Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 (FISA)
An Act to authorize electronic surveillance to obtain foreign intelligence information.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Federal Statutes
FISA is codified in Title 50 of the U.S.C. ch. 36. (50 U.S.C. 1801 et seq.)
- United States Code (U.S.C.)
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Official Code of federal laws, organized by subject matter. Revised every six years and updated between revisions with annual cumulative supplements. - United States Code Annotated (U.S.C.A.)
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
West's unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version and includes many research features. - United States Code Service (U.S.C.S.)
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Lexis's unofficial version of the United States Code. More current than the official version and includes many research features. - Intelligence Community Legal Reference Book
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Last updated winter 2020. Provides some of the relevant laws as codified but mainly provides the Acts themselves.
Federal Regulations
- Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.)
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Codification of final rules published in the Federal Register. - e-CFR (Electronic Code of Federal Regulations)
- This link opens in a new window
Currently updated unofficial version of the C.F.R. - Federal Register (Fed. Reg.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Official publication of federal agency rulemaking.
Case Law
Search West Key Number 1133 Foreign Intelligence Surveillance for all federal cases. Many cases are unreported.
- Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court cases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court of Review cases
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Federal Case Law Reporters:
- United States Reports (U.S.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the final, official opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States. - West's Supreme Court Reporter (S. Ct.)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States, along with headnotes, Key Numbers, and synopses. Unofficial reporter, but current. - United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition (L. Ed., L. Ed. 2d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the opinions of the Supreme Court of the United States, along with summaries, headnotes, and research references. Unofficial reporter, but current. - Federal Reporter (F., F.2d, F.3d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains opinions of the United States Courts of Appeals. - Federal Supplement (F. Supp., F. Supp. 2d, F. Supp. 3d)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains opinions of the United States District Courts.