Clean Water Act (CWA)
A guide to the federal Clean Water Act (CWA).
Access Icon Key
| These linked icons indicate your access to the resources discussed in this guide. | |
 |
Library Collection |
 |
Website |
 |
Subscription Database (Law School Only) |
 |
Subscription Database (University-wide) |
 |
Bloomberg Law (Password Required) |
 |
Lexis (Password Required) |
 |
Westlaw (Password Required) |
Legislative History Documents (Bills, Hearings, Reports, Debate)
- Congress.gov
This link opens in a new window
- CQ Federal
This link opens in a new window
- govinfo
- This link opens in a new window
(U.S. Government Publishing Office (GPO)) - ProQuest Congressional
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Legislative Insight
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Water Rights & Resources
- This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline)
Provides selected legislative documents and Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports. Topics covered include irrigation, hydropower, water conservation, drinking water quality, and tribal water rights.
Compiled Legislative Histories
- Water Pollution Control Act (1948)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database) - Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1956
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database) - Water Quality Act of 1965
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database) - Water Quality Improvement Act of 1970
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database)
See Title I of Pub. L. No. 91-224. - Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database) - A Legislative History of the Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972, Together with a Section-by-Section Index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline) - Clean Water Act of 1977
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database) - A Legislative History of the Water Quality Act of 1987 (Public Law 100-4) : including Public Law 97-440; Public Law 97-117; Public Law 96-483; and Public Law 96-148 together with a section-by-section index
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(HeinOnline) - Water Quality Act of 1987
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database) - Water Resources Reform and Development Act of 2014
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
(Proquest Legislative Insight database)
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports
CRS attorneys write reports containing concise, nonpartisan analysis of policy issues before Congress.
Some CRS reports are periodically revised. To locate the most recent version of a report or other CRS reports, search:
- Bloomberg Law
This link opens in a new window
- Congress.gov
- This link opens in a new window
- HeinOnline
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- Lexis
This link opens in a new window
- ProQuest Congressional
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Examples:
- Redefining Waters of the United States (WOTUS): Recent Developments
- This link opens in a new window
- Waters of the United States ( WOTUS ): Frequently Asked Questions About the Scope of the Clean Water Act
- This link opens in a new window
Related Guides
- Federal Legislative History
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library) - Bluebook and Citation Resources
- This link opens in a new window
(GW Law Library)