tribunal, or check for relevant materials on Westlaw and LexisNexis.
Print Human Rights Case Law Compilations
- European Human Rights Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- International Human Rights Reports
- This link opens in a new window
- International Legal Materials
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
- Serie A--Fallos y Opiniones / Corte Interamericana de Derechos Humanos = Series A--Judgments and Opinions by
- This link opens in a new window
- Serie C--Resoluciones y Sentencias / Corte Interamericana de Derechos Humanos = Series C--Decisions and judgments by
- This link opens in a new window
Databases
Access Information
Access to Burns Law Library Database Subscriptions:
Researchers with privileges to access the Law Library can access these resources from the research terminals located in the reference room. Current law students, faculty, and staff can access these resources from any computer connected to the Law School networks.
Off-campus access to Burns Law Library Database Subscriptions:
Law faculty and law students with up-to-date borrowing privileges at the Jacob Burns Law Library may access certain subscription databases from off-campus via the library proxy server. Detailed instructions are available on the Library's website.
Access to Gelman Library Database Subscriptions:
Access to Gelman databases is governed by Gelman Library policies. Instructions for Off-campus access to the databases are available on the Gelman website.
Access to LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law:
Access to LexisNexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law is restricted to current law students and law faculty. To obtain Bloomberg Law credentials, send an email request to electronicservices@law.gwu.libanswers.com and include your name, year, and GWID number.
Burns Law Library Databases
- Cambridge Core - Law
This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to selected Cambridge University Press books and journals, including over 500 titles dealing with human rights subject matter. (Click here for help using Cambridge Core.) - HeinOnline's Hague Academy Collected Courses Online
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Collected Courses of the Hague Academy of International Law, "an encyclopaedic publication on private and international law." (Use: Hein's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - HeinOnline: Foreign & International Law Resources Database
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the decisions of multiple historical international tribunals. (Click here for help using HeinOnline.) - HeinOnline United Nations Law Collection
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains major United Nations legal publications including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and other important UN documents. This collection also includes the International Court of Justice Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, and selected WTO documents. (Use: HeinOnline's Advanced Search Syntax User’s Guide.) - International Law Reports (vLexJustis)
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of decisions of international courts, including the International Law Reports, and arbitrators as well as judgments of national courts (in English translation) on important international law issues. Coverage is 1920 to date. - Oxford Reports on International Law (ORIL)
- This link opens in a new window
Decisions on public international law from international courts and tribunals, as well as domestic courts and ad hoc tribunals. Contains Oxford Reports on: International Law in Domestic Courts, International Criminal Law, International Human Rights Law, International Courts of General Jurisdiction, and International Investment Claims. (Click here for help using ORIL.) - Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO): Law
- This link opens in a new window
Law collection titles are primarily from the following series: Oxford studies in European law, Oxford monographs in international law, Oxford monographs in criminal law and justice, Clarendon studies in criminology, Oxford monographs in labour law, Oxford studies in modern legal history, Oxford studies in international economic law, and international courts and tribunals. GWU has access to most OSO books, with abstracts available for all others.
Select Gelman Library Databases
Note: Gelman Library subscribes to numerous databases that can be used to locate articles on a particular subject. For information concerning such databases, please see the Gelman Library's Research Guides by Subject or Gelman Library's How Do I? tutorials.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources. (Use: CIAO Search Tips.)
- CQ ResearcherFor international law research, CQ Researcher provides background and context on current international developments, offering in-depth coverage of newsworthy global events from a multitude of viewpoints. (Using CQR.)
- FactivaFactiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, combines over 32,000 sources to give access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages. (Use: Dow Jones Learning.)
- JSTORBack issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. (Use: JSTOR Support.)
- MidEast WireMideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newsbank: Access World News
This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Find full-text articles from over 700 international sources. (Use: Newsbank FAQ.) - PAIS IndexCovers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations. (Use: Proquest Help Search Tips.)
- World News ConnectionOffers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
LexisNexis
To locate a source in Lexis Advance, select "Browse Sources" and enter the name of the source in the "Search Sources" box or simply type the title of the source in the search box.
- ABA Human Rights
This link opens in a new window
ABA Human Rights is published quarterly for a national audience of lawyers and others who are actively involved in and concerned with human rights and civil rights. Each issue features six or seven articles about a current topic in human rights and civil rights. Recent issues have covered: The fight against HIV/AIDS; The fortieth anniversary of the 1964 Civil Rights Act; Aging in America; Criminal justice and injustice; Environmental justice and Sexual orientation and gender identity. Coverage from Summer 2001. (Click here for help using Lexis.) - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices
- This link opens in a new window
Country Reports on Human Rights Practices issued by U. S. Department of State, Bureau of Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor. Coverage through 2019. (Click here for help using Lexis.) - Human Rights Brief
- This link opens in a new window
The Human Rights Brief contains the full text of documents which are dedicated to the scholarly review of the general practice of law and issues of importance to students, practitioners and academics. (Click here for help using Lexis.)
Westlaw
To locate a source on Westlaw, type the name of the source in the search box at the top of the page. A list of sources will appear instantly below the search box as you type the name of the source. Select the source from the list if it is available.
- Hong Kong Current Awareness - Human Rights
This link opens in a new window
Coverage: most recent 90 days. - International Court of Justice Decisions
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of documents from the International Court of Justice (the World Court), a judicial body established by the United Nations sitting in The Hague, Netherlands. Coverage begins with 1947. Source of this material is the ICJ's publication Report of Judgments, Advisory Opinions and Orders, last published in 2000. Selected documents beginning with 2001, as released and made available by the International Court of Justice prior to publication of the Report, are also included. - International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
- This link opens in a new window
All documents (judgments, decisions, orders, and indictments) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda, which was created under Chapter 7 of the United Nations Charter to review serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda and in neighboring states between January 1, 1994, and December 31, 1994. - International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia
- This link opens in a new window
All documents (judgments, decisions, orders, indictments, transcripts, and press releases) issued by the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia, which was created by the United Nations on May 23, 1993, to review serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of the former Yugoslavia after 1991. Coverage begins with 1995. - International Legal Materials (ILM)
- This link opens in a new window
Documents reproduced in International Legal Materials by the American Society of International Law (ASIL). Contains the text of international documents, including introductory notes and content summaries if available. Selected coverage begins with 1980 (vol. 19). - United Kingdom Current Awareness: Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Current awareness documents covering human rights that affect the United Kingdom. Coverage includes the most recent 90 days.
Websites
International Organizations Web Sites
- African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the documentation of the Commission, including periodic reports of the parties to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on their implementation of the Charter in their domestic law. - Council of Europe Directorate General of Human Rights and Rule of Law
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the documentation and activities of the Council of Europe in the field of human rights. - European Court of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
This website includes the HUDOC system which provides a means for full-text searching of ECHR decisions and orders. - Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Includes access to the annual reports, country reports, and resolutions of the Commission. - Inter-American Court of Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable website that includes decisions of the IACHR, annual reports, and documents created by the Court. - International Committee of the Red Cross
- This link opens in a new window
Provides a searchable database of treaties on international humanitarian law and the Customary International Humanitarian Law database among other resources. - International Criminal Court
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the documentation and decisions of this permanent international criminal tribunal. - International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (Legacy website)
- This link opens in a new window
Since the ICTR’s closure on 31 December 2015,this legacy website continues to provide access to the documentation and decisions of this ad hoc criminal tribunal. - International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia
- This link opens in a new window
Provides documentation and decisions of this ad hoc criminal tribunal established by U.N. Security Council Resolution 827 in May of 1993. - United Nations Digital Library
- This link opens in a new window
Search engine for UN documentation to the main bodies of the United Nations including those of the treaty bodies. - United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for the documentation of all UN human rights activities, including the work of charter and treaty-based bodies in the UN system. Includes links to 384 different translations of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. - United Nations Treaty Series
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the text of all major multilateral human rights treaties entered into by UN members as well as information regarding ratification and reservation.
Selected Non-Governmental Organizations Web Sites
- Advocates for Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Offers access to the Violence Against Women newsletter and other reports and documentation issued by the Advocates. - Amnesty International
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to Amnesty's investigative reports on human rights conditions in various countries as well as their annual report. - Anti-Slavery International
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Anti-Slavery International's annual accounts and reports. - Article 19
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to news regarding developments in freedom of expression and offers legal analysis of national laws affecting free speech throughout the world. - Asian Human Rights Commission
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to the Commission's written and oral statements to the UN Commission on Human Rights; press releases; and reports documenting human rights abuses in various countries. - Equipo Nizkor
- This link opens in a new window
Provides reports and news relating to human rights issues in the Latin American region. - Human Rights Internet
- This link opens in a new window
Provides new regarding Canadian developments concerning international human rights and provides access to the International Human Rights and Canada Database. - Human Rights Watch
- This link opens in a new window
Human Rights Watch's site includes online versions of Human Rights Watch World Report and other thematic and country reports. - International Justice Resource Center
- This link opens in a new window
Provides explanations of human rights law and the bodies that enforce these norms. The 'Research Aids' section under the "Human Rights Law" tab explains and links to a variety of databases for researching primary and secondary sources of international human rights law.
Academic Institutions and Governmental Web Sites
- Bayefsky.com
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to documentation and treaties from the United Nations human rights system. - e-RG - Electronic Resource Guide: International Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
Provides an overview of international human rights law research with links to web resources in the field. - University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive site for materials concerning international human rights law. Provides treaty texts, documents from UN and regional human rights bodies, research guides, and bibliographies. - Country Reports on Human Rights Practices (U.S. State Department)
- This link opens in a new window
The Country Reports on Human Rights Practices are submitted annually by the U.S. Department of State to the U.S. Congress which provides "a full and complete report regarding the status of internationally recognized human rights for countries that receive U.S. assistance as well as all other foreign countries which are members of the United Nations.
News & Current Awareness
Human Rights News
- Amnesty International
- This link opens in a new window
This site provides access to Amnesty's investigative reports on human rights conditions in various countries as well as their annual report. - ASIL Insights
- This link opens in a new window
ASIL Insights purposes to provide concise, objective, and timely background for recent developments of interest to the international community. - Human Rights Watch - News
- This link opens in a new window
Human rights news as monitored and covered by this non-governmental organization. - International Law in Brief
- This link opens in a new window
A forum that provides updates on current developments in international law from the editors of ASIL's International Legal Materials. - Jurist
- This link opens in a new window
Legal news service reporting on the latest developments in both international and domestic legal news. - United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights: Press Releases
- This link opens in a new window
Access to the press releases of the High Commissioner dealign with current issues of concern in the UN Human Rights system.
Human Rights Blogs
- Amnesty International - UK Blog
- This link opens in a new window
Posts on human rights issues by staff of Amnesty International UK. - EHCR Blog
- This link opens in a new window
A blog dedicated to covering issues related to the European Convention on Human Rights - Opinio Juris - International Human Rights Law
- This link opens in a new window
Opinio Juris was the world’s first blog dedicated to informed discussion of international law by and among academics, practitioners and legal experts. While broadly covering public international law issues, the blog also covers specific issues related to international human rights law. - PhD Studies in Human Rights
- This link opens in a new window
A blog curated by doctoral students in the field of human rights intending to provide information about current developments, new publications, practical materials. - UK Human Rights Blog
- This link opens in a new window
The UK Human Rights Blog aims to provide a free, comprehensive and balanced legal update service on a huge range of legal issues, from human rights, to public, medical and environmental law.
Select Gelman Library Databases and News Sources
Note: Gelman Library subscribes to numerous databases that can be used to locate articles on a particular subject. For information concerning such databases, please see the Gelman Library's Research Guides by Subject or Gelman Library's How Do I? tutorials.
- Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)Access to scholarly materials related to international affairs, including working papers, conference proceedings, journal articles, case studies, and other resources. (Use: CIAO Search Tips.)
- CQ ResearcherFor international law research, CQ Researcher provides background and context on current international developments, offering in-depth coverage of newsworthy global events from a multitude of viewpoints. (Using CQR.)
- FactivaFactiva is a current international news database produced by Dow Jones, one of the leading global provider of economic and financial information. Factiva.com, from Dow Jones, combines over 32,000 sources to give access to premium content from 200 countries, in 28 languages. (Use: Dow Jones Learning.)
- JSTORBack issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. (Use: JSTOR Support.)
- MidEast WireMideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.
- Newsbank: Access World News
- This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Find full-text articles from over 700 international sources. (Use: Newsbank FAQ.) - PAIS IndexCovers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations. (Use: Proquest Help Search Tips.)
- World News ConnectionOffers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
Tips
Key Search Terms
Start broadly with your topic to familiarize yourself, as you read you will get familiar with the vocabulary commonly used in the area of law you're researching, and you will discover new effective search terms. For instance, when researching refugee law, you will pick up on phrases such as "responsibility to protect" or "internally displaced persons." Understanding this new vocabulary will help your search.
Some useful broad search terms to be used when searching by keyword within library catalogs, databases, and Internet Search Engines for information related to international human rights law include:
- "human rights"
- "civil rights"
- "humanitarian law"
Deciphering Legal Citations and Acronyms
Print Sources:
- Prince's Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Ready Reference (1st floor) KF246 .B46 2017Prince’s Bieber Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations covers a range of acronyms, abbreviations, and symbols found in reporters, legal treatises, law reviews, law dictionaries, and selected other documents. 
World Dictionary of Legal Abbreviations by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: K89 .K38This dictionary is divided into different language and/orcountry sections. It is designed to enable the reader offoreign law and legal literature to ascertain the precisemeaning of abbreviations and acronyms as they appear in thematerial which he or she is studying. In addition, theset has been further expanded with the inclusion ofabbreviations by subject.
Web-based Resources:
- Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations
- This link opens in a new window
This database allows you to search for the meaning of abbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. - UN iLibrary List of Acronyms
- This link opens in a new window
A two-page list of UN-related acronyms and what they mean.
Bluebook Rules
The following Bluebook (19th ed.) rules and tables are applicable to citing international human rights law:
- Rule 21.5.3: European Court of Human Rights
- Rule 21.5.4: Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
- Rule 21.5.5: Inter-American Court of Human Rights
- Rule 21.5.7: International Criminal Tribunals
- Rule 21.5.8: Other Multinational Courts
- Rule 21.7: United Nations Sources
- Rule 21.13: International Committee of the Red Cross and International Non-Governmental Organizations
- Table T.3: Intergovernmental Organizations
- Table T.4: Treaty Sources
Interpreting Citations
Commonly Cited Human Rights Sources:
1. Human Rights Conventions (Bluebook Rule 21.4.5(a)(ii) and Table T4)
International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, Dec. 16, 1966, S. Exec. Rep. 102-23, 999 U.N.T.S. 171.
2. European Court of Human Rights (Bluebook Rule 21.5.3 and Table T3.4)
- Papon v. France (No. 2), 2001-XII Eur. Ct. H.R. 235.
- Kampanis v. Greece, 318 Eur. Ct. H.R. 29 (1995).
3. Inter-American Court and Commission on Human Rights (Bluebook Rules 21.5.4 and 21.5.5 and Tables T3.5 and 3.6)
Commission:
Tortrino v. Argentina, Case 11.597, Inter-Am. Comm'n H.R., Report No. 7/98, OEA/Ser.L./V/II.98, doc. 7 rev. ¶ 15 (1997).
Court:
Restrictions to the Death Penalty (Arts. 4(2) and 4(4) American Convention on Human Rights), Advisory Opinion OC-3/83, Inter-Am. Ct. H.R. (ser. A) No. 3, ¶ 70 (Sept. 8, 1983).
Advisory Opinions:
Restrictions to the Death Penalty (Arts. 4(2) and 4(4) American Convention on Human Rights), Advisory Opinion OC-3/83, Inter-Am. Ct. H.R. (ser. A) No. 3¶ 70 (Sept. 8, 1983).
Contentious Cases:
Baldeon-Garcia v. Peru, Merits, Reparations, and Costs, Judgment, Inter-Am. Ct. H.R. (ser. C) No. 147, ¶ 169 (Apr. 6, 2006).
4. International Criminal Tribunals (Bluebook Rule 21.5.7)
Prosecutor v. Tadic, Case No. IT-94-1-I, Decision on Defence Motion for Interlocutory Appeal on Jurisdiction, ¶ 70 (Int'l Crim. Trib. for the Former Yugoslavia Oct. 2, 1995)
5. United Nations Documents (Bluebook Rule 21.7 and Table T3.1)
Resolutions (Rule 21.7.2):
Universal Declaration of Human Rights, G.A. Res. 217 (III) A, U.N. Doc. A/RES/217(III) (Dec. 10, 1948)
U.N. Reports (Rule 21.7.3):
Special Rapporteur on the Expulsion of Aliens, Fourth Rep. on the Expulsion of Aliens, Int'l Law Comm'n, U.N. Doc. A/CN.4/594 (Mar. 24, 2008) (by Maurice Kamto).
Masthead Documents (Rule 21.7.4):
U.N. Secretariat, Expulsion of Aliens, Memorandum by the Secretariat, ¶¶ 702-44, Int'l Law Comm'n, U.N. Doc. A/CN.4/565 (July 10, 2006)
Sales Publications (Rule 21.7.7):
U.N. OFFICE OF THE HIGH COMM'R FOR HUMAN RIGHTS, INTERNATIONAL LEGAL PROTECTION OF HUMAN RIGHTS IN ARMED CONFLICT, U.N. Doc. HR/PUB/11/1, U.N. Sales No. E.11.XIV.3 (2011)
Yearbooks and Periodicals (Rule 21.7.8):
Human Rights in the Union of Burma in 1953, 1953 Y.B. on H.R. 31, U.N. Sales No. 1955.XIV.1.