Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 (FISA)
An Act to authorize electronic surveillance to obtain foreign intelligence information.
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Foreign Intelligence Gathering Laws
Two 2016 reports from the Law Library of Congress provide overviews of several jurisdictions' intelligence gathering laws:
- Foreign Intelligence Gathering Laws(June 2016). Offers a review of laws regulating the collection of intelligence in the European Union (EU) and Belgium, France, Germany, Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Sweden, and the United Kingdom.
- Government Access to Encrypted Communications(May 2016). Describes the law of 12 nations and the European Union on whether the government, pursuant to a court order or other government process, can require companies to decrypt encrypted communications or provide the government with the means to do so. Some of the surveys provide additional information on related surveillance issues like the law on monitoring and intercepting communications.
Intelligence Laws of North, Central and South America are presented in a table in Intelligence Management in the Americas (June 2015).
Foreign Law Sources
- Foreign Law Guide
This link opens in a new window
Provides source information for over 150 countries.
Foreign Law Guide > Defense & National Security > [country] > State Intelligence - Lexis+: International
This link opens in a new window
Provides some jurisdictions' primary law. - LexisLibrary Halsbury's Laws / LexisLibrary Legislation (UK)
This link opens in a new window
(On campus access only). Provides access to several resources from LexisLibrary on UK law and legislation. - vLex
- This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to legislation, case law, books, journals, contracts, and forms from 140 countries. Updated daily. - Westlaw: International Materials
This link opens in a new window
Provides some jurisdictions' legislation (Barbados, Canada, Cayman Islands, EU, Hong Kong, Korea, UK & Scotland). - WorldLII
This link opens in a new window
World Legal Information Institute, a free, independent and non-profit global legal research facility, provides access to primary laws on privacy and surveillance among other topics.
